We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shinta mani "Cool haven in Siem Reap"”
Review of Shinta Mani Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shinta Mani Angkor
Ranked #13 of 376 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Beautiful hotel, rooms round well maintained pool, superb service from most friendly staff seemed to know what we needed before we even knew we wanted it! eg Glass of water, fresh fruit at the pool, maps and directions when we went out, cool clothes when we came in ... the list is endless- was such a joy to be there - really didnt want to leave - The Hays

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor overlooking pool which was beautiful - but would have liked to have been on gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHays2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,068 - 2,074 of 3,170 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here for three nights and I felt so great about the service which this hotel provided to me. The staff were so excellent all the time..
They are very suitable to get the number one hotel in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: i prefer first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelX8564VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel experience was one of my favorites ever. The hotel smells of jasmine, is modern, clean and comfortable. The rooms on the floor level look over the pool and are beautiful.
The staff are the warmest, kindest people I've ever met in my life. I was incredibly depressed to leave.
The breakfast is wonderful with delicious fresh fruit and juices. The pool is warm and lovely. Honestly I would go back here every year if I could.
One little request - more drinkable water bottles in the hotel room needed!
Thank you Shinta Mani for such an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

When I see bad comments about a hotel on TA, they usually start with the good and then get into why they didnt like the hotel after that.

For the Shinta Mani, I want to start with the bad because it helps to show why this hotel is so highly rated.

When me and my partner arrived at the airport in Siem Reap, there was no car/driver to meet us. We kept waiting and waiting until there were no more passengers from our flight, until there were no more drivers picking up arrivals.

I called the hotel and at first they couldnt find my name. I told them that I had a confirmed pick-up, they found my reservation and said someone would be there in 20 minutes. 20 minutes passed and no one had arrived. I called them back and got a different person, went through all the details again, and this next person said someone would be there in another 20 minutes (they showed up about 5 minutes later).

I was steaming. The last thing you want when arriving in a new country, with sweltering heat, is to have to run around looking for transport.

Anyway, as I was in the air conditioned car to the hotel, I was thinking of my comments here on TA and the rating I would give. I'd be generous and give Shinta Mani a 3 star.

Then we arrived. Rataná met us and apologized profusely. She had us sit in a nice, quiet reception area off to the side and away from the front office traffic. She reconfirmed our pick up for the flight but mentioned that our flight arrived early. [True. But all the other hotels seemed to know to get their cars their in time to meet their arrivals.]

Anyway, her charm started to take effect, we were checked in very efficiently and our bags were waiting for us in the room. As we walked around the hotel grounds, we were always meet with pleasant smiles and a nice good afternoon. The dinner we had at the hotel that evening was perfect.

My rating had already risen to a 4 star.

The next day the hotel had our guide ready for us early in the morning for the sunrise at Angkor Wat and throughout that day, and the next, and the next, the staff and service (and in particular Rataná) were outstanding. The rooms are large and well cleaned. Everywhere we turned the management of this hotel had everything well under control to give the best in hotel services.

I leave the Shinta Mani loving this hotel and rating this overall experience a 5 star experience.

And note, they didnt take the pick up charge off the bill. They didnt give me a free dinner, or drinks at the bar, or anything.

They just earned this rating with good service once I had arrived at the hotel with the charm of their staff and Rataná.

Well done!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott_Lombok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the Shinta Mani Hotel for 3 nights in February 2014. The hotel itself is beautiful, but what really sets it apart is the outstanding customer service by the hotel staff. The service is the best we have ever experienced in any hotel around the world.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I really enjoyed this place for 3 nights. They gave us an end room with additional windows overlooking the pool. The pool was great - large, refreshing with attentive staff and plenty of lounge chairs. The breakfast buffet, which you could also order from a limited menu, was okay but when the place got busy, was frequently needing refurbishing. We walked to the touristy area every evening for dinner and the night markets. Also tried out the "fish massage" which I highly recommend for the experience for a couple of dollars - everything is negotiable in town.

Room Tip: I had the salt/clay body scrub followed by a deep massage - 2 hrs for $85. This was the best massag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at; the service, beautiful rooms, ambiance and most of all, the outstanding staff, many of whom are trainees, make this completely superb. ALL the staff have such beautiful smiles and attitudes which makes this lovely resort a complete people Nirvana.
Kudos to Christian who is the exceptional hotel manager; he is not afraid to roll up his sleeves and get his hands dirty, yet at the same time, he always appears to be able to make time to sit down and chat. He is a wealth of information about both Cambodia and its very people.
I have stayed at the Shinta Mani several times and quite frankly the main draw for me is the fact that they reach out and help the community (Shinta Mani Foundation); in the hotel they focus on training at risk youth in the hospitality sector. Besides that they do work in education, medical and dental clinics and small business set up loans. The Shinta Mani Foundation has 14 employees, headed up by Chitra who in my mind, is the Mother Teresa of Cambodia! It is well worth visiting the Foundation in the Club. You will see employees learning English, computer education, jewelry making for the wonderful hotel shop etc.
This wonderful hotel and resort is a lot more than a slice of heaven. The Shinta Mani really care s and supports the poor, sick and helpless in the most profound way by giving people the tools to try and overcome their desperate poverty. See shintamani.com/foundation to get an idea of what makes this hotel truly unique, in a way that really reaches the heart and soul.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#9 of 376 in Siem Reap
2,271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#8 of 376 in Siem Reap
1,758 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 376 in Siem Reap
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.1 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinta Mani Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Angkor

Address: Oum Khun Street | 14th Street, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly Shinta Mani Club)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $176 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shinta Mani Angkor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinta Mani Angkor is an upscale boutique property in the French Quarter of Siem Reap town. It boasts 39 contemporary designed rooms and public spaces in a European style with Khmer inspiration. This exceptional hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat. Shinta Mani Angkor, with a culture of Open Doors, Open Hearts, reflects its commitment to responsible tourism. The staff hope that during your visit you will open your heart to the beauty of the Kingdom of Cambodia, its gentle people and its fascinating culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Shinta Mani Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing