We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and friendly staff”
Review of Royal Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Empire Hotel
Ranked #148 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights as a couple and part of a tour group in Dec 2012. The rooms are decently sized and clean, and we have a room overlooking the pool which was pleasant. When we were there, we understand this hotel caters to tour groups (wherein we are one of them), and business has expanded (they have added a new wing), yet the staff remains attentive and friendly, Breakfast spread is not sumptuous but adequate. The pool provides great reprieve especially after a long hot day exploring the temples or trekking the jungles. Massage/spa is however disappointing, the masseuse we have (on 2 occasions) were not up to mark. Air-conditioning in the hotel overall and room was good. Location is also adequate, it is 10-15 min from the Airport, and 10-15min to the old market place (akin town centre) and 10-15 min to Angkor Wat temples. This is not a luxe hotel, but if you are looking for a clean no nonsense air-conditioned room with adequate hot water bath/ shower place, at an ok location, this is it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 558 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel itself was very nice with a large swimming pool. However, the beds were so hard that I considered sleeping on the floor. I wish I would have looked at the location before I booked. While it was a short tuktuk ride to town, I would have preferred to be in the middle of town and able to walk to the markets.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBatzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked for a double bed but it wasn't available, so we got two single beds. Staff was very helpful and move beds for making one big bed. Our room was beautiful and very clean, separate bath and shower. We had some problems with wi-fi, but staff resolve them in 10 minutes. The breakfast is big and variate. This hotel is well located, near night market and Angkor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diablotin_voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We are a family of 2 adults and 3 kids, so we asked for an interconnecting room. One room had a king-size bed which my husband and son shared. The other room had two super-single beds pushed together which my 2 daughters and I shared. The arrangement didn't work well for us because my youngest daughter didn't want to sleep in the middle with the groove, so both of us were squeezed on one bed with me feeling like I'm going to fall off any minute. The mattresses and pillows were also very very firm, which contributed to 3 nights of bad sleep. Our reservation said automatic upgrade from superior to deluxe rooms for stays of 3 nights or more. But our rooms were not of deluxe quality in my opinion. We were situated next to the lifts, and I could hear the lifts' "ting-ting" sounds during peak hours and at night. Our rooms had a view of the next door's hotel wall, less than a meter away. Towels were not given at all when we checked in. We had to request 3 times for them to deliver 2 sets per room. On the second day, one set was removed by house-cleaning and we were left with just one set for 3 persons for the next 2 days. The free wi-fi was non-existent even though our rooms were above the lobby area. We could detect the next door hotel's wifi signal, but too bad we couldn't log-in. Wifi also not detected in restaurant or pool. Only the lobby had wifi. I also tried the aroma oil massage provided by the hotel. It was a lousy experience. Shower cap and disposable underwear were not provided. The towel given just barely covered my body. The air-con in the massage room blew directly at my head and shoulder, so I felt cold. When I asked the masseur to turn up the temperature, she switched off the air-con. I bared with the stuffiness for a while but finally couldn't stand it when a mosquito bit me. So I asked her to turn on the air-con, and it blasted cold air at me again. The masseur also didn't use much strength; my tired muscles were not relieved at the end. I would say the only good points about this hotel is the quiet, clean swimming pool with a smaller pool for kids, and the wide-spread buffet breakfast. The chicken porridge tasted really good and I like the freshly-cooked eggs. It's also next to a small local market with a fruit stall, a mini-mart and some food stalls. But I would not recommend eating at those food stalls because there were flies all over. The mini-mart was a life-saver for us with their stock of yogurt, Korean choco-pie and instant cup noodles when my kids were hungry.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms 301 and 302. They are just outside the lifts, so you can hear the "ting-ting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zinc6539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin-ouk, Manager at Royal Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Zinc,
Warmest Greetings from Royal Empire Hotel!

We are the management of Royal Empire Hotel, would like to express our sincere to thank for choosing our hotel for your accommodation, and many thank for your dropping your feedback.

We feel very sorry for unexpected problem occur during your stay, and we are much disappointed to learn that our services and facilities fell short of your expectation, whilst we have tried our best to provide the efficient and quality services to our customers. To prevent recurrence of the same kind, we have reminded the front-line staff again to always handle the customer's instructions with proper care. Again, we deeply apologize for the frustration you and your family came across.

Furthermore, many thank for your bringing this matter to our attentions, which enables us to improve our services and facilities more efficient. Finally we do hope this isolated matter will not spoil your confidence and looking forward to serving you better in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 12 nights. I chose this hotel because of the reviews as suggested on tripadvisor. We were met by Sam the hotel manager at the airport to escort us to his hotel. Throughout our stay every member of the hotel staff went beyound there call of duty to ensure that our stay was as best as it could possibly be and we were certainly not dissapointed.
The attentative staff made our holiday one that we will always remember. We had a beautiful room (227) over looking the pool. Breakfast was included it was a hearty buffet style and the cusine suited all your dietry needs. We also had evening meals and they were excellent and supplement by excellent service also it was good value for money. Spending 12 nights we felt that we got to know the hotel staff very well we felt like familiy members. Sam the hotel manager went out of his way and offered us 2 VIP tickets it was a red carpet job to enable us to go to Angor Wat on 2/11/12 the special occasion was provided by Cambodian tourism minister to promote this area as a holiday destination amongst other Asian countries ministers who were also in attendance.What an evening we were one of the lucky few to celebrate this occasion within an impressive iconic location they lit up the temple followed by celebratery firework display. An event that we will never forget and I cannot thank Sam enough and his staff for making our stay in Siem Reap so memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the hotel pool perferably with a balcony. If availabity allows and your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stag300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was on a business trip to Phnom Penh but stop over for 3 days 2 nights short holiday at Siem Reap to bring my dad for some relaxation excursion. My business partner had previously stayed here before, and hence he was a return customer to book room for all of us this time around at Royal Empire Hotel.

The location of the hotel is very near to the airport (around 10 minutes via the “tuk tuk" i.e the motorbike with a carriage, at slow speed - leisurely cruising along) and along this street, it is obviously a tourism town with hotels lying on both sides of the road at National Road No.6 where the Royal Empire Hotel is situated. Since this is very near to the airport, there is quite a distance to the town centre. But the distance can be perceived as far if you are to walk while consider a short trip with the tuk tuk. Distant to the ancient temples sites were all within reach. Anyway the whole town is very small as I view it. So honestly, I don't worry because the tuk tuk is fairly cheap and abundant as well.

Hotel pricing vice, the over the counter/phone price is around USD 100-130 and that is somewhat ridiculous. But my partner was able to book the room via internet online costing us a 2-single bedroom at around USD49 per room per night. At USD 100 plus, I reckon you can get a better 5 stars hotel with more amenities and maybe closer to the town centre although I am comfortable with this one at USD 49.

At my time of visiting, the hotel was constructing a new wing for further extension. This served no hindrance except for the usage of the swimming pool which was too dusty to be utilized.

Breakfast was a buffet style which is normal for most of us everywhere but with 2 days I reckon that everything was just a repetition day in and day out. I don't expect much because the 5 stars hotel do have the same menu every other day.

Massage. I had tried out the in house massage and being the most expensive in the selection, USD 24 for the 1 and a half hour Khmer Oil Massage, I reckon it is not really worth it compare to "SO Angkor Khmer Massage & Spa" where I paid USD 25 for 2 hours Khmer Oil Massage where I can even choose what essence oil I wanted. However you must take account of the tuk tuk fee, where I had waived off since I hire them for the whole day basis* :) take note here that my hire start from morning to 12midnight??!! That is why I say it's cheap and why worry about transportation.

Further note: Don't pay USD 30 to book a car for the butterfly trip (not including the entrance fee of USD 4 per person) and to the Palm Sugar (that is actually stalls by the road sides). Get a tuk tuk, it's actually very near but we were told that it will take an hour. I think it is more relaxing to get breeze with the tuk tuk to the butterfly centre and palm sugar!

Anything else, try to get a tuk tuk driver that can speak YOUR language if possible. Be it French, English, Chinese. You will be amazed if some of them speak your language albeit in simple and that can help you in a big way. My driver actually act as a tour guide to my dad! That save me so much in showing my dad around.

So good day to you and hope my encounter helps you in your trip!

Good day,
Gary, C. Wong.

Room Tip: Be wise to check out the pricing for this time around, my partner found out the price was way apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctwon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is very convenient to both temples of Angkor Wat and the town of Siem Reap.
The bed rooms are large and very clean. The hotel has an excellent pool, great to relax in after a hot day visiting Angkor Wat.
All the staff were very helpfull and welcoming, with very good advise on where to go and how to get there.
The food, especially the breakfast buffet, was excellent. We would certainly stay there again.
Great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back, overlooking the pool, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 898michaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Apsara Angkor Resort & Conference
1.2 mi away
Angkor Holiday Hotel
Angkor Holiday Hotel
#192 of 361 in Siem Reap
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ree Hotel
Ree Hotel
#190 of 361 in Siem Reap
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Starry Angkor Hotel
Starry Angkor Hotel
#215 of 361 in Siem Reap
73 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#74 of 361 in Siem Reap
542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
#324 of 361 in Siem Reap
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Empire Hotel

Address: National Road 6 | Airport Road , Phum Krous, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $52 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Empire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built around a stunning landscape with Khmer décor and hospitality, Royal Empire Hotel offers visitors to Siem Reap the ultimate in luxury and services. It features an outdoor salt water pool, a restaurant and bar, and free Wi-Fi access.Fitted with wooden flooring and styled with eclectic Khmer touches, spacious rooms at Royal Empire Hotel are designed to be your home away from home. Each room comes with satellite TV, safety deposit box, complimentary bottled water, tea /coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers and a private bathroom with bathtub, show cubicle, bathroom amenities and hair dryer. Guests can enjoy a dip in the outdoor salt water pool, workout in the fitness centre, and indulge in massage and spa treatments while delighting in the splendor of historic and charming Siem Reap Angkor.Emerald Restaurant specializes in both local and international cuisines ranging from Khmer, Chinese, Thai, Asian and Western served in a modern Khmer-styled setting, and offers a sensational view of the pool and landscaped garden through its towering glass walls. Hotel is only 2-minute walk to the Angkor Shopping Arcade night market, 5-minute walk to Cambodian Cultural village, less than 5-minute drive to the Pub Street, and only 10-minute drive away from Siem Reap International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing