We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Empire Hotel
Ranked #133 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived and waited for hotel shuttle but they never show up. We used airport van service it was US10. We arrived hotel and i complained about suttle service but they
" sorry, miss"
I asked to check in but they couldn't not find our record so it took 40min.
i asked use the phone to book van tour service. They said they would charge Us1 per minute. I said you did not pick us up do we paid 10. So can I use phone for free? Then I could use it for free.
Plat TV was not working so I call to service but they could not fix then they changed tv. It was small and 20 year old one.
I don't like this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judymoodycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    200
    63
    20
    17
See reviews for
103
186
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were here for two night but the air con in my room stop working around 4:00am so the room was toasty hot. The breakfast quality was poor and difficult to find a table. Most guests were from mainland China and they emptied the entire buffet table in five minutes. We were left with very little to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden,Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here four nights. While the pool ,spa, staff and tuk tuk drivers were great ,especially Visoun and Mr. Kimsour, the air conditioning did not work very well at all.
The room and bathroom were large, clean etc. but because of the AC functioning poorly, I could not really recommend this place. Breakfast is good but really crowded with tours from Korea and China.
Nevertheless Siem Reap and Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples are a must if you are a traveler.
Regardless of where you stay, we did one day touring with an air conditioned car,Mr. Lucky was educated and well spoken,(if have his contacts if you want) and the remainder by tuk tuk. The tuk tuks put you right in the middle of things.
I suggest you get a car for the furthest temples and hire a tuk tuk for the days you are closer to town. We had our drivers pick us up early, drop us back at the hotel for a swim, nap, lunch and then back out again to Pub Street. We would agree where and at what time to meet the driver to return to the hotel after an evening out and he was always there waiting. You pay at the end of the day.
It works great for all as he could possibly pick up some other fares in between our rides.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eshaver99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stay here for 4 nights. Room is big and very simple decoration. Bathroom is just ok but the water is rusty smell and not so clean. We have no choice to use. Unstable of electrical, I have to turn off and on the main switchboard every 4 hours in the night time. Staff never take any action on this issue. Swimming pool is nice but dirty. Service mind of hotel staff need to improve as fast as possible. Hotel actually can provide you free wifi but they try to sell the air time, please make a deal before book the hotel. ABF is very simple but variety of food. Overall is average to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanaphol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Only 2 electric outlets worked. Face covers for elec plugs all falling out. Air conditioning did not work. Reception staff, while polite had the collective IQ of an ant. This is a management problem. The Cambodian employees could easily be trained to do better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LokTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this hotel as part of a week long tour of Cambodia. It is a reasonable place to stay in Siem Reap. Beautiful lobby, nice pool area, large bathrooms and clean rooms, but it is far from all of the action. You must take a tuk tuk to get to the markets and restaurant area on Pub Street. The beds are firmer than most beds in the US, but better than some other hotels we stayed at during our trip. The bathrooms have a stand up shower and a tub, but the shower door does not seal so water leaks out on the floor when showering. We had breakfast boxes one morning provided by the hotel. All pastry and bread products. The other morning we ate at the buffet. It was quite large with many selections both asian and american. Overall a decent choice if you can't get closer to the action.

Once complaint is that in order for the a/c to work, or to have your door show a do not disturb light, you need to have your key in the slot in the room. But since you have to take your key with you when you leave the room, all power shuts off when you leave. No way to leave anything charging in your room when you step out or to let the staff know not to enter. Frustrating but not the end of the world, so 3 stars..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen-Ouk, Manager at Royal Empire Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Greetings from Royal Empire Hotel!

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback. We feel sorry to learn that our facilities and services did not meet your expectation whereas we try our best to have efficient and quality service for our customers.

However, please accept our sincere apologize for the frustration you came across and thank you so much for bringing this matter to our attention, which enables us to evaluate our services and facilities more efficient.

Hope this isolated matter will not lose your confident and looking forward to serving you better in the future.

All the best,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I was rather disappointed in the quality of the property and service. The breakfast buffet was chaotic. They seemed understaffed to handle the volume of people. They were out of clean utensils and cups as well as many food choices when I got there. Many tables had not been cleaned making it difficult to even find a place to sit. The room was nice but the bed was very hard. The location was good; just a short ride to a night market.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank susantnqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen-Ouk, Manager at Royal Empire Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Susan,
Warmest Greeting from Royal Empire Hotel!

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay and specially for giving us your feedback. We are much disappointed to learn that our services and facilities did not meet your expectation, whilst we have tried our best to provide standard services and qualities to our customers.

Anyway, we are the management of Royal Empire Hotel, deeply apologize for the bad experience you came across and thank you so much for bringing this matter to our attention, which enables us to evaluate our services and facilities more efficient.

Please accept our sincere apologize for the confusion and inconvenience cause and we are hoping this isolated matter will not spoil your confident and looking forward to serving you better in the future.

Best regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Ree Hotel
Ree Hotel
#180 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Angkor Resort & Conference
1.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#66 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Angkor Holiday Hotel
Angkor Holiday Hotel
#178 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regency Angkor Hotel
Regency Angkor Hotel
#119 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kouprey Hotel
Kouprey Hotel
#91 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Empire Hotel

Property: Royal Empire Hotel
Address: National Road 6 | Airport Road , Phum Krous, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built around a stunning landscape with Khmer décor and hospitality, Royal Empire Hotel offers visitors to Siem Reap the ultimate in luxury and services. It features an outdoor salt water pool, a restaurant and bar, and free Wi-Fi access.Fitted with wooden flooring and styled with eclectic Khmer touches, spacious rooms at Royal Empire Hotel are designed to be your home away from home. Each room comes with satellite TV, safety deposit box, complimentary bottled water, tea /coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers and a private bathroom with bathtub, show cubicle, bathroom amenities and hair dryer. Guests can enjoy a dip in the outdoor salt water pool, workout in the fitness centre, and indulge in massage and spa treatments while delighting in the splendor of historic and charming Siem Reap Angkor.Emerald Restaurant specializes in both local and international cuisines ranging from Khmer, Chinese, Thai, Asian and Western served in a modern Khmer-styled setting, and offers a sensational view of the pool and landscaped garden through its towering glass walls. Hotel is only 2-minute walk to the Angkor Shopping Arcade night market, 5-minute walk to Cambodian Cultural village, less than 5-minute drive to the Pub Street, and only 10-minute drive away from Siem Reap International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing