We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK mid range option.. Beware very noisy in road side rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Ranked #63 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK mid range option.. Beware very noisy in road side rooms!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights ( actually checked out early due to noise at night....dogs fighting and monks chanting - there is a Wat right across the road) our room was a family room which had a good layout. It faced the street. The house keeping was excellent. The drain in the bathroom as you entered the room smelt very bad...we suspect it dries out so the 'S' bend in the plumbing does not do its job properly. My husband flushed some water down there and it seemed to help...not nice to open the door after a day out to that smell.

The breakfast was a little lack lustre. Limited choices. Crepes great though! The pool area is shady which made the water a little cooler which we liked. The pool is small and could do with emptying and good scrub of the tiles as algae was growing on the grouting.

The place felt a little 'tired'. If this was your first trip to Cambodia I'm sure you would think it was a great place to stay. We wouldn't stay again....there are many other boutique hotels to choose from!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank queenminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So DOH M, Manager at Pavillon Indochine Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review feedback about your stay. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable and did not meet your expectation.

We took good note of all the comments you have mentioned and thank for the positive one regarding our housekeeping services. Regarding then negatives points (especially our bathroom drain) please be sure that we are taking them seriously and we are working hard at the moment to solve them so we can improve our hotel’s standard and services.

However we would like to clarify some points and give some explanation. We are very surprised because none of our family suites are located close to the street. However it is true that sometimes there are some group of dogs around the area of the hotel and they may create some inconvenience during short time while they start to bark. There are plenty of dogs in Cambodia and most of them are not care by their owners so they just live in the street. This situation does not happen only in our area but everywhere in Siem Reap and I must say in Cambodia. The noise of the dogs can be heard (usually at 5am) in one of our family room and we have now, after your visit, succeed to change all the windows, so now it should not be a problem anymore if the windows remain closed during the night.

Regarding the pagoda issue we are a bit surprise about your comment about it because it did not have any celebration the all month of January so it was not possible to hear the monks chanting during your stay. This pagoda is generally very quiet.

The morning you left we did asked you if you enjoyed your stay with us and what was the reason you were checking out earlier than planned. You told us that everything was fine and you were only checking out earlier due to the fact that you had made a booking in another hotel and were afraid to be charge if you did not show there. Then we understood the situation and did not charge you the last night that you cancelled at the last minute.

Concerning the breakfast, we are trying our best to please all our guests from all over the world. We even have Vegemite and peanuts butter but I hope you will easily understand that we cannot offer the same breakfast that you found in 4 or 5 stars hotels.

We would like to take the opportunity to ask our future clients to report us immediately if you have any issue during your stay. We always try our best to ensure a perfect stay for our clients and we do believe it is better for a hotel to be informed immediately so that our clients do not feel frustrated or unhappy during their holidays.

Once again thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your stay and we hope to have the pleasure to hosting you again in the future.

Warm regards from Angkor,

DOH So
Pavillon Indochine manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    182
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
218
241
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recently stayed at this delightful small hotel with my elderly but fit father, in a Bungalow Suite, and it couldn't have been more perfect. The room was large, with 2 QS beds, a generous size bathroom with a great rain shower and a verandah, plus a small sitting space with TV and plenty of storage for clothes. The free wifi worked well in the public areas, the room and gardens and the tranquil swimming pool was a great way to cool off at the end of a hot and dusty day touring the wonderful temples of Angkor. The location on the outskirts of the town is very quiet but the town is also easily accessible. We opted for a package with a car and driver for 4 days, so getting about was easy and the car was new and in good condition. When we wanted to go into the town for dinner, it was easily arranged and our driver took us and brought us back. We went one night to a dinner/show the hotel recommends and it was a classy, small venue with good food and traditional entertainment. Breakfast is included and although simple was all you could wish for. We ate in the restaurant quite a few times and found the food to always be fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. Included in the package was a 1 hr massage in their own tranquil spa area. My father had his first ever massage and gave it a big thumbs up - I went back twice more! The staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful and I will return to this hotel on my next visit and will definitely recommend it to others. It's refreshing to find a hotel that is not trying to gouge more money from you at every turn! Thank you Pavillon Indochine!

Room Tip: The Bungalow Suite is well worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We really appreciated this hotel's proximity to the temples and its quiet location away from the noise of the main drag. Our tuk-tuk driver (his service included in the price of the room when booked directly) was great, supplying us with cold waters from a cooler, etc, and the hotel personnel were able to arrange us a terrific guide on short notice during the busy season. They also were able to make and alter other arrangements for us as the need arose - their experience was much appreciated.The breakfast was fine and the dinner options very reasonably priced and tasty enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during the busy holiday week and with our 22 year old daughter. We stayed in 2 ground floor poolside rooms, which were large and bright. The bathrooms are new and beautiful. All of their restaurant, guide and driver recommendations are sincere and 5-star. This is very important, because many of the hotels in SE Asia recommend their family or friends' restauran,t instead of truly great one. Not the case at Pavillion Indochine.
We reserved the hotel directly on their site where you will see lots of options for packages, tours,etc. We pre-booked a driver and an English-speaking guide. We were greeted by our guide, So Thik, on Christmas morning. He showed us the temples and a floating village for 2 days. He is extremely knowledgeable, speaks great English, and was born and raised in Siem Reap. He was enthusiastic and proud of his country and heritage. He really worked to make our visit to the temples and floating village fabulous.
After our tours, we returned to our perfectly clean rooms, and enjoyed the pool after a hot day. Many nights we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. They have a small menu, but everything on the menu is reasonably priced and perfectly prepared; the outdoor environment is tranquil.
One night we opted to have dinner out, and the staff recommended Mie Cafe for dinner. It is a few blocks from the hotel, on a residential street; not downtown. The hotel owner obviously frequents many local restaurants and rates them himself, so his suggestions are accurate and direct. The dinner was fabulous.
Overall, this hotel had everything we needed, and more, and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 deluxe doubles (traveling with our adult daughter) on the ground floor and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pphips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Location: Located at a non-walking distance from the center of the city where the Old Market, Pub Street, and Night Market are. However, it is a 2 USD tuk tuk ride away.

Staff: Very nice, however in regards to housekeeping, there were times that the soap and other toiletries were not replaced.

Rooms: Family Suite number 2, where we stayed, was incredibly uncomfortable. Unlike what is shown in the pictures, the room is incredibly dark, without a phone, some of the bed nets had holes in them, the TV is old-dated, and so is the bathroom.

Breakfast: The breakfast had a good spread, but it would be better if they included soy milk and cheese. They offer pancakes, but beware that they are more like crepes.

Overall, the hotel meets all the points if you were to stay at a suite different than the one we stayed at. It would be a plus if they could use different techniques to make the hotel brighter, since even in broad daylight it is very dim.

Room Tip: Do not choose Family Suite number 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NofSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So DOH M, Manager at Pavillon Indochine Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Positive or negative it is always very helpful for us to get feedback from our clients because it help us to improve or maintain the quality of our services.
As it is mentioned in our website we are not in the center town but we are the nearest hotel to Angkor Wat which can be convenient as there is now a lot of traffic Jam in Siem Reap city.

The town became very noisy at night and our area is more quiet. Nevertheless, if you book through our website directly we offer the transportation to town and to visit the temples for free. This service is available from sunrise to 10pm. Sorry we cannot offer this service if you book with other companies.

Pictures taken in our website are the pictures of the family 2, the one you stayed in and there are three windows. Perception of light is a very subjective matter. We have flat screen TV in all the rooms except in 2 rooms as we can see on the picture of our website. The day after we have read your review we went to buy two more flat screen and now all our rooms are equipped with this kind of TV. Thanks to you, the mosquito net have been replaced as well.

Concerning the breakfast, we try the best to please all our guests from all over the world. We even have Vegemite and peanuts butter but I hope you will easily understand that we cannot offer the same breakfast that you found in 4 or 5 stars hotels.

We clearly mention in our menu “french pancakes” as well as "crepe". Usually people knows the difference... We decide to do french pancake because it is home made as we do not like the chemical powder that is usually used to do the industrial pancake.

Overall we are glad to read that our hotel “meets all the points” and you can be sure that we always try to improve those points.

Once again thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your stay and we hope to have the pleasure to hosting you again in the future.

Warm regards from Angkor,

DOH So
Pavillon Indochine manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights,and it was such a lovely stay. Our room was spacious,clean,free bottles of water that were restocked everyday.It was only a 5 minute tuk tuk drive to Angkor Wat.We were assigned a tuk tuk driver for our whole stay there,Mr. Nhean. We would tell him where we wanted to go or what did we want to see, and he made suggestions which we were thankful in the end we agreed. We got to see everything that we wanted to see.We invited Mr. Nhean for lunch or dinner with us for the 3days that we were there. That was our way of thanking him for being an honest good man.

The food in the restaurant was superb! Their chicken and fish amok were my favourites.Breakfast was sufficient and you can request for eggs and bacon in addition for free.The staff were very courteous and friendly, always eager to help.We didn't get the chance to use the swimming pool but it was clean and the plants made the place cooler and beautiful.

Would stay here again if back in Siem Reap.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Betsy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

arrived by taxi organised by hotel after a very comical visa and immigration procedure, 22 men and women in full dress uniform processing visa applications. visa application form, passport and cash in at one end and passport and visa out the other. Job creation at its finest. Then to hotel, arrived in a peaceful lane off a main road to the secluded and peaceful Pavillon. A very pleasant check in by the hotel manager and his staff to a large and nicely furnished room, outside every room across the walkway is a private sitting area with table and cane armchairs overlooking the pool. We had booked a room directly with hotel and for a very small increase in price in comparison to one of the internet booking agencies we had our own personal tuk tuk and driver from dawn til 10 pm. this is an amazing bonus to be able to rely on a driver who you knew you could trust. Breakfast at the hotel was equally as calm as the hotel itself, no massive buffet room but a small selection of bread, croissants, pastries, fruit home made jams, yoghurt and freshly cooked bacon and eggs to order Perfect! In fact our whole stay was perfect, had I not prebooked the rest of our holiday we would have loved to have extended our stay. We had not been to Cambodia before and were a little unsure of what to expect but our short stay in Siem Reap before moving on to Phnom Penh has convinced us that we shall be returning to sample the rest of the country and its beach resorts.
top marks to the owners, management and staff of the Pavillon for a great stay at an exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: think they are all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
#60 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nita by Vo
Nita by Vo
#22 of 356 in Siem Reap
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
HanumanAlaya Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#160 of 356 in Siem Reap
39 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#49 of 356 in Siem Reap
625 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#41 of 356 in Siem Reap
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon Indochine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Indochine Hotel

Property: Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Address: Jean Commailles Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#34 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pavillon Indochine Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavillon Indochine Boutique - Hotel is located in Siem Reap, 4 km from the famous Angkor Wat. Featuring oriental furnishings, the hotel offers free parking and free Wi-Fi access throughout the property.Boutique Pavillon Indochine is a convenient 5-minute drive to the lively Pub Street and Angkor Night Market. Siem Reap International Airport is just a 15-minute drive away.The spacious rooms at Indochine Pavillon are fitted with wooden flooring and traditional French Khmer-style décor. A flat-screen cable TV and tea/coffee making facilities are provided. Each room has a safe and private bathroom with bath amenities and hot shower.Day trips or tour sightseeing can be organized at the front desk, which also offers ticket service. They can also assist with car rentals. To relax, guests can take a leisurely swim at the outdoor pool, have an aromatic massage or visit the internet cafe.Mekong, the hotel’s open air restaurant, serves a variety of Asian and Cambodian cuisine. Meals and drinks can also be enjoyed at the terrace of the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavillon Indochine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Indochine Siem Reap
Hotel Pavillon Indochine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing