We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the whole experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angkor Palace Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angkor Palace Resort & Spa
Ranked #73 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
RAS TANURA, SAUDI ARABIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the whole experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Loved the whole experience. Great pool, great room, polite staff, beautiful grounds, off the road enough to be quiet. Liked the spa, too. This was the best value hotel experience I've had in 25 years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSoluxeAngkor, Manager at Angkor Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear David W,

Greetings from Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace!

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and we are certainly most encouraged by your comments.

More importantly, thank you for sharing your experiences so that others will also want to visit Siem Reap and want to stay at Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace Resort & Spa.

Best regards and enjoy the day,


Lawrence Oh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    330
    72
    27
    16
See reviews for
288
469
72
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is pricey compared to many in Siem Reap but what you get is a very relaxing refuge from the craziness of the town and the crowds at the temples. Immediately you're welcomed with very personal attention at checkin and throughout your stay. The beautiful open air lobby with high ceilings and ceiling fans as well as standing misting fans are such a welcome feel. The gardens and huge freeform pool with swim-up bar are just what you will need between visiting the temples. This hotel is about 400m off the main road where all the other hotels deal with traffic noise and dust. This is the best part. You can actually feel the temperature decrease slightly getting away from that traffic. Our room on the 4th floor looked right over the pool and gardens. (we requested a pool view) We both went to the spa, the treatments are a great deal compared to prices in other hotels we've stayed. There is an outdoor shower in your treatment room and as I was showering it started to rain which was fun! Beds in the rooms are typical for this part of the world, harder than I like. Take a tuk-tuk to Pub Street for shopping and eating and people watching in the evening. Get some gelato at the Blue Pumpkin and then go round the corner to Narrow Street which has some funky shops. Have the tuk tuk wait for you. The return trip is about $7 USD. We loved our stay here and would go back to this same hotel. We got a deal on Expedia -stay 2 nights and the 3rd night is free. Don't rush to just do the temples, extend your stay to enjoy the hotel pool and the spa. You'll be glad you did! If you have younger kids they will love the playground and the pool slide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSoluxeAngkor, Manager at Angkor Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Lisa M,

Greetings from Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace!

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and we are certainly most encouraged by your comments.

More importantly, thank you for sharing your experiences so that others will also want to visit Siem Reap and want to stay at Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace Resort & Spa.

Best regards and enjoy the day,


Lawrence Oh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is elegant and friendly staffs. They assist you every possibilities of your inquiries and make your stay very comfortable as you are at your home with traditional Khmer hospitality. Yet, the resort is very huge with complete of facilities, the room is spacious with beautiful decoration reflect to traditional Khmer style in the lush of tropical garden. .It is the only resort in Cambodia and you can trust for the services.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSoluxeAngkor, Manager at Angkor Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Saron,

Greetings from Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace!

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and we are certainly most encouraged by your comments.

More importantly, thank you for sharing your experiences so that others will also want to visit Siem Reap and want to stay at Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace Resort & Spa.

Best regards and enjoy the day,


Lawrence Oh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu,
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It has been taken a long time for My wife and me to decide which hotel we should choose for the journey to siem reap. There are international chains like Sofitel and Le meridenas we usually choose,but if you check out the photos and reviews on trip advisor, you will find the remarks are similar those can not help you to make the decision. Finally, we find a promotion combo from traveling agency which cooperated with this hotel which operated by local people. We checked the reviews and photos, then decided to chose it.

It was quite lucky for us to chose this one. We arrived early in the noon, the welcome drink come to us immediately and we were informed that we can check in now and the baby bed was ready also, quite good service!

The hotel was designed as a really resort, spacious and in good taste, even it was opened for along time, you still could felt it is a luxery one.

The room was good, clean and comfortable, especially for the Khmer style bacony, plants are all around the room and building, felt like living in the jungles.

The pool is nice, especially a pool for kids with playful toys, and there is a mini play grounds for kids also.

As to the service, no much things to say, really nice. The food is varies for choices, from local style to western, as well as Asian and chinese.

We still visited the Sofitel and Le Meriden, frankly, not competitive with this one, either they are more cost.

For locations, don't worry, since entire siem reap city is small, there will be no problem for transportation. Especially this one is only few minutes away from both air port and down town, but really quite.

If I have to say anything is not that perfect, must be the wi-fi, the speed is not as fast as expected, but ok for general use.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJChengdu_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSoluxeAngkor, Manager at Angkor Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear MCJChengdu,

Greetings from Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace!

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and we are certainly most encouraged by your comments.

More importantly, thank you for sharing your experiences so that others will also want to visit Siem Reap and want to stay at Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace Resort & Spa.

Best regards and enjoy the day,


Lawrence Oh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a lovely time staying at this hotel back in 2009. In fact, we liked it so much we stayed there again in March 2013 expecting it to again match our pleasant experiences from the past. Unfortunately, this hotel seems not to have been updated over the last 3 years and overall was much less of a pleasant experience that before.
We woke up before 6am on both weekends to some loud music/chanting in the distance which we don't remember from before. The overall quality of the rooms and facilities (e.g. gym, restaurant) was disappointing looking like it did 3 years ago but this time with the wear and tear of being 3 years older without renovation.
The overall service is still quite good so it just appears as if the premises have just aged (e.g. toilets got stuck 2 days in a row, inroom internet access was terrible most the time etc.).
On top of this, the room was filled with mosquitoes which could not be properly controlled and they must have had a feast on us given the number of bites we had when we left.
Its a shame as we had a very pleasant first stay but after this one, I doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GManSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSoluxeAngkor, Manager at Angkor Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear GManSeoul,

Thank you for your feedback and our apologies for the inconveniences.

Your comments are indeed very useful for us and we will certainly be doing our best to make the necessary improvements and to show you why we are deserving of your patronage again.

Incidentally, the “loud chanting/music from a distance” are from events like weddings and monks’ blessings organized by the various village communities.
Traditionally, March is a popular time for such festive social activities.

Best regards and enjoy the day,


Lawrence Oh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

During Chinese New Year, we took our first trip to Cambodia. For the nine days we stayed in Siem Reap, we were booked into three hotels, the Golden Banana, the Privilage Floor, and the Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace. We were booked in for three days but after one night booked out and left!
We had one of the deluxe villas, and yes, at first glance, it was a very nice room. At least, it was nice until after dark when the mosquitoes filled the room making sleep all but impossible. Our villa was nicely situated between Swamp 1 and Swamp 2 (lotus ponds only look nice in summer). We even had an outdoor shower complete with its own little pond (mosquito breeding habitat).
The next morning feeling pretty cranky I took a bath, or rather I would have if the water had been hot; it was tepid at best! Pretty disappointing considering the nearly 20 minutes it took to fill the tub. OK, I know I could have had breakfast delivered to our room, but by now I needed to get out of the room, so it was off the breakfast buffet. What a joke, it was like being in a food hall in a Korean or Chinese shopping center. The only difference being that when you get food in a food hall it is normally hot! Surely, things like clean glasses and cutlery are the norm in hotels of this level? I checked about 12 glasses looking for a clean one then gave up. Admittedly, our waiter, when we eventually found one, was very polite, but by now it was too late breakfast was done! My cardinal rule on holiday is: thou shalt not bugger-up my breakfast! Breakfast in the Solux’s dining room can only be described as a bugger-up of epic proportions!
Back in the room, after cooling down for a few minutes, I called the front desk and asked for the duty manager to come down to the room so I could have a chat. Talk about exceptional service, he really didn’t seem at all concerned about my complaints; actually, from the look on his face, it seemed I was being overly fussy for expecting a hot bath.
We booked out. We called Tim Hy, the Privilege Floor’s Director of Resident Hosts at the Borei Angkor Resort and Spa, who not only found us a room but also had a car there to pick us up within 25 minutes. The duty manager would not organize us a car, even though it was part of our package.
So at the end of the day all I can honestly say about the Solux is that the quality of service does not live up to the look of the property. This is not a hotel I would ever recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The staff couldn't have been more helpful in arranging a car and driver to get me to a doctor and pharmacy in my recent stay.
When I asked for help nothing was any trouble.
I'm truly great full to the care I received.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.6 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#61 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Residence & Villa
Palace Residence & Villa
#134 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#67 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#54 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#35 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#20 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Palace Resort & Spa

Property: Angkor Palace Resort & Spa
Address: No. 555, Phum Krous | Khum Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17200, Cambodia (Formerly Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#21 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#30 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#42 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#57 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Angkor Palace Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of ultimate luxury and bask in the splendor of elegance at Angkor Palace Resort & Spa, the perfect base to explore the legendary Angkor Temples and undiscovered treasures in Cambodia. The only international 5-star resort designed and built by a Cambodian architect, its décor and furnishing reflect the finest in Cambodian architecture, befitting royalty and dignitaries. Nestled invitingly within a spacious 11-hectare estate, the lush resort offers you the serenity of a secluded retreat whilst ensuring you are provided with every possible convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking and Priceline so you can book your Angkor Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace, Resort And Spa
Grand Soluxe Angkor Palace Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Palace Hotel
Angkor Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing