We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Le Meridien Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Angkor
Ranked #60 of 344 Hotels in Siem Reap
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Very impressed! The hotel was elegant, great location to the temples, rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was great too! Staff members were very helpful and courteous.

  • Liked — Guestrooms, food in restaurants, great staff members, great location!!
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,875
    745
    137
    35
    23
See reviews for
619
1,029
223
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2007

Great location. While it is not in the middle of Siem Reap market area, it is only a few kilometers off and easily accessible by tut-tut (remorque-moto). We initially wanted to stay at de la Paix but it was fully booked, it turned out to be a blessing as my friend and I both preferred a more relaxing atmosphere. While I cannot compare the interior and service with de la Paix, le Meridien location and the outside setting is definitely more attractive to us. It has nice front yard and is not on a hectic stretch of road. (we walked by de la Paix and it sits literally on the main street with vendors right outside the door!)

The staffs at le Meridien are very friendly and the concierge staffs are most helpful and thoughtful. On the last day, we had an evening flight, so we left our luggage at the hotel while continued to explore the area. The staff smartly suggested that we shall go back a little early and use the shower at the spa to freshen up before we hit the road again! What a great idea!

  • Liked — quiet location, yet accessible to main attractions
  • Disliked — wish the swimming pool is bigger
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rice96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

After a day of intense sight seeing at the Angkor ruins, coming back to the Le Meridien was pure bliss! The room was lovely and we had a little snack plate waiting for us. We took an evening swim just as the traditional Cambodian performers were practicing poolside for their show. The staff was warm and accomodating and the bar was totally chill with great service. Only stayed a night, but wished we stayed several!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We booked Le Meridien for 4 nights as a treat at the beginning of a 3 week holiday in Cambodia and Vietnam. We were not disappointed at all. It was a beautifully designed place inside and was definitely a 5 star hotel with all the bells and whistles that implies. I will not forget my stay here!

Location – Between Siem Reap and the Main body of Angkorian temples and ruins. We found it really easy to get sightseeing each day as we did not have to make our way through town and its attendant traffic to get out to the temples, but it was still only a short ride into Siem Reap toeat or shop.

Staff – were all really friendly and helpful and they really seemed to genuinely appreciate us being friendly and saying please and thank you and chatting to them, especially as we saw some guests being shockingly rude, perhaps this is the done thing in posh hotels? We wouldn’t really know!!

Facilities – The restaurant has a huge choice of foods and happily catered for my fiancée who is vegan, cooking meals for her especially. There was a great outdoor pool and sunloungers, a free gym and various salons that you could buy massages, haircuts etc in. The cocktail lounge was wonderful with some of the nicest cocktails I have ever had and a guy quietly playing the piano beautifully for an hour or so every night.

Rooms – nice big rooms, very comfy bed, great shower and satellite TV. When we ate in the hotel (therefore they knew we were not in our room) they came in a turned down the bed and left us little bits and bobs, small cakes, bits of fruit, all beautifully packaged up. They also put a weather forcast for the day under our door every morning! What service!

Price – It was all really quite well priced for a 5 star place, and it was an really very high standard of service. Our room cost us about $250 for the 4 nights, and all our incidentals (we ate in quite a lot and ran up quite a large cocktail bill!) came to about another $150. We also paid for our incidentals with a travellers cheque, about the only place in Cambodia you can use one!

My finacee and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone who wants a bit of luxury while visiting Angkor.

  • Liked — The decor and service were superb
  • Disliked — Some of the guests were rude to the staff, who did not deserve it!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Bermingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

New place ... believe its a couple of years old. Great rooms, great property, great service. Only con is that its a bit out of town (On the way to the temples). Not a big deal, when you consider that you are 5 minutes away on a tuk tuk.

Strongly recommend it

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sr2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed at Le Meridien Angkor for three nights. In a nutshell, we loved the property and the great service. When we arrived at the airport, we were pleasantly surprised that our driver waited with a sign with our names and promptly provided water and cold towels in the van. The check-in process was smooth and the room was great. The hotel pool and spa was a nice break from tours.

Le Meridien is apparently the closest hotel to the ruins. Although we did not book any tour, our tuk tuk driver from the night before offered to take us to the major ruins and the floating fishing village for around 25 bucks or so (I can't remember exactly). Le Meridien is further close enough to town to go by tuk tuk (As I recall 2 dollars). Overall, the whole experience.. from the ruins, the town and the hotel... everything was great!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We stayed at the Le Meridien for 2 nights in September 2007. Arranged the airport transfers by email with the concierge and from the moment we set foot in Siem Reap we were treated like special guests, at very reasonable rates.

The transfer was seamless and courteous (cold water, cold hand towels etc, scenic drive past Angkor Wat), and the hotel reception staff were friendly and organised if somewhat over-keen. The fact that the welcome drinks were not at hand caused great consternation and we were called back when these duly arrived and we were already on our way to our room.

We were upgraded to a suite (being SPG Platinum members) and the room was very comfortable. Aircon was somewhat noisy but we switched it off and relied on lounge aircon. Bath very small, nice bath products.

Angkor guide and car was arranged within 30 minutes of arrival, and this is the only way to see the temples. Excellent value as well.

The dinner and traditional Cambodian dance regime at the hotel was a bit tacky, and we left as soon as we could. Restaurant staff over-eager, but very friendly. Other guests clearly enjoyed the show etc a lot. Food VERY average, not cheap.

We had dinner at Amansara, lovely place, would strongly recommend it. Take a hotel car, very cheap (no taxis in Siem Reap.)

Massage therapists are not well trained and one hurt my wife during our foot, hand and head massage sessions. This needs urgent attention, it is actually dangerous.

Lovely pool area, spa needs work and improvement.

Siem Reap is dirty and ugly, rather avoid it completely and focus on the temples, this is why you go there. The town is a small dusty, touristy place full of beggars of all ages.

The Le Meridien is housed in a very ugly building, but it is a well run hotel, with comfortable rooms. It is fine for a visit to Siem Reap, and is well positioned for temple visits. I would agree with comments about breakfast-inclusive rates, but would advise to go for dinner elsewhere (Amansara, Raffles etc).

Gerhard Joubert

  • Liked — Service, value for money
  • Disliked — Architecture, food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gerhard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 344 in Siem Reap
1,258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 344 in Siem Reap
4,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#73 of 344 in Siem Reap
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Angkor

Property: Le Meridien Angkor
Address: Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being the closest 5 star luxury international hotel to Angkor Wat itself, Le Meridien is the perfect choice for travelers afar, who want to be close to the very reason for visiting. And the rustically colourful township of Siem Reap with its charming French colonial buildings and 400 years old teak trees is just 5 minutes from the hotel where local markets, art galleries and cafes abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Meridien Siem Reap
Le Meridien Siem Reap
Siem Reap Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing