We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #134 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights here at the end of a 3 week tour through SE Asia with our 3 children (ages 7, 11, and 14) and we were very pleased with the overall experience. We had stayed at some very nice places during our trip but what stood out here was the very friendly attentive staff providing personalized service, the excellent meals, and the beautiful room. Guides that were provided for trips to the temples were informative, engaging, and provided excellent personal service. I feel the location of the hotel is fine, off the main road away from all the mega hotels, a short tuk tuk ride from town (actually closer than most of the larger hotels) Also an easy bike ride off the busy roads to the temples. We appreciated that the tuk tuks were provided for us by the hotel and they would pick us up after our meal in town thus avoiding any negotiating your way home. The pool and hotel grounds are great for our kids and we quite liked the small welcoming feel of this place. The restaurant also provides some excellent basic western style meals which our kids really appreciated. We would definitly recommend JW boutique Hotel and would stay here for sure again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 404 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed on a 2 night stay as a couple in July and had a really enjoyable stay. The hotel and the rooms were exceptionally clean, the staff were very attentive and no request went unanswered (the local staff also have very good English so communication is no issue). The food cooked on site was perfect (great choice and really well cooked).

The main purpose of our trip was to see the temples but you do get worn out pretty quickly with the heat, dust etc so it is pretty key to have somewhere you can get back to and relax in the afternoon in comfort in between temple hopping.

The rooms are really spacious, and with my wife being a bit of a clean freak, she was absolutely thrilled at how immaculate it was! We were also happy with our decision to go a low-key, boutique hotel rather than a larger hotel chain. At JW you become very familiar with the staff and it has a very intimate, cosy vibe. We were also blown away by the marvelous undertakings of JW with the community project that they have provided next door. Hats off to the owners!

The only reason we have given the JW 4 stars instead of 5 is the location. However whilst the location isn't excellent, it is still good and getting to places is easy by tuk-tuk anyway.

A massive thank you goes out to Michelle and the JW team for the wonderful job they did in making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: chat to the hotel management about the latest scams in town so as to avoid unwittingly making any do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Journey's Within is one of the few hotels in southeast asia that has it all; a friendly and knowledgable staff, local tours and excursions, clean and comfortable rooms, a beautiful pool, and great food. I stayed for five days during a month long trip through southeast asia and it was a highlight by far. The staff was so friendly and always looking out to make your stay better in the most genuine way. I really felt at home. Andrea and Anna set up a great itinerary (watch the sunrise at Angkor Wat!) and Michelle and Brandon were amazing hosts at the hotel in Siem Reap. Anyone planning a trip to this part of the world should definitely to stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We, my wife and I, spent only a day here. However, we received very warm welcome and excellent service. The owner came to see us and explain whatever we want to know about the hotel and how to spend a night in Siemreap. All staff can speak English very well with hospitality tone. My wife enjoyed a tuk tuk taking us for dinner with complimentary from the hotel. I would strongly recommend this hotel for my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kob06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent four days at the JW Boutique Hotel and loved it. We had the family suite which is a spacious two bedroom area, with a huge balcony overlooking a quaint swimming pool. This small hotel made us feel special, took an interest in our visit to the region, our children played with the children of the families that worked in JW and it felt like a home away from home.

Pure human warmth and grace are what make the JW stand out from other hotels we have visited across Asia. Even down to Tuna the dog, we felt like we were leaving true friends on our last day! For our kids to express this when our next stop was a large resort "with everything,' was a major breakthrough.......

Always smiling, genuinely caring and wanting to make you feel welcome. Everyone went out there way to make us feel at home. Hard to capture the 'essence' of what makes JW unique, but it clearly lies in their people.

Can't say enough positive things about JW and how they made us feel on our first visit to Cambodia. It wont be our last and we will be going back to JW. Special thanks to Reata (sp?) who served us breakfast everyday. Also, Mr T who took us on a tour of his village and to eat crickets and frogs. Thank you.

Room Tip: Family suite is large and very comfortable. Easily accommodates large families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Having traveled to more than 32 countries, I must say that Journeys Within Boutique Hotel was the best experience I've had yet. Everything was superb. We were greeted at the airport by our driver. His big Cambodian smile was our first taste of true Cambodian hospitality. As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by the entire front desk staff and whisked to our room.

The food is delicious and very reasonably priced. The service and hospitality in the restaurant was awesome. Everyone was so accommodating!

I think the thing that stands out for me most is the hotel organization. The entire staff communicates exceptionally well with one another. Everything just seemed to flow seamlessly. The hotel organized a tour to Angkor Waht with guide and Tuk Tuk, rented bikes to ride to Angkor Waht, our bus tickets to Siem Reap were organized, etc.

Thank you to all of you at Journeys Within! You are simply fabulous!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotus-viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have traveled the world over for the past 35 years and have stayed in hotels throughout Asia, From India, Nepal, Tibet, Bhutan, China, Japan etal, and have never experienced a more caring, socially responsible and immaculate accommodation. The Buddha Bungalow was beautifully laid out with two very comfortable queen size beds and an artistically designed stone shower bathroom which reminded me of the one I had at home in my Victorian home in San Francisco. The attention from the staff from Michelle, the manager, Makara, the hotel front desk/tour coordinator, Rath our ebullient server at the restaurant, to the entire service staff was unbelievably warm and concerned. The owners Brandon and Andrea Ross have obviously handpicked and supported each one of their staff and their welcoming and efficient manner is reflective of their love for the country and its people. People may opt to stay right in the center of downtown with it's frenetic energy but staying at this oasis which dis really less than a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away is a much saner and soothing option. We are on the last night of a 6 night stay in Siem Reap and embarking on another 7 day tour of other places in Cambodia before an 11 day tour of Myanmar, by the way arranged through Andrea and Brandon's Journeys Within organization, and are sad to leave. But knowing how they have arranged things so far, we know the journey will continue within the excellent parameters they have set for us so far.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank rayg268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
15.4 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#39 of 373 in Siem Reap
353 reviews
15.6 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#43 of 373 in Siem Reap
723 reviews
14.5 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#117 of 373 in Siem Reap
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
#59 of 373 in Siem Reap
463 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chronicle Residence & Spa
Chronicle Residence & Spa
#58 of 373 in Siem Reap
219 reviews
15.4 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#28 of 373 in Siem Reap
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Address: | Off Route Six, About 300 meters down Korean-Cambodian Friendship Rd, Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $47 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing