We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dinner in Siem Reap”
Review of Chanrey Tree

Chanrey Tree
Ranked #52 of 877 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A fine khmer food and contemporary setting. In door with air conditioning, out door open space with tropical garden sitting. Welcome to family with children, couple, individual, group for any special occasion, private dinning, entertainment client or romantic dinner.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Dinner in Siem Reap”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had dinner at Chanrey Tree three weeks ago when we just started our vacation in Cambodia and Vietnam. The beautiful setting, the attentiveness of the staff and foremost the quality of our dishes made this evening very rememberable! We enjoyed Crispy Sticky Rice with "Natang" Sauce and chose main dishes from their specialty menu. The food was fresh and tastefully presented on our plates. It was a delicious evening and we highly recommend this place for those who are looking for a classy meal in a beautiful setting!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristaEH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,575
    676
    175
    44
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Went there on Tripadvisor recommendations and wow! Great setting, very attentive and knowledgeable staff, a good wine list and the food was sensational - beautifully presented and full of flavour. Will definitely go again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Siem Reap”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

As regular Thailand holiday makers it was our first time to Cambodia we had been disappointed with most meals, cuisine lacked spice and meats were mostly tough. Que the Chenrey Tree, our faith is restored; local food can taste great we had Lok Lak and seafood Amok they were packed with flavour and finally we got to taste that peppercorn power we read about. We paid double the price than 'pub st.' Restaurants but setting and flavour was worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack55555Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and phenomenal food”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went for a relatively early dinner around 6:45/7 and was saddened to see this restaurant was empty after calling ahead to make reservations. I like people watching when I'm at dinner, so the lack of people was kind of a turn off.

Cut to hostess and waiters ushering us in, calling us by name personally and showing us to the back area where the gardens and tealights are simply adorable mixed with the modern architecture.

The wine list offered some great options and the variety on the dinner menu made it hard to decide. I opted for the 'Steamed Sand Goby Fish' (I had NO idea what it was but steamed+fish sounded good for a relatively healthy and light dinner) and my dining partner chose the special Khmer Beef Filet (albeit a bit worried because her stomach has been upset a few times during this trip).

The meal, paired with a glass of the Cab Sauvignon, was absolutely outstanding. The presentation was really interesting - the fish was steamed, cut into three pieces and then wrapped around a bundle of ginger, enoki mushrooms and greens. It was served with three large portobello mushrooms sauteed in ginger as well. The fish was super tender and literally fell apart when I touched it with my fork. The ginger flavor was pronounced - which is the way I like it.

My dining partner similarly loved her dish. Both were the perfect size for a sizable, but not hefty, dinner and a server came around to offer us rice with the meal, which was great because we got to determine how much we wanted.

Overall, the food and the staff were excellent. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tierney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Astounding service”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Writing this review brings back wonderful memories of dining here in the middle of September. The manager welcomed us with the most beautiful and genuine smile and ensured our evening was a pleasure from the moment we arrived until our departure. All of the staff provided a very special service and we would definitely return just to enjoy their fine company and elegant outdoor surroundings. However, the food is also wonderful and I would strongly recommend you experience the fine Khmer cuisine for yourself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soann k, Owner at Chanrey Tree, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Greeting ! thank you very much for taking your time to write us review, we are glad to know that you had a great memories dinning with us. a good welcoming by manager and great service from staff and wonderful food.

The team would like to wish you all the best and have a nice day.

Your faithfully.

Kann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chanrey Tree also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Chanrey Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing