We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in stylish restaurant”
Review of Chanrey Tree

Chanrey Tree
Ranked #51 of 879 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A fine khmer food and contemporary setting. In door with air conditioning, out door open space with tropical garden sitting. Welcome to family with children, couple, individual, group for any special occasion, private dinning, entertainment client or romantic dinner.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food in stylish restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a good meal out in the courtyard. The service was efficient, attentive and delightful. The fresh spring rolls were excellent and the crispy rice starter the same. Mains were good but wine a little pricey. We stuck with cocktails. A nice place to eat in a good location.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Wils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,598
    682
    178
    45
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Delightful Place”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Artfully designed and wonderful food. The outdoor seating is magical in the evening. I had dinner twice during the week I was in Siem Reap. I liked the front courtyard better than the back. The food was exceptional -- well-prepared, beautifully presented and actually authentic, according to a local Cambodian friend who dined with me. I really liked the frog Char Khroeung. Surprisingly decent wine list too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Local Gem - Must Try!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We went to Chanrey Tree for lunch. Delicious! The spring rolls and crispy sticky rice were excellent. The Seafood with Kampot Pepper is a must try! Service was warm and attentive. We would go back in a heart beat!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johmyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best food on the trip so far”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Had spent 5 days in Bangkok and had enjoyed the food, but sometimes felt the chilli factor masked some of the tastes or everything was deep fried.....
What a change to experience Cambodian food.
Starters were shared between all 4 of us, spring rolls, crispy rice with peanut dip.
mains didn't disappoint with Fish amok curry,steamed fish, plenty of vegetables in the dishes too. Our daring son even went for the grilled, stuffed frog.
If this is Khmer food, can't wait to try more.
Service was helpful and prompt too, we were made to feel very welcome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, great decor, great staff”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had dinner here after watching the show Phares, so it is kind of late. Overall the food was great, given the décor, we expected the price to be on the higher side. They have a few Khmer dishes that I didn't see in other Cambodia restaurant. Quite unique.

Decor wise, I think Chanrey Tree one of the fancier one, great lighting, comfy chair and open kitchen design etc. The only thing that bugged us a bit is we have a few bugs that landed on our plates while we were enjoying the good food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xonia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chanrey Tree also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Chanrey Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing