We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Worth a Visit - Best Meal in Siem Reap”
Review of Chanrey Tree

Chanrey Tree
Ranked #51 of 879 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A fine khmer food and contemporary setting. In door with air conditioning, out door open space with tropical garden sitting. Welcome to family with children, couple, individual, group for any special occasion, private dinning, entertainment client or romantic dinner.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit - Best Meal in Siem Reap”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

You will not regret coming here for dinner! One of the best meals we had in Cambodia altogether hands down. Like other reviews, staff is friendly and professional, atmosphere is relaxing, restaurant is clean with modern décor, and food was amazing! Cocktail drinks were made correctly (western style) and were delicious. We ordered fresh spring rolls, mango salad, roasted chicken and Lok Lak and all were exceptional. This is the best fine dine restaurant in Siem Reap and the best part, it will cost you about $25 for all that I've listed above. Make reservations. And, it's walking distance to Pub Street too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbles822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,598
    682
    178
    45
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Avoid being robbed”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I am not sure on where the other reviewers have been eating in the region and back at home given the fact that I truly do not understand how/why they have been rating this restaurant so highly

Yes there is a nice ambience in comparison with the usual local offer and yes the food is nicely presented (hence my 2 star rating) but it does end here.

I tried 5 different dishes. Paid 4 to 10 times what you would pay in other local decent/good restaurants in town and cannot surely say that the food tasted better or that I will remember anything of my dinner tomorrow.

Definetly not worth the money or the walk there. This is based on 3 weeks already spent in the region and 20 years around the word experiencing from street food to top 10 restaurants in the word

So if you do like being robbed please help yourself and enjoy the 10% service charge (Very unusual locally!!) on top of the food cost.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WWTAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soann k, Owner at Chanrey Tree, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Greeting ! We always warmly welcome to suggestions that may improve our guests experience. We are pleased you found our restaurant nice ambiance and presentation.

Thank you for being here as our guest and taking your time sharing honest feedback. i am regret to heard that our food and service did not meet up to your expectation but our review are 100% true and not fake, majority our guest are totally satisfy with what they've received.

Your might found us pricer to a very local restaurant, we do not compare ourself with anybody but we do have our clear concept, we are lucky enough to have a very great local chef with years experience with hotel hospitality, our kitchen and restaurant facility are up to hight-end standard, our team are purely cambodian who educated by in house and international teacher in service industry with unique setting.

i am very happy that every customer who support local business community, i am sure it is unusual for cambodian standard who top up to 10% service charge but the price goest 100% sure to team to have a better living life.

One more time, thanks for bringing this to our attention, we are sure many guests in the future will benefit from your honest feedback, we promise to do our best to improve ourself.

We look forward to welcome you when you will be visiting Siem Reap the next time.

Yours faithfully.

Kann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“incredible food and service”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We visit this place based on Tripadvisor reviews and we felt good with that choice.
Our first impression is the great setting and decor.
We tried several dishes and all of them are excellent, both presentation and flavor.
The waiter is so attentive and helpful. He explained the food clearly and suggested wine matching with our course.
One high light is that the toilet is very clean with fresh flowers.
Highly recommended!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taylor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best meal ever”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Location: Was relatively easy to find
Atmosphere: Very classy
Staff: very professional and caring
Food: omg...where do I begin. We went on a rainy day and the power went out...bad luck. We thought... we shouldn't expect much...since the kitchen doesn't have power...
but it was way beyond our expectation!
it's Fine dinning in Siem Reap, our bill came to $25 ish

I wish we could come one more time...but too bad...too bad

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highest Recommendation ”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Trip advisor has changed the way that hotels and restaurants do business and this place testifies as to this. The staff are exceptional delivering possibly the best table service we received in Cambodia. The meals were exceptional and the cocktails above standard. Our favourite meal of Siem Reap if not Cambodia. A definite must when visiting Siem Reap.

Helpful?
Thank HungryTablelanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chanrey Tree also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Chanrey Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing