We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treasure ..........” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chanrey Tree

Chanrey Tree
Ranked #47 of 844 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A fine khmer food and contemporary setting. In door with air conditioning, out door open space with tropical garden sitting. Welcome to family with children, couple, individual, group for any special occasion, private dinning, entertainment client or romantic dinner.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a treasure ..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This unassuming little restaurant in a suburban street was a find! The dishes were really interesting and absolutely delicious! My only regret was that I couldn't manage to fit in a dessert. If you are in Siem Reap, you simply must experience Chanrey Tree.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarnettFamily62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,493
    639
    168
    40
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cambodian specialties done to perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I came here on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. The menu has the usual Cambodian offers, such as Amok, Green Papaya Salad, Lok Lak, but is also full of dishes I'd never heard of before - Char Khroeun, Prahok Ktish and Bok Svay, just to name a few. We had Crispy Rice with Natang Sauce (minced pork, shrimp, peanut and frangipani flower eaten with the rice crackers), Seafood with Pineapple Salad, Char Khroeung (stir-fried fish with khmer spices) and Prahok Ktish (fermented fish paste, pork, river fish, coconut cream and baby eggplant). All was new, delicious, in a contemporary presentation. Dessert was sticky rice with tropical fruit. The decor is tasteful, the service very attentative, especially Mr. Vantha who was, I believe, the restaurant's host. It's among the more expensive restaurants I ate at in Siem Reap but also one of the best. At €24 per person, 10% tip included, it was well worth it. Highly recommended. My only criticism is that the service was, perhaps, excessively attentive, filling our glasses every other minute and checking to see if everything was ok every 5. But better a bit too much attention than none at all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful setting and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were told about Chanrey Tree from our hotel and it certainly didn't disappoint. In a beautiful setting we were guided through the menu and given some top tips by the staff. The Loc Lak and fresh rice paper rolls were fantastic. Fairly upmarket restaurant, but the food and staff in particular were fantastic. Or khun cherun

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GregorGja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent place to go, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

One of the most charming restaurant in Siem Reap. Goof authentic food, nice and clean place. And the best waiters of the city ! polite, sympathic, smiling, the waiter VANTHA could easily be the manager as he is so well organized and nice with customers.
i really strongly recommand this place

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nico68850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
277 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Perfect start in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The quality of the kitchen is almost unreal if you look at their prices. We had a great meal, staff was very kind and really helpful to make a choice from the Khmer dishes. The atmosphere is excellent. Mixture of Cambodjans, tourist and expats. Also good for our children of 12 and 16. They really enjoyed what their food. Thanks to a guy from Devon, who compared this to another restaurant. We were planning for the other restaurant....but changed after having read his comments.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chanrey Tree also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Chanrey Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing