We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinta Mani Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shinta Mani Club
Ranked #6 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another Great Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at the Shinta Mani three times in the past three years. Each time it just gets better and better. Working wtih the hotel, we have been involved in several of their community outreach programs as well as the Institute of Hospitality. We have found that the hotel offers so much more than the normal tourist site visits, not that Angkor Wat and the temples aren't important to your visit. However, if you want to experience the true Cambodia life style, arrange for the hotel to take you out to the villages to see the results of the water well project, provide box lunches to children that don't always know when they will eat again and be sure to see the sewing center at the local pagadoa where abused women are learning to sew, providing them with a new opportunity in life. These are the real values of life; seeing how life after the terrible death march of the Kremer Rouge, remains. Historians have said that it will take five generations for Cambodia to recover--the programs of the Shinta Mani may help reduce that time in the Siem Reap villages. The staff and the facility continue to mature in providing a "home away from home" for their guests and now exceed our greatest expectations. Stay at the Shinta Mani for a real feel of the Siem Reap community. You won't be disappointed. You can obtain all of the necessary hotel information from their web site.
Ted Nieman
Frederick, Maryland

  • Liked — Convience to town, ambience of the facility and the hospitality of the staff.
  • Disliked — No Comment.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CambodiaWeCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,631
    194
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
461
1,375
140
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2007

I wish I heeded the previous review but I was awed by the socially responsible ethos of the property as publicised online. Indeed, Shanti Mani was more like home-stay, albeit a very large home. It reminds me of the grand colonial homes of Asia's old rich.

The good things first: the service, like in most of Siem Reap, is excellent. You are always welcomed with a smile. And after a long day in town or in the temples, it's a bit like coming home when you are welcomed with a fresh smile.

Ask the staff to arrange dinner reservations at an Aspara Theatre performance or a temple tour, and they promptly accomplish it. There is a sincere effort to make your stay pleasant - fresh coconut juice on arrival, a complimentary traditional Khmer scarf loomed by one of the community projects, lotus flowers on everything from the towels to the bed.

And then ..... the Real Score.

The room is very nice - if you stop thinking for a moment you are actually in a hotel and compare it instead to other guesthouses.

The walls, door, furniture and cupboard are starting to show their age. Other than the in-room safe, wi-fi and satellite TV, everything in the property looks old.

The three things that make my holiday were all missing: a nice bathroom, a tranquil spa, and a restaurant with a wide menu. The bathroom had old tiles, and the bath and counter were cracked. The commode made me cry - just old and stained. The spa was expensive and disappointing. It does not have the right ambience and I wonder if the "therapists" are students practising on me... not a re-assuring thought when I have just blown $120 to be pampered. Although the restaurant's few dishes are great, they are over priced for the town. One meal came up to 1/3rd of my accommodation!

And where should I start with the pool... it's small, it's laughable, and it's cloudy! The three days I stayed in a pool-side room, I never saw a single guest even dip their toes in the water. I couldn't wait to check out.

My only reason for booking into the hotel is their avowed community projects. I made my donation on top of my over-priced stay at the "hotel". Allow me to be selfish on my next trip when I book into a proper resort.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Value for money
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank traveldiva888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2007

We stayed at the Shinta Mani in October 2006. We picked the Shinta Mani for two reasons: #1) it appeared to be a beautiful hotel in Siem Reap - a wonderful place to stay while exploring the temples at Angkor Wat and #2) we had read about their Community Support Projects and their Hospitality Institute and wanted to support a hotel that gives back to their community. Our experience with Shinta Mani changed our lives!

First of all, the hotel is a charming, well run place. It is in a great location in Siem Reap. The grounds are beautiful - a nice "oasis" in the hustle of Siem Reap. Both the service and the food at the restaurant are excellent. The spa and spa services were amazing. Because of the hospitality institute within the hotel, ALL the staff were friendly, helpful and incredibly gracious. They will pick you up at the airport, help arrange private tours of the temples - whatever you need. One of the little things I loved was everytime we returned to the hotel after being out on a hot day, they would greet us with wonderfully scented, wet cold towels to cool off!!! (Always with a smile!) We enjoyed being at the hotel as much as we enjoyed exploring Siem Reap and Angkor Wat. My only regret is that we did not stay longer!

The Community Support Project was by far the best experience of our stay in Siem Reap. This is huge in that the temples of Angkor Wat are the most amazing sights we have ever seen in our travels. And for most, this is what you see/experience in Siem Reap. Through Shinta Mani's support project, however, we were able to "give" directly to the local villagers. My husband Jim turned 40 during our stay at Shinta Mani. Rather than showering him with gifts he didnt' need, we used those $$ to buy a fresh water drinking well to be built for a local family, bicycles and rice. The director of the program, Chitra, arranged for us to visit the village and meet our family that received the well. This well is the beginning of a new life for them - a life that for very little $$, we were able to give to them. Many Cambodians live on as little as $5 USD/month. Lack of fresh drinking water / water borne illness is still the major cause of death among children. And yet, for less than what we paid for a night at the hotel, we gave the gift of life. It was amazing. And it changed how I view the world. Cambodia and the Shinta Mani are lucky to have a woman like Chitra creating and running this program.

And you will be lucky if you stay there!!!

Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Shinta Mani for 3 nights this November. I believe our room (#211) was a Standard and not a Deluxe, but in my mind it was the best one. It was on the 2nd floor, quiet, with a view of the pool and it was a corner room so had the extra windows. It had a reading area just outside, which also had a computer for guests’ use. The rooms poolside are very close to the pool and did not seem private. I could see quite well into those people’s room as I lounged by the pool, despite the curtains being drawn. We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was very good (try the pain au chocolat if you can). We always ventured out for our suppers. The bathrooms could use a bit of updating in terms of décor, but they were clean and served their purpose.
Very friendly staff, beautiful surroundings, a pool that was certainly large enough for what we wanted to do which was COOL DOWN, relaxing massage at the end of a hard day at the temples – what more could you want? How about knowing that you support their Hospitality training program by just staying there?! Makes you feel pretty good doesn’t it? My husband and I made a further donation because we simply loved what they are doing to help Cambodians.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank cdnabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2006

We booked at stay at the Shinta Mani for 3 days during our honeymoon. Upon arrival, we were informed that our room was under renovation and there were no extra rooms. However, management put us up at Hotel de la Paix (their luxurious sister hotel) at no additional cost, and gave us the option to stay at the de la Paix for our entire trip at no additional cost. We chose to return to Shinta Mani b/c we liked their principle of giving back to the community and that NGOs hand-pick their staff from poor families w/in the community and train them in the service industry to give them more hope for the future.

That being said, we did encounter a few problems. The water temperature in the shower in our room was a little difficult to control - it would usually be scalding hot or on the cold side. On both nights, I awoke in the middle of the night and found that the water had been shut off. The power also went off briefly a couple of times. We were told by hotel staff that the King's son was going to be in town and that the water was shut off in all the city so repairs could be done before he arrived.

On a positive note, all of the staff is so nice and eager to please that you are not able to be mad at them! They also greet you w/ giant coconut drinks and scarves when you check-in. They remembered that it was our honeymoon and had scattered flower petals around the room and arranged flower petals spelling out "Happy Honeymoon" on the bed. That was a very sweet touch. It is a small, nice hotel w/ a good pool area and a relatively short walk (10-15 minutes) from the bars & restaurants in the middle of town.

If you book here, keep in mind that it is a training school, so it will not be the absolute perfect stay, but they have a good mission and good intentions. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TX_Longhorn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2006

One of the benefits of staying at the Shinta Mani is that it is used to train students who wish to learn the hotel trade. These are often young people from less advantageos backgrounds who would not otherwise have the opportunity, and sometimes even children who were previously begging to support their families.

This does not mean, however, that standards are poor. We found the room, spa, pool and restaurant excellent. The staff were very helpful and overall I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2006

We spent ages trying to decide which hotel to stay in Seam Reap. We picked this one because they train locals into the hotel trade, they give something back to the community, and it seemed to be of a good standard. The hotel itself is beautiful, we were welcomed with coconuts to drink, and all given a scarf to put round our necks. Not quite sure why as it was very hot, but it was a nice touch.

The rooms are perfection, beautiful to walk into, everything is set out perfectly, and our room looked out onto a completely private green area. Wifi was available, very important to my husband.

The pool is small, but inviting. Poolside rooms were lovely too.

The breakfasts are all cooked to order, and very nice. Evening meals were a bit of a disappointment, they were very expensive, compared to almost everywhere else outside, and despite the menu sounding quite exciting, the food was mediocre. Suggest you eat out at night, if you are not totally exhausted.

  • Liked — 5 Star
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda21046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#2 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#13 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinta Mani Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Club

Property: Shinta Mani Club
Address: Oum Khun Street | 14th Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#5 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shinta Mani Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinta Mani Siem Reap is an upscale boutique property in the French Quarter of Siem Reap town. It boasts 39 contemporary designed rooms and public spaces in a European style with Khmer inspiriration. This exceptional hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat.Shinta Mani, with a culture of Open Doors, Open Hearts, reflects its commitment to responsible tourism. The staff hope that during your visit you will open your heart to the beauty of the Kingdom of Cambodia, its gentle people and its fascinating culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shinta Mani Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing