We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond all expectations”
Review of Shinta Mani Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shinta Mani Angkor
Ranked #15 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2007

This hotel caught our eye some time ago and whilst the reviews here were generally good I had a couple of reservations based on earlier comments. I was wasting my time worrying as the hotel is lovely in every sense of the word. We were given room 104, a delux room but on the lower floor. The lack of a view was the only draw back, but I do not book into a hotel to sit and look out of the window. Service was always prompt and with a warm smile. after 3 days we felt we were leaving friends behind and are already talking about our next visit. 3 days is not enough to explore the temples and the area, so our next trip will be longer. The hotel is a superb refuge after a days trekking about the magnificent temples, and it has super spa facillities which are so needed when you get back. I put my Thai massage down as probably the best I've had, probably down to the aches I had after the temples. Tut-tuts are only $2 into the town where cheaper food and drinks are to be had. I can recommend the Khmer Chicken curry as being very special. The people make the place like home, I cannot compliment them enough. And there is no longer any building work.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,617 - 2,623 of 3,076 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2007

Fantastic boutique hotel with only 18 rooms. Very clean, peaceful place with a nice lap pool, free wireless and very nice staff, who hand out cold towels as soon as you check in, or come back from your excursions.

Staff were friendly, very well trained, professional and spoke good English. Best macaroons ever! were left in the room when they came to turn down the beds. They helped arrange for (very reasonably priced) day trips and guides, airport transfers etc. The rest of the city is a quick walk/cheap tuktuk ride away, though the food in the restaurant was excellent as well.

Good value for money, and good to know that a portion of their profits go towards the attached school for the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank _singap0regirl_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

My son and I stayed at the Shinta Mani early in June of 2007 and came away with a deep respect for this hotel and their staff. The hotel itself was being renovated at the time (it has now been completed) so there was some noise, but the staff was very gracious and we were moved to an upgraded room which was both quiet and enjoyable. The hotel is clean, the restaurant very good and the amenities, like the cool towel mentioned in other reviews and complimentary fruit, very welcome. The pool is inviting, though not deep enough for diving or long enough for much exercise, so expect to use it for cooling and lounging. They also have a spa just off the pool area which looked inviting but we didn't use. The hotel is located in a quiet area but is within easy walking distance of the market/restaurant section of Siem Reap.

The Shinta Mani is a very good value hotel but what sets it apart is their excellent outreach program to the community. For those of you who would like to travel with a sensibility that both accommodates and reaches beyond your own needs, I would urge you to look into this hotel. The hotel supports a Hospitality Center which teaches at-risk youth to become chefs. They also have outreach programs to the local villages through which you can directly help a family with donations like a well for clean water, a bike for children to get to school, a pair of breeding pigs to help them create a sustainable business and even a house. All of these donation options are very inexpensive by Western standards. During your stay you can travel with a representative from the hotel to the village to see your donation in action. My son and I did this, and I can say that it was one of the most memorable parts of our five week travel throughout SE Asia.

I would suggest that you set aside two or three days to tour the spectacular Angkor Wat archeological sites. (A three day pass costs the same as two individual days and transportation can be arranged through the hotel.) Then, do take the time to see and support the beautiful Khmer people in the countryside. You can enjoy your vacation and make a positive contribution which will continue long after you have returned home to tell your stories. We came away with a personal feeling for the staff of this hotel and for the Cambodian people.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allengeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

Our Shinta Mani Hotel experience was a truly memorable one. The hotel portion of the stay was great with excellent cooked to order breakfasts in the restaurant, a very spacious room and friendly attentive staff. There were renovations going on at the hotel but we were forewarned by email prior to arrival. We were able to view a couple of the new rooms and they are beautiful. Next season's guests will be very lucky. The only fault we could have with the room was our stained bathtub. The original tubs were made with a porous material that picked up the water color. I am sure this problem will be corrected when the renovations are completed.One of the nice touches from the hotel are the ice cold towels that the smiling staff distributes every time you return from your sweltering day of touring the temples. The aspect that sets this hotel above the rest is how it allows its guests to get involved with the community. Being a tourist and seeing the sights is great, but, for our family, the people experiences make the trip. The Shinta Mani Hotel, through their community support program, (more info the Hotel website), allowed us meet farm village families and help make a difference in their lives. We contributed funds in advance for drinking wells, bicycles and school supplies for farm villagers and students. The hotel arranged everything and escorted us to the recipient village to see our contributions in action. The experience was heartwarming to our family and especially eye opening to our young children to see first hand how we can all help each other.Keep up the great work Shinta Mani!Craig and Annette, Kalaheo, Hawaii USA-------------

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kalaheo_Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed at the Shinta Mani in 2006, and fell in love with the fantastic service and brilliant staff. The spa treatments here are some of the best in Asia.

Unfortunately, we arrived in early June of 2007 for our second visit, the hotel was shrouded in scaffolding, and the air reeked with the smell of fresh paint. Our rooms were not ready ... not because they weren't clean, but simply because they were not assembled yet. Beds were stacked in the halls. The whine of compressors and jackhammers was so loud, we could not hear ourselves talk in the lobby.

The staff was apologetic and offered free spa treatments and meals as compensation, but it was clear that this small hotel should have closed down during renovations of this scope. We were very sad to do so, but we left immediately and sought refuge at another hotel.

Before making reservations here, please make sure construction and renovations have ended. If they have, I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay at the Shinta Mani.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank MadeByMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Had the best experience at this hotel, booked 1 night initially and stayed and extra 2. The staff were so polite and friendly and were always smiling.
It was so relaxing and we had a fabulous room, so comfortable with gorgeous feather pillows and duvets and with a great bathroom.
A fabulous pool to cool down after a morning at the temples, and a great adjoining spa for a pamper too.
Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CurlyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

I booked two family rooms at the Shinta Mani via their website, where they had a very good deal that came with breakfast, temple tours, a dinner, and transfers. Such great value!

Considering the size of this hotel, it felt like staying in a huge mansion where everyone knew your name. The staff were so friendly and fixed everything for us, from our itinerary to our spa treatments.

The rooms were huge, clean and nicely decorated. My only complaint would be the bathroom tiles which were a bit yellowish, which I suspect was from the rust coming from the local water supply.

The restaurant was superb, serving organic produce only. The spa was likewise a welcome treat!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#11 of 361 in Siem Reap
2,179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#10 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,644 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#2 of 361 in Siem Reap
402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#21 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinta Mani Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Angkor

Address: Oum Khun Street | 14th Street, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia (Formerly Shinta Mani Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $134 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shinta Mani Angkor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinta Mani Angkor is an upscale boutique property in the French Quarter of Siem Reap town. It boasts 39 contemporary designed rooms and public spaces in a European style with Khmer inspiration. This exceptional hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat. Shinta Mani Angkor, with a culture of Open Doors, Open Hearts, reflects its commitment to responsible tourism. The staff hope that during your visit you will open your heart to the beauty of the Kingdom of Cambodia, its gentle people and its fascinating culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shinta Mani Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing