We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heart of responsible tourism!”
Review of Shinta Mani Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shinta Mani Angkor
Ranked #14 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I travelled to Siem Reap to discover amongst many things, the temples of Angkor Wat. During my planning I decided to book a room in Shinta Mani hotel and I got much more than I expected. I chose this hotel because I read about their foundation which trains young adults to become real professionals. $5 of the nightly room rate is donated to the foundation and is used to provide education and business training. When i visited the foundation and talked to the students, I realized how important this is for them and how it helps them to develop more skills. I also found that the highly trained students of the Shinta Mani foundation are also recruited by other hotels. Be interesting to see where.
In addition the hotel itself immerses you into the Angkor culture. It is a mixture of modern architecture and Angkor art attributes. One if my favourite things to do was relaxing at the swimming pool and sipping from one of the fresh smoothies, however i was also fascinated by Bonalai, their library. They have an impressive collection available of books and journals, and It is relaxing just to nose around and to gain more information about this magnificent place.
The rooms of the hotel provided all the necessary comforts and the staff were friendly and willing to answer all of my questions.
Shinta Mani is the perfect hotel to stay in Siem Reap, with a heart for responsible tourism as an added bonus!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzieq3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,532 - 2,538 of 3,199 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am currently staying 4 nights at Shinta Mani Siem Reap, and I' m so sad I have to leave tomorrow ( hopefully for one week at the Chedi in Chiang Mai, so should be nice as well !!).

Having been to Siem Reap many times, I have tried several hotels - from Amansara to Sofitel to Hôtel de la Paix ... Shinta Mani reminds me of the latter, and indeed they have taken some of the former Hotel de la Paix's best aspects (for instance great contemporary Khmer design), but made them even better : boutique-scale hotel, an even better staff than before. I can't praise the staff enough. It is in itself a true experience.

Breakfast is amazing - I haven't been to many hotels where there's a complete buffet AND an à -la-carte menu : from a khmer soup to the most delicious pancakes ( so soft ... yummy), one can order almost anything. True luxury. And unlike many other five star in the area, the breakfast area doesn't look like NY's Central Station during rush hour. It's all about luxury, quiet, discretion, and of course great food to start the day.

Swiming pool is nice too : it is not as small as some comments would describe it. It is a lap pool, so it's way longer than large, but it makes it very special and with ample space considering the amount of rooms. I have never had problem findind space in any of the mattress around the pool . They serve you with a home-made sorbet for free, huge pillows, etc.

The General Manager is always around and you can feel his love for this country and for his staff, and this truly shows in the way service is delivered.

Location is perfect - so close to the action but so quiet at the same time. A 1-dollar tuk tuk ride or a few minutes walk and you're in the middle of the night markets etc. Upon coming back to the hotel, one always gets fresh towel . Another example of great attention to details.

If not for the temples, I would just make the trip to Siem Reap to enjoy staying at the Shinta Mani :-) Don't even hesitate - if you're a connaisseur and tasteful traveller, don't even bother looking at other properties in Siem Reap. You've found the perfect place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KungFuWuta0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is not a big-name, huge hotel located on acres and acres of land. This luxury boutique hotel is urban and sophisticated, with a design and service focus. If you like the colonial, old world style, you are not going to like this hotel. If you appreciate modern aesthetics and want to be closer to the action, then this is the place to be.

The rooms are amazing with comfortable, large beds with high thread count sheets. The bathrooms are spacious with huge showers. There is a flat-panel TV and an iPod/iphone 4 dock but we hardly used them since there was reliable wi-fi throughout the property. The pool, albeit small, is PERFECT - the water temperature is perfect, no chlorine small, and long enough to do laps. There are only a few dozen rooms in this hotel and so the pool is never crowded - very civilized and relaxing.

Breakfast was amazing with both western and Cambodian foods - the Cambodian rice porridge/soup is delicious. They also offer a la carte Western breakfast to satisfy your waffle/bacon/pancake fix.

But what really puts this hotel over the top is the amazing staff. I have stayed in plenty of 5* hotels around the world, and I must say that the staff at Shinta Mani really are the best at anticipating your every need and bending backwards to make sure that everything is just perfect. And it's all done with a smile and sincere concern - how do they teach this? It's truly incredible.

Angkor Wat is beautiful, but the staff at Shinta Mani really made our Cambodia trip truly memorable.

Room Tip: no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank induway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Recently stayed here for a few days escape. Having stayed previously with it's sister hotel, Hotel de la Paix (now undergoing renovation as Park Hyatt), I fell in love with the recently reopened Shinta Mani. To be honest I found many of the architectural features of de la Paix here and it felt like coming home.

The team here is incredible. Nothing is too much trouble and the hotel's commitment to the community is evident without being thrust down your throat.

The public spaces are alot of fun with the black, white and gray tones contrasting with the vibrant pops of orange wherever you look. The pool is beautiful. Just wish I had more time to use it.

I love the restaurant. Sure it's perhaps more expensive that many at Pub St, but you get what you pay for! Service highly attentive everyone remembers your name.

I had a lovely room on the second floor in the new wing overlooking the pool and it's couldnt be better after a hard day exploring temples or the city. Loved the high ceilings and the bathroom layout. Comfy bed too!

Didnt see a lift anywhere so the stairs could be an issue for those who cant negotiate them.

Also found the spa to be amazing. A true surprise on the rooftop area. You can really feel the design of the old de la Paix here too which I loved!

Location wise, couldnt be better. Quiet enough in a little side street but within easy walking distance to all the action.

I also notice they are expanding across the road which will bring an interesting feel to the street.

My honest opinion is to avoid the big five star hotels and choose Shinta Mani. It has much more character and personality with everything you could wish for. And you know you are supporting the local community at the same time.

Thank you to all the Shinta Mani team...you really did make me feel like part of the family and hope to return again one day.

ps, I think they have taken over AHA restaurant (from de la Paix) down near Pub Street and they still have the honeycomb icecream....a MUST try!

Room Tip: Did see the old wing, but the new rooms in the new wing were fantastic. Also have rooms at pool leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiveTravelDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Out of the way but still in the center of Siem Reap, Shinta Mani is a fabulous gem. The staff is second to none - friendly, patient, helpful, pleasant (all 5-star hotel staff should follow their example). The rooms are gorgeously modern yet Cambodian at the same time. The shower is an open shower with a rainfall head (lovely) and the pool is PERFECT.

Breakfast is a wonderful mix of Western and Cambodian cuisine and again the decor is beautiful (there are also "floating" tables/beds for outdoor eating).

The only one negative was the pedicure that I got in the spa (it took a bit long and wasn't as extensive as I had hoped).

But service is FABULOUS! Coming from China where service is minimal at best, we have found the staff at Shinta Mani to be a welcome breath of civility and kindness.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ophiesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you come to siem reap, this is a great choice--beautiful rooms, beautiful staff and beautiful location! For those Americans (like me) that need the ac to work well--it does here!! The staff could not be more helpful--and the hotel trains youth from the provinces to work in the hospitality industry. A perfect place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for several nights while doing volunteer work at a local hospital. It was a wonderful place to come home to every day, with friendly attentive staff and the most comfortable beds in the world. Started every day with a great breakfast, and often finished it with a drink at the bar. A delightful pool for keeping cool. Very helpful with planning trips to see Angkor Wat and other sites. Shinta Mani also has a long history of supporting local charities and community-building efforts and feels integrated into the local Cambodian community. I recommend it highly for those visiting the temples or visiting Siem Reap for business purposes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desmondb1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#11 of 384 in Siem Reap
2,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,804 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 384 in Siem Reap
709 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
1.7 mi away
Shintana Saya Residence
Shintana Saya Residence
#1 of 384 in Siem Reap
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinta Mani Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Angkor

Address: Oum Khun Street | 14th Street, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly Shinta Mani Club)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $168 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shinta Mani Angkor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinta Mani Angkor is an upscale boutique property in the French Quarter of Siem Reap town. It boasts 39 contemporary designed rooms and public spaces in a European style with Khmer inspiration. This exceptional hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat. Shinta Mani Angkor, with a culture of Open Doors, Open Hearts, reflects its commitment to responsible tourism. The staff hope that during your visit you will open your heart to the beauty of the Kingdom of Cambodia, its gentle people and its fascinating culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Shinta Mani Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing