We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant”
Review of Le Meridien Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Angkor
Ranked #63 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nice restaurant with good buffet, excellent spa and spacious rooms. SPG members, do not forget to present yourselves at the check-in to get free Wi-Fi in the room, otherwise once it was charged they do not credit to your account :(

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firuz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review – and for your kind comments. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our vision is assured that we made your stay special and memorable and I am delighted that you liked our restaurant, food, inspiring spa, and spacious room.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Le Meridien Angkor on your next trip to Siem Reap-Angkor.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,094 - 2,100 of 3,101 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

In most respects an excellent hotel. Nice room, nice pool and decor. We ate in the restaurant and had an excellent, reasonable meal. Would recommend. Main problems were no hot water for a shower or bath one evening - not acceptable in a 5 star hotel. Staff apologised but this did not really help. The maid service was inadequate. We left laundry in the bag on the bed with a completed form. The bed was turned down but the laundry left. When we came back later that evening we had to ring services as we were concerned about getting the laundry done before we left. A member of staff was sent along who did not speak English and did not understand the form. He queried the quantities (there were only 4 items) and unpacked the bag in the hall outside the room to check. Not acceptable and could have been embarrassing if anyone had come past. When we arrived there were silk runners on the bed and a variety of cushions to decorate. When the bed was turned down they were "dumped" on the sofa alongside which made it unusable. They stayed there for the entire 3 night stay and were not replaced on the bed. The reception staff were first class. We did enjoy the stay but felt that standards had slipped with the maid service. Perhaps random checks need to be made.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Le Méridien Angkor for your recent visit to Siem Reap-Angkor and very much appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us.

We have always been committed to serve our guests at our best and to exceed guest’s expectation. We are pleased to know that you are impressed with your room, food, inspired swimming pool, and the reception’s services. In the meantime, we would like to apologize for some inconvenien experiences happened during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and have informed the supervisor to do the random check on the hot water for shower to avoid the similar situation in the future.

We truly hope that you will return to Le Meridien Angkor and please feel welcome to contact me directly, so that I personally can arrange your stay with us.

With all our very best regards,

Masahiro Taguchi
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Siem Reap may not be filled with the world's top hotel brands, but we were pleasantly surprised to see that Starwood had a presence there, and even more pleased with the hotel's price. If you're an SPG member, you can score a night for 1,600 points plus $30, which is an absolute steal, especially when paired with a Platinum suite upgrade, free buffet breakfast, affordable (even cheap) room and poolside meal service, an excellent Italian restaurant, prime location, and very friendly staff.

We opted for the hotel's car service from the airport, which ran $20 but made for a much smoother trip, with our driver patiently waiting after we passed through immigration. We didn't see taxis at all, though they're likely available. The check-in process was slightly confusing, but we were brought to our suite quickly enough. It's certainly not the most luxuriously furnished Le Meridien -- our room had a pair of large single beds bizarrely merged into a jumbo king, the lighting could use some updating, and there were tub TVs in place at arrival -- but it's a good value nonetheless, especially when you take into account the fact that you're staying in the middle of Cambodia.

If you do opt for a stay, make sure to request a room with updated TVs, unless you don't plan to flip on the television at any point (after an emailed request, the manager arranged for a brand new LCD model to be installed on the second day). Internet access wasn't super speedy, but it was sufficient and consistent, which is more than I can say for other hotels. The price we paid factored largely into our opinion, so if you're faced with a $200 rate, you may be disappointed, but for what was effectively ($30+48 per night, where SPG points are valued at 3 cents each), it's certainly a very reasonable option.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room with new TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zshonig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciate for your feedback on our hotel and also your kind compliments which including us as one of the “world's top hotel brands”.

It’s a pleasure to know that you liked our hotel location, check-in experience, room, poolside meal service, Italian restaurant, and especially the SPG Starpoints values.

As you are a Platinum member, I am sure that you have upgraded to our highest level of benefits such as enjoyed in-room Internet access, earned three Starpoints for every eligible dollar spent, room upgraded at check-in including Standard Suites, a Platinum welcomed gift upon arrival, executive lounge benefits and guaranteed room availability when your room is booked by 3 p.m.

We truly hope that you will return to Le Meridien Angkor and please feel welcome to contact me directly, so that I personally can arrange your stay with us.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is one of the very few 5 stars hotel in the area. The location of the hotel to the airport and Angkor Wat is really close. The front desk staff specially Lao and Kem was very helpful with anything the we need. I would not mind return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Le Méridien Angkor for your recent visit to Siem Reap-Angkor and very much appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us.

We are delighted to hear that you are impressed with our hospitality service and the hotel location.

I shall share your kind compliments with our team, especially our front office associates, Mr. Lao and Ms. Kemaya. Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit soon.

With all our very best regards,

Masahiro Taguchi
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel's most important asset is the friendliness of the staff. Despite the fact that the hotel was well occupied during my stay, all staff seemed to know me and wanted to excel in friendliness and great client service. The rooms are large and comfortable. I agree that the rooms can use some refurbishment but it didn't really bother me. The bed felt hard but was very comfortable, so I had two good nights of sleep. I stayed at one of the luxury rooms which was only marginally more expensive than the standard rooms. The bathroom was large and functional, and more importantly very clean. The only negative point is the isolation of the room. I could hear noise from my neighbours and from the corridor.
The food at the restaurant was delicious; service was excellent and effective.
As a suggestion: consider a separate executive lounge where guests staying in the luxury rooms can have a drink during the day (instead of in the lobby bar) and can enjoy a private breakfast in the morning (with the many tourist groups the breakfast area was very crowded in the morning, and it was tough to find a table for only one). Overall I had a very good experience in this hotel and I will not hesitate to stay there again on my next trip to Cambodia.

Room Tip: pay the extra for the luxury room. some of the offers also include transportation from and to the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lh_1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Angkor, we really appreciate for your feedback on our hotel and on service in particular.

We work hard to ensure that we provide our guests with an exceptional experience and it’s a pleasure to know that you liked your room, food, executive lounge, signature breakfast, and the room upgrade benefits. Concerning to the noise coming from the room nearby, we would like to apologize if it has caused any inconvenience.

Thank you for your constructive suggestion on executive lounge which we will consider for in the future.

We look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back to our Le Meridien Angkor on next trip to Siem Reap, Cambodia.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Welcome reception, general efficiency and friendliness of the hotel is great.

Lovely swimming pool for lounging in, is surrounded in Lilly ponds.

Breakfast is nice without being huge and was never too busy at any time we went.

Rooms are nice although could be better and the corridors to the rooms are a bit drab and boring.

Location for us was great, close to the park and far enough away from the city center ($2 tuk Turk ride) to be away from the crowds. In short, a great hotel with good location albeit a little too pricey!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheresmyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Le Méridien Angkor for your recent visit to Siem Reap-Angkor and very much appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us.

We are pleased to hear that you liked our arrival experience, location, Signature Breakfast, service culture, and the inspiring swimming pool.

We look forward to welcome you back at Le Meridien Angkor for your next visit to Siem Reap.

With very best regards,

Masahiro Taguchi
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights during a Viking River tour. The rooms are large but extremely dated. 15 year old tv, louvered shutter between bathroom and bedroom, rock hard mattress, no noise protection from corridor. On the other hand, the hotel is close to Angkor Wat, the restaurant was OK and the service was polite and thorough. We have stayed at other Meridiens and they are each unique. But this one doesn't measure up

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veasna B, Online Marketing Executive at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Angkor, we thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us.

I regret to know of your unfavorable experience in our hotel, and would like to offer a sincere apology for that our hotel did not meet your expectation. We will take your constructive comments and will improve as it is our utmost desire to provide our guests with an exceptional experience. In regards to your feedback, we have upgraded all the deluxe rooms with the modern flat screen TV and we will continue to look on your concerns, especially regarding the shutter between bathroom and bedroom and the noise protection from corridor.

We appreciate your compliments regarding to the food and our hospitality service and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at Le Méridien Angkor for your next visit to Siem Reap, I will personally arrange your memorable stay with us.

With very best regards,

Masahiro Taguchi
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#48 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#26 of 365 in Siem Reap
761 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#77 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Angkor

Address: Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#31 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#44 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $100 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Angkor tempts guests to discover the preserved sites of ancient Cambodia. Designed with the contemporary traveler in mind, the hotel is comfortably modern with touches of Khmer motif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Meridien Siem Reap
Le Meridien Siem Reap
Siem Reap Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing