We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place for homesick Aussies or brunch lovers.”
Review of The Hive

The Hive
Ranked #79 of 956 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Known for its superb coffee and a distinctly inner city vibe, The Hive is a bustling social hub for expats and tourists alike. Since its conception in 2013, this Australian owned, locally managed cafe has cemented itself as Siem Reap favourite. If you're a coffee lover, a brunch goer, a juice detoxer, or simply looking for a touch of home, The Hive awaits.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Before even hearing the owner speak, I knew this place had to be run by Aussies after our drinks and meals arrived. THIS PLACE DOES AMAZING BRUNCH! And really great coffee, probably the best I've had in Asia. I had the Kortu Rotti (which rivalled what I ate in Sri Lanka) and the Rough Morning Cure. DELICIOUS. Really friendly service, the staff spoke excellent English and the music they had playing was top notch.

Would definitely recommend this place, to anyone looking for a flavoursome meal and awesome vibe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sarahdouglas92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton J, Owner at The Hive, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Hi Sarah,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our cafe. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and your brunch! I share our reviews with our staff and they'll be happy to know you thought highly of their food, coffee, and English! Personally, I'm happy you liked my music selection!

Again, thanks for taking the time to recommend us. We really appreciate it! Enjoy your trip and see you next time!

The Hive Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 318 of 415 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great coffee at a Reasonable price. It's just off the hustle and bustle of pub street. The staff were friendly, I will definitely return.

Thank EBrennan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton J, Owner at The Hive, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Hi, thanks for taking the time to drop us a review! So glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!

The Hive Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A terrific array of drinks, top-notch food (the grilled veg salad is to die for, and the 'rough morning cure' does exactly what it says on the tin), and friendly, welcoming staff. What's not to love?

Thank rmoo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton J, Owner at The Hive, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Hive! It's always great to get positive feedback, we're glad you enjoy our drinks and consider our food "Top Notch"! Our staff always try to provide a friendly welcoming environment, they'll be glad to know you agree.
Again, thanks for taking the time to drop us a review.

The Hive Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place is great for a breakfast, lunch, brunch, dinner, some quick drink or slow Sunday morning. Coffee lovers will definitely do justice to this place. The coffee is just great, especcially in combination with carrot cake. trust me, I know what i'm talking about :)
The food is very very good, my favoirites are Caesar Wrap and Salmon on Rye Bread.
They also have choices of vegetarian food. And a lot of delicious and healthy smoothies and juices.
This place is either good if you are visiting for a shortwhile (you will enjoy good western food and have a nice chat with owners Clayton and Abbie, who can help you with useful tips) or if you are new in town - you will meet a lot of nice and interesting expats each time when you will come there.
Anyway, you will never understand untill you'll try it yourself. So just go there, but remember about carrot cake

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Viberslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hidden slightly off the beaten tourist path this place offers a cool hide-away from the heat, great selection of food, coffees and healthy shakes. The carrot cake is to die for! In the Hive you will come across a healthy mixture of visitors as well as those who are settled in Siem Reap and the staff is always friendly and welcoming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hive also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Hive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing