We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury +++”
Review of Shinta Mani Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shinta Mani Angkor
Ranked #14 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury +++”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, awesome! Loved the swinging dining seats, felt like we were part of the Shinta Mani family, even though we weren't there for long enough! Very good location, quiet but near to the bustling centre if Siem Reap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivhowells_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,764
    203
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
491
1,455
145
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Shinta Mani was one of our highlight stops on our honeymoon! The staff there really went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. The package we had included the 2 days of the beautiful temples. The tour guide Raman was extremely good not only showing us the sites but really giving us an insight into the history and culture. You should definitely request him as your tour guide. Also our driver Mr Shar was fantastic and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrywhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you're going to Siem Reap the ONLY place to stay is the Shinta Mani Hotel & Spa. I was there for only 4 days and 3 nights but by the time I left I felt like the entire staff were friends I've know for a while. I was very sad to leave. The hotel itself is beautiful and has an amazing spa with very capable therapists. But, what I really fell in love with were the people who worked there. Christian, the general manager is a wonderful man, and I was told by a few members of the staff that he treats them very well and tries to do everything in the respectful Cambodian way. I was very disappointed to hear that a lot other hotels in Siem Reap do not treat their employees so well. He, Tevy and the rest of the beautiful team at Shinta Mani made it feel like a home away from home. The only downside?? No fitness center but that's so small in comparison to all the upsides this hotel has to offer. I strongly urge you to stay here to enjoy your time in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loren408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa District, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

From the outside it doesn't look like on of the best hotels.
When you go inside and meet the staff you understand that it's something different .or by there words: we the 240 staff members wants you to fill you arrived home to your family.
The room is great ,breakfast is excellent and you can order a nice variety of food.
To conclude one of the best hotels I have stayed

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was probably my 6th stay at this hotel, which has now expanded across the street as well, and I continue to be AWED by the staff who always remember my name as if I was just there the week before, instead of months later, as well as by the super comfy five star beds, powerful showers and my swanky balcony for practicing yoga, or toasting the moonlight.

Anyone who knows Shinta Mani from when it was a mere 18 room inn will be especially blown away by the 2012 rebuild by Architectural Digest darling Bill Bensley -- if you dream of staying in his cover girls like Four Seasons Tented Camp, The Siam and InterContinental Danang but find the rates beyond your imagination, THIS is the place for you. Bensley was so touched by Shinta Mani's philanthropic endeavors that he endowed this property with the same photogenic finishes and five star details like the rain showers, outdoor day bed swings in the restaurant for leisurely breakfasts of fresh cut fruit and Khmer noodles, and those decadent beds.

The European manager Christian de Boer can be seen around the property all day and into the night, talking to guests in his repetoire of languages, and paying attention to the tiny details, the very things that make the difference between Shinta Mani and the scores of less memorable addresses around this tourist town.

Beyond the yummy food day into night, the designer accommodations, super speedy internet, sparkly swimming pools and homemade cookies at evening turndown, it is all the people not just the GM who make this place stand out. The Cambodian founder started the hotel and a hospitality training school at the same time, so many of the staff are like the spa manager who I learned comes from a very humble background in the countryside but now runs this fantastic spa (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED) and encouraged his younger sister to come find a better life through the Shinta Mani Development Center as well. I asked about visiting this school and was directed just upstairs from the restaurant. NOTHING is more heartwarming than to spend a few minutes after breakfast or between temple tours saying hello to the English class students and learning about their hopes and dreams which are becoming possible purely through guest visits. How cool is that?

Yes, there are other indulgent properties around town, but none that offers the combination of exceptional value, true luxury and such heartwarming in one stunning spot. Highly, highly recommended -- and I will check in again soon too.

Room Tip: I prefer upper floor rooms with balconies or standard rooms on the 2nd floor because I like the dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velp, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our two day get-together at Shinta Mani Club has been a fantastic experience in many ways: the very welcoming, friendly and professional staff were at all times committed to make our stay a great pleasure. The hotel and room have great atmosphere. We have enjoyed delicious meals in the restaurant (garden!). All very well organized and very welcoming. Many thanks, especially to the great staff, it has been a great pleasure to stay with you, hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This review is actually about the Shinta Mani Resort, which is the original and sister hotel of the smaller Shinta Mani Club, which is across the street. The club houses the spa, small restaurant and bar; the resort has the larger garden and pool. Trip advisor does not list the "resort" separately. The Shinta Mani is a very nice relatively small hotel in a great location in Siem Reap. The rooms are attractive and very clean. The staff are excellent, speak very good English, and are amazingly attentive. The breakfast is also very good and diverse.
The staff were very helpful in arranging trips and guides, making dinner reservations, etc.
Being in the city meant having quite a bit of autonomy in going out, and discovering Siem Reap´s stores and restaurants. Yet just as convenient as other hotels for visiting the temples.
In the resort part of the hotel, there is a nice pool and garden area and the rooms have small balconies or terraces which overlook this. Being adjacent to the restaurant, not too much privacy though.
We enjoyed our 5 night stay here very much. The only negative comment is that behind the hotel there was some construction and various ventilation shafts from restaurants, etc. This led to some noise from machines as well as people very early in the morning. Generally, however, this was a minor disturbance in what was an overall very relaxing and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Would probably choose upstairs rooms for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#12 of 356 in Siem Reap
2,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 356 in Siem Reap
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 356 in Siem Reap
3,629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 356 in Siem Reap
5,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinta Mani Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Angkor

Property: Shinta Mani Angkor
Address: Oum Khun Street | 14th Street, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly Shinta Mani Club)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#11 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shinta Mani Angkor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinta Mani Angkor is an upscale boutique property in the French Quarter of Siem Reap town. It boasts 39 contemporary designed rooms and public spaces in a European style with Khmer inspiration. This exceptional hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat. Shinta Mani Angkor, with a culture of Open Doors, Open Hearts, reflects its commitment to responsible tourism. The staff hope that during your visit you will open your heart to the beauty of the Kingdom of Cambodia, its gentle people and its fascinating culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shinta Mani Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing