We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem of a place, with the friendliest staff you will ever meet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #138 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I can only really just repeat what has been said numerous times already about Journeys Within. We stayed here for 5 nights in December as part of our honeymoon and can say without doubt that it was one of the highlights of the whole trip.

Having organised part of our holiday with through Journeys Within Tours we booked into their B&B during our complete stay in Siem Reap. The room we stayed in was fantastic - spacious, clean, beautifully decorated with a bathroom that was a treat and a great terrace to enjoy the evening sun or sample the great food from their menu. We also noticed the little bits of attention that added to the experience - the flowers and small gift on the bed when we arrived, the free laundry, a little "cheat sheet" of all the recommended shops, restaurants etc to be found in Seim Reap.

What probably sets this place out from any other hotel/B&B we have stayed in is the staff -from the owners Andrea & Brandon, the guys on the front desk all the way through to the girls serving breakfast and making up the rooms - all of them always had a smile on their face and unbelievably helpful with any questions we had.

Whilst it is not in the central part of Siem Reap, just a pleasant 8 minute ride by Tuk Tuk - it almost added to the experience as it was nice to come back to the peace & tranquility of the B&B after a day spent touring the the temples & sights with the rest of the December masses. It has to be said that the pool was fantastic though sadly underused during our stay.

We had an opportunity to visit JWOC next door, the non-profit organisation that the owners have set up improving living conditions to local communities through various initiatives. It is both truly inspiring & impressive what everyone at JWOC they have achieved in such a relatively short period of time, and for us the enthusiasm of the kids who were attending one of the free classes we saw was a lasting memory.

The personalised tour itself was superbly organised and our guides in both Cambodia & Vietnam were fantastic. Any questions/problems that we had we had during the holiday were superbly dealt with by Andrea/Narla and the rest of the team, making it one of the most stress free and relaxing holidays that we have had for a long while.

I cannot recommend this place, the tour company or the people working there highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 407 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

This was our (my wife and myself) to Southeast Asia. Journey’s Within B&B was recommended by Journey’s Within Travel agency and was an amazing surprise. Very nice rooms, accommodations and a swimming pool. But the best part is the amazing service and kindness from the staff. I really recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lautenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

My husband and I had booked a custom tour through Journeys Within Tour Company and during our time in Siem Reap, Cambodia, we stayed at the Journeys Within Bed & Breakfast. Without hesitation, this was our favorite stay out of the six other excellent hotels that were reserved for us.

Our airy and spacious room on this small property was equipped with ceiling fan and air conditioning, a large comfortable bed with soft linens, sitting area with cushy chairs, two french doors that opened onto a private deck with an outdoor table and seating, a stocked in-room fridge with free water and soda for the taking, a large armoire with a safe, and much appreciated by any weary traveler, an in-suite spa-like bathroom with shower that provided plenty of hot water and pressure. The crystal clean salt water pool was welcomed on hot days. Plenty of pool towels were provided everyday.

I had read that the location was away from the city center, but I trusted the reviews on Trip Advisor that indicated I would not mind this. They were right. After having stayed near the city centers in the other cities, we did get tired of the throngs of tourists, aggressive tuk-tuk drivers and vendors despite our mission to be open-minded travelers. The first time we ventured out to town, we thought it seemed long, but the 10-minute trip soon became a breeze once we got familiar and at the end of the day, it was nice to retreat back to the quiet hotel.

All that I have mentioned so far would have been enough, but what really sets this bed & breakfast apart from the rest is the service provided by every person who works there. Besides the owners and an intern, all the employees are locals who speak English.

After realizing we had forgotten to save some US dollars required for the visitor's visa at Siem Reap airport, arrangements were made to have someone meet us upon arrival. This high-level of service continued throughout our entire stay.

During check-in, Kate, the intern, gave us a quick but thorough overview of the amenities and also some useful tips. I had read a review about the hotel's "magic" laundry hamper where if laundry is put in it, it would come back clean and folded within 24 hours - free of charge. It's all true! This complimentary service is unheard of any where else. Having packed carry-on only, we used this service several times and loved it.

in addition to a made-to-order breakfast menu, the property offers a full menu for lunch and dinner. Too tired our first day, we had both lunch and dinner at Journeys. Everything was delicious. The night before our early wake-up call at 5:30am to catch Angkor Wat at sunrise, we were told breakfast could be made early enough so we could take advantage of it. Although we settled for just coffee, we appreciated the offer so much because at other hotels, they would not have provided this service outside of the regular breakfast hours. Aside from the meals, the staff always makes sure ice water is brought to you as soon as you sit down in the courtyard or poolside. On one especially hot day, water was accompanied by cold towels - all unprompted.

Journeys is small property with only a handful of rooms. Although we are talkative people, we witnessed that you can decide how active you want to be here. If you want to have conversations with the owners, the staff, their children, you may. However, if you want to relax, no one will bug you.

The best part of our stay was getting to know the owners, Andrea and Brandon, who are doing wonderful things for the local community. Right next door, they run an affiliated free English school that functions as its own standalone, self-sustaining, non profit. As a guest, you can participate in one of the classes if you choose. We jumped at the chance and loved meeting all the eager students who wanted to practice their English with native speakers.

I would be remiss if I did not mention Andrea and Brandon's kids, Callie and Couper, both of whom have a presence on the property (at least during the US winter months) along with the employee's 3-4 children of the same age group. They are all well-behaved and like talking to the guests that come through. By the time we left, I felt we were parting like family and got hugs from them.

We have stayed in some pretty nice properties in both the US and abroad, so despite a Sofitel and Raffles hotel in Siem Reap, we would stay here again given Journey's service and attention to detail. This hotel gets a high recommendation from us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0tiongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Our family of four loved staying in the 2-storey (2 bathroom) villa located directly in front of the pool. The place was sparklingly clean and the staff soon felt like family. The food was so good that we stopped planning trips to other restaurants and just ordered off the in-house menu. I can't say enough to recommend Andrea and Journey's Within: It was clean, relaxing, friendly, without being intrusive, and reasonably priced. I truly can't imagine anyone not loving this place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4cdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The absolute best part about Journeys Within is the staff. They are so friendly and willing to help with anything and they really became our friends over the 3+ weeks we were there. The rooms are gorgeous - we commented that it looked like a honeymoon destination. The pool was great, and it was awesome being next door to JWOC.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpollak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Apologies for this late review. My partner and I stayed at Journeys Within in August 2009 (not 2010!)...and we are looking forward to returning in August 2011! Words cannot describe the beauty of Siem Reap and our fantastic stay at JW.
Beautiful rooms, exquisite grounds, wonderful staff and excellent food. Do not hesitate to book your stay! Also, thank you to Sina, our excellent tour guide who helped to make this trip one of our most memorable. Counting down the days until our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

This was my second time staying with Andrea and Brandon at Journeys Within and they truly offer the best place to stay in Asia in my opinion. They run one of the most unique B&B's I have ever been too and leave nothing to be desired. Whether you want to relax by their amazing pool, visit with their amazing family or staff or just spend your time getting lost in Ankor they provide anything you would need. If you want to take the extra step and participate in any of their Journey Within Our Community activities you can easily get involved teaching English in their school located directly next door, or can support local businesses or college students with their micro loan or scholarship programs. Changing someones life while enjoying the vacation adventure of a lifetime has never been easier.

The staff, made up of locals, speak excellent English and have an insane amount of information on Cambodia, Siem Reap and Angkor Wat. A friendly security guard greats you as you leave and return and adds that extra level of comfort. A collection of hand picked Tuk-Tuk drivers provide fair and honest, cheap transportation around the city.

The rooms are among the nicest I stayed at on a two month documentary shoot. The beds were the first beds that were not rock hard and I could actually wake up without back pain. The sheets were fresh and clean and the bathrooms were just amazing. For anyone who travels Asia knows, most bathrooms have showers that are uncontainable and soak the entire floor. Their showers were both pipping hot, and didnt soak the bathroom. The wireless internet worked fine in the rooms and the Cable TV was clear as day.

The food is amazing and breakfast is ready whenever you want it.

The best thing about Journey's Within are the people. Andrea and Brandon have created a truly amazing environment to make your stay more than enjoyable and all the things you would ever need. Their vast knowledge of not only Cambodia but Asia was so helpful in planning our onward route. I would never stay anywhere else in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocNOWMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
14.5 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#123 of 384 in Siem Reap
283 reviews
15.4 mi away
The White Terrace Hotel
The White Terrace Hotel
#72 of 384 in Siem Reap
145 reviews
15.6 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#52 of 384 in Siem Reap
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#33 of 384 in Siem Reap
535 reviews
15.4 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#34 of 384 in Siem Reap
393 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chronicle Residence & Spa
Chronicle Residence & Spa
#60 of 384 in Siem Reap
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Address: | Off Route Six, About 300 meters down Korean-Cambodian Friendship Rd, Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $29 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing