We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate hotel and staff”
Review of Le Meridien Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Angkor
Ranked #62 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed October 15, 2011

After a 20 year wait to get to Cambodia we stayed at this beautiful hotel for five nights. We flew from Bangkok on Bangkok Air, first time of using this airline for many years as the scheduling suited our timings.
I booked transport to meet us from the hotel,and Tang met us directly after customs with our names very clearly displayed. On getting into the car he gave us cold towels and water, an impressive start. On route to the hotel he gave us plenty of information about Siem Reap and Angkor Wat.
Although remorks (as the Tuk Tuks are called in Cambodia) are available at the airport if you are arriving with a couple of suitcases it would be a very tight squeeze, so the small cost for the hotel transport is good value for money.
As we arrived quite early in the day our room wasn't quite ready so we were accommodated in the Naga Lounge and given complementary coffee, and updated as to how soon the room would be available by the very helpful front desk manager Cheava.
Cheava took us to our corner suite which was a lovely room, with separate lounge and bedroom area with large tvs in each which could be separated by sliding doors, floored throughout with a beautiful teak floor and rugs. The bathroom was very well equipped and there was an additional separate toilet. Nice additions of surround sound speakers, 'Mood CD provided, and an aromatic oil burner were included along with copious bottles of complementary drinking water, and probably the best bowl of daily fresh fruit that I have experienced over the years. Free WiFi included in this room.
The Naga lounge is provided for guests in suites from 10am to 4pm daily for complementary soft drinks, tea and coffee and afternoon tea, on our first full day the heavens opened and the lounge was a good bolt hole for part of our first day! We also ate lunch in there at a very reasonable cost for this standard of hotel
Unlike some 'club' facilities in Starwood hotels there is no provision of complementary laundry or evening cocktails, but the suite is very good value nonetheless. I book direct with Starwood as this is the best way to get the best price, and if you join their loyalty programme -starwood preferred guest- you can use the points gained to either get upgrades,free rooms or transfer to other loyalty programmes like Ba airmiles.
The hotel pool is extensive and surrounded by small lotus ponds in which are colourful little fish which will give your hands or feet a 'fish massage' if you so desire! The grounds are very extensive and you can see many colourful birds and butterflies. The Spa is also located in this area and whilst more expensive than those offered outside the hotel it was very good value.
The choice for breakfast is very comprehensive with western and asian food of all types on offer, there are ready cooked noddles and rice or you can select what you want and it is cooked fresh for you, as well as fresh fruits and home made yoghurts. This dining area is wonderfully lit with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the gardens.
The staff in the hotel were, without exception, incredibly friendly with a real 'can do' helpful attitude.
The door staff are more than happy to assist with whatever transport you want to take, in our case we chose to take the remorks which wait outside the front of the hotel on the road. The hotel staff summon one of these for you and then you negotiate where you want to go and the price. At the time of our visit Siem Reap was heavily flooded and the centre resembled Venice with about a foot or so of water on the roads. Flooding at this time of year is common although heavier than normal this year, but worth bearing in mind if planning to visit in late Spetember. The mopeds that pull the passenger part of the remorks (more of a covered trailer effect than the rigid tuk tuk of Thailand) have a remarkable ability to travel through quite deep water! The Temples are unafftected by the flood water and their are far fewer tourists at this time of year.
We were luck to happen across Mr Bundit (No 11) who was a very helpful young man, with a god knowledge of the area. We prefer to see things at our own pace rather than a prearranged tour, and decided on what were must sees to us in the available time.
There is one place to get your passes to the temples, these come in 1-day, 3-day, and seven day passes. The 3 day and 7 day passes last for stipulated days over a set period of time so you do not have to use them on 3 consecutive days. These are purchased from a ticket booth on the road to Angkor Wat, 1 day $20;3 day $40;7day $60. Best paid for in US$ cash.

Mr Bundit took us to our chosen locations each morning, and then onto our chosen place for lunch, the best food to be had is the food stalls outside the front of Angkor Wat. On the left side as viewed from the moat are restaurants designed for the tourists, but much better food, if more basic tables and chairs are to be found on the opposite side of the road, fresh cooked and cheap, where the Cambodians eat. For 5 or so hours Mr Bundit asked $10 for each day, extremely reasonable price and $2 to go into town in the evening, we did of course tip this price. He took us to where we wanted to go with no attempt to take us to anywhere else, unlike one called Mr CHON (no 10) a rather well built chap with lots of bling on beware of this man - he was the only person on our visit who poorly represented himself.
Good food available in the centre of Siem Reap and cheap prices,please see separate review.
Recommend to take small denomination US$ bills which are readily acceptable in restaurants and paying for transport - the exchange rate for £ to $ we got in Cambodia (plenty of money changers and banks in town - better rate than airport) was much better than in UK.
All in all a fantastic experience with this first rate hotel in a wonderful country with breathtaking historic sites.
More than happy to give more information regarding visiting this area so please do contact me.

Room Tip: The corner suites are large comfortable and good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,267 - 2,273 of 3,175 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We spent three nights at the hotel and enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We got upgraded to a suite which was large, comfortable, and clean. There are two restaurants in the hotel which were both good and inexpensive (although expensive by local standards). One notable negative: no wireless access in our room. The wireless did work in the reception area and bar.

We had the hotel arrange for pickup at the airport, and return to the airport. It was US$20 each way, which is considerably more than a local taxi, but well worth it to travel in a comfortable hotel provided car with air conditioning. We also booked a private sightseeing tour through the hotel which was very good (and in the same car that drove us to and from the airport).

All in all, a nice hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack_Islington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at the Le Meridien Angkor Wat this past September. Prior to arriving, I've arranged for hotel car to pick my husband and I up from the airport ($20). The driver found us quickly at the airport and drove us to the hotel within 15-20 minutes. When we arrived, we were greeted by a fresh, cold towel with some sort of ice, ginger, non-alcoholic beverage. Once all the paperwork was done, the receptionist walked us to our room and showed us how to work everything in the room. Room was nice and large with hardwood floor, flat screen with lots of international channels, bath room with both shower and tub. I only wish the bed was a little softer.

Every morning, we would stroll down to the hotel restaurant for the buffet breakfast. Though it was pricey for Cambodia standards ($18 USD/person), it was well worth the $. The ambiance was nice, staff was attentive, and decent food options. Our favorite was the noodle bar. We will minimally have 2 bowls of noodle with egg on top (you have to go to the egg station for that and ask them to put it on top of the noodle) every morning.

We also arranged a private tour to Angkor Wat with the hotel ($160 for 2 days - 6 people). The driver was nice and always found us within a jiffy. Tour guide was funny and shared stories / histories of Cambodia with us. Unless you are really into temples, a 1 day tour is actually more than enough. After a long day, don't forget to go into town and enjoy cheap massages. Foot massage averages $5/hour and Full Body massage for $8-10/hour.

We also enjoyed the hotel food and drinks. The price at the bar was very reasonable and drinks were delicious. (avg. was $3-4 USD per drink) The afternoon tea is also highly recommended. Our flight leaving Siem Reap was at 6pm, so after checkout at 2pm, we hung out at the hotel from 2-4pm and decided to try their afternoon tea. It was great value at $12 USD for a set, which is more than enough to share amongst two people. All the sandwiches, pastries, and desserts were delicious. I highly recommend it if you have a chance to try.

I also recommend going to the National Museum down the street from the hotel before visiting the temples. (probably a 10 min walk or $1 tuk tuk ride) It will give you a high level overview of the historical timeline, religion influences on how architecture and temple structures changed.

Note that the hotel was pretty quiet during our stay as we went during the weekday. On the day we left, the tour groups started to come in. If schedules work out, we highly recommend weekdays, as you will get more attention from the staff!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoyoMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed in Le Meridien Angkor for 3rd time now and love to stay there because of the large suite rooms and kind service staf. Futhermore, great food in the main restaurant (both asian and western). This is a very pleasant stay when returning from temple visits!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

From the moment we stepped through the door we felt welcome. We arrived at the hotel without reservation and asked if we could be shown a room. The front desk manager was extremely welcoming and friendly. We received welcome drinks while we waited for a staff member to collect us and show us three room types - a standard room, a deluxe room and a corner suite. While all rooms looked very nice, the corner room was the most lavish and we ended up staying in this room type.

The corner suite is very large, elegantly decorated and very comfortable. I have stayed in numerous suites and this one is definitely one of my favourites. A lot of thought appeared to have gone into the design of the room and the ammenities were well appreciated. The lounge CD in the CD player was a very nice touch.

Only comment would be that the wireless internet - which is ridiculously expensive and needs to be purchased per device - is slow and coverage is poor. Our corner suite, for instance, only had wireless internet reception in the bathroom.

Prices of the hotel's restaurants are relatively high for Cambodia, which raised expectations to a level that was not completely met. While the food was good overall, the odd dish would be below par. Staff did not appologise nor did they try to turn the negative of a disappointing dish into a positive.

The pool area was absolutely stunning. Water temperature was just right, the water was relatively clean, plenty of clean towels were provided and the overall atmosphere was very relaxing and lavish. Service was, again, hit and miss.

There are certainly a few areas that require improvement considering the prices of this hotel and the occasional service hick-up, but overall I can most certainly recommend it. I especially liked the location in a quiet area of Siem Reap between Old Town and the temples, where one can simply enjoy the weather, the wonders of Siem Reap and not be bothered by slightly dodgy tourists.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stay there for three nights.

Good: room is big and quite clean. Front Desk, conceige were well trained with friendly and good service.

Not good: Swimming pool is a little bit small, choice of food for breakfast is not enough (for 5 stars hotels )

Bad: Sauna (2 persons only) and steam room (max. 3 persons only) is too small. Our door pad is out of order, we usually try three or more times to open our door.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrislam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that our rooms and our staff gave you entire satisfaction.
We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations with our swimming pool and Sauna.
I have highlighted to our Chef about your feedback with regards to breakfast variety.
We have taken note about your feedback about our door pad is out of order condition and my team will look in to this matter.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Front Desk, conceige were well trained with friendly and good service.
Room is big, comfortable and clean. Location is close to Angkor Wat but away from old town, You can't have both anyway.
The attentive of restuarant staff during breakfast was relatively disappointing and the Wifi was some time unstable at all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKMKowloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#50 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#29 of 374 in Siem Reap
777 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#77 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Angkor

Address: Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#30 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#44 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $108 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Angkor tempts guests to discover the preserved sites of ancient Cambodia. Designed with the contemporary traveler in mind, the hotel is comfortably modern with touches of Khmer motif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Meridien Siem Reap
Le Meridien Siem Reap
Siem Reap Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing