We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ros Savuon Great English Speaking Guide for Angkor”
Review of Le Meridien Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Angkor
Ranked #66 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed July 2, 2013

While we enjoyed the hotel - it is very convenient, offers airport pickup (free one-way), is a spacious property, we got a great suite night upgrade - it really is all about visiting Angkor and its numerous sites, temples and other buildings. The hotel arranged a car all day for us ($65) and an English speaking guide ($35). Ros Savuon picked us up at 8am, we visited Angkor Thom, the Royal palaces in Angkor Thom, Ta Prohm, had a nice lunch, visted Angkor Wat, and then ended at Phnam Bakheng on top of the hill with spectacular views of the whole area. Savuon knew exactly what order to go in so that we could get the best light and pictures, knew his history very well, was very fluent in English (he was an English teacher for 6 years before becoming a tour guide at Angkor; you just have to get used to the accent). He could be funny, knew when to tell us more and when to let us just wander and take pictures, and he knew where the best pictures were to be taken.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sump6080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and also kind words towards Mr Savoun with us.

We look forward to welcoming you once more back to Le Méridien Angkor.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,130 - 2,136 of 3,280 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Hotel Car Airport Transport is a must ' At $15 it is worth it .
Room Wi Fi is limited to only a few devices' Apparently each time you shut down and log on with the same it counts as 2 devices, The answer is to go to the lobby . If you want hotter as made in England ash for "really hot" water, Otherwise it comes luke warm .

Room Tip: All Rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Le Méridien Angkor for your recent stay in Siem Reap, Angkor.

We apologies for the internet connection and the hot water. I shall highlight to our IT Manager and Chief Engineer about this matter.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It helps of course that husband is Starwood Platinum member, so we usually get a suite upgrade, however we really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms will need a refurb in a year or two but everything was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We had a couple of breakfasts and lunches there and the food was of a good standard. We really enjoyed all the contact we had with the staff, charming, courteous and efficient. Previous reviewers complained about the pool but I am at a loss as to why....it had a largish straight section for serious swimming and then lots of cutesy bits for lounging around in. I also used the gym and the equipment was good quality. Husband also loved his massage in the spa and he is very hard to please! It's out of town a bit but a $2 tuk tuk ride gets you into the action. Also it's closer to Angkor Wat. We also took an excellent tour of the main temples with Vichet, a hotel recommended guide- he was knowledgeable, fun and pleasant. All in all, a great stay!

Room Tip: Get a suite upgrade if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneyacademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Angkor, we thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were here for only two nights. We wished it could have been longer!

As promised, the hotel was at the airport, waiting for our flight to arrive at the Siem Reap airport. They took our bags and offered a cold water and towel.

Upon arrival, check in was both quick and a pleasant experience, with having guests seated and a welcome drink in hand during the registration (which lasted all of two minutes).

Our room was a Starwood Preferred Guest room on the second floor. The rooms were extremely large, well furnished, and in excellent working order! Bathrooms were also nicely furnished. The bed was comfortable. Climate control worked perfectly. No issues!

We had most of our meals at the hotel restaurant. Food quality was good to very good. No variation in the breakfast buffet from day to day. Otherwise, it was pretty good.

By far, the best aspect of this hotel are the staff. Everyone was exceptionally friendly and helpful! Of particular note was that I had frequent correspondence via email with several staff at the hotel. For each correspondence, a reply was forthcoming on the same business day without fail! And all of our questions were pleasantly and professionally answered.

We used the hotels tour guides for our full day visit to the Angkor complex. We had Mr. Samol. He was also excellent!

The location of the hotel is that it is on the edge of town, closest to the temples. We walked out one evening down the main street to visit some shops. The rest of the trip, we used Tuk Tuks to travel in to central Siem Reap for dining and shopping.

We had nothing but positive experiences with this hotel and it’s associates. If we returned to Siem Reap, we would definitely return here without hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LQGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Angkor, we thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your feedback regarding to the food variation in the breakfast buffet. I shall address this matter to our chef for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in late March 2013. We liked LeMeridien. It is a luxury property.

This hotel is one of many luxury hotel properties on "the main strip" in Siem Reap. I was expecting deep Cambodian jungles and mosquito nets - I was wrong. What I saw was one luxury hotel property after another - on the strip. Lots of restaurants and quality shopping in Siem reap. Tourists everywhere in the town.

The hotel is very large. The grounds were lovely and I was sorry that I did not have time to explore the grounds.

The food in the hotel restaurant was just OK. I was expecting exotic and I got something less spectacular.

Overall, a nice property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalvestonJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feedback and will work on creating memorable dining experience for our guests.

If there is any opportunity for you to come back to Siem Reap, I would like to invite you to come back for another try and let me handle the reservation personally for you.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon while visiting Angkor Wat. It was a great location for the temples. The property is definitely older. The staff were very friendly but the food wasn't that great. I would recommend eating any meals there. Our flight got dealyed on the last day the staff were very helpful in helping us get updates and letting us stay in our room later than planned. I'm not sure the hotel was worth the rate especially for Cambodia but we don't have any complaints other than the quality of the food and the air condition in the room blows directly on you and my husband got a cold from it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PreilavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your concern about the food and also the air condition. It would be great if you could elaborate further on the food quality so that I could speak to my chefs. You may send it to me at masahiro.taguchi@lemeridien.com.

Could you let us know which room number that you have stayed so that my engineering team can check the air condition temperature? Hope your husband is feeling better now.

Do let me know if you have plans to visit Siem Reap, I will handle the reservation personally for you.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The thing that most impresses me about this hotel is the very friendly and efficient staff. From the time of check in, to room service, concierge, housekeeping etc. was fantastic. I have stayed at many outstanding properties all over the world and I would rate the friendliness and service here on par with the very best.
The pool was small but very well maintained. At night, the property looked really lovely with all the paper lanterns hanging on the trees outside the property.
The location was also good. It is not in the heart of town but is close enough to be easily accessible by tuk tuk.
The only bug bear I had is that our room tend to have a stale smell whenever we left the room as the air con was turned off. May I suggest the hotel management deodorize the rooms? But this is just a minor flaw in what is really an outstanding property and one of the best in Angkor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tour-birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.
Thank you for highlighting stale smell in the room and I will address this matter to our housekeeper.

We look forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Angkor.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#48 of 378 in Siem Reap
1,453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#28 of 378 in Siem Reap
805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#81 of 378 in Siem Reap
1,634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
#21 of 378 in Siem Reap
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Angkor

Address: Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#30 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#44 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $100 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Angkor tempts guests to discover the preserved sites of ancient Cambodia. Designed with the contemporary traveler in mind, the hotel is comfortably modern with touches of Khmer motif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Meridien Siem Reap
Le Meridien Siem Reap
Siem Reap Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing