We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Hotel In Cambodia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #40 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Borei is absolutely our favorite place to stay in Siem Reap - the food, the facility and the personal heart of everyone on the staff. After our last visit we flew to Vietnam for a another week, but after 2 days in Ho Chi Minh City flew right back to Siem Reap and checked back into the Borei.
Arriving at the airport we were greeted by friendly, well-dressed staff from the hotel that offered us cold towels, bottled water and Khmer snacks for the drive to the hotel.

Location - One of the common complaints about this facility is its distance from town – something which the hotel of course cannot change. For us it was never a problem, quick 5 minute $2 tuk tuk rides into town and back – and the hotel makes certain there are ALWAYS tuks tuks there when you need them. All the driver sin town also know the Borei, so there was never any problem getting home either. Plus, if you get up early and walk the hotel road away from the direction of Pub Street you can find all sorts of greet local shops – I even found a guitar store within 2 minutes of the hotel and a small convenience store we frequented everyday to buy beer and soda for our refrigerator.

Check-in - Check-in was in a large waiting area (due to some construction) and we were greeted by the hotel manager, the “butler” assigned to us for our floor and friendly cashiers explaining the various costs. There was a bit of a sell for the various tours we could take, the spa, etc., but that’s the business they are in.

Food - Breakfast was amazing! I am a big fan of crepes and every morning had 4-5 with jams, sugars, etc. So many choices of meats, fruit, etc. The rest of the food – snacks, lunch, etc was good too, but most of our meals were eaten on Pub Street - the town’s central nightlife.

Staff - The best part of Borei is the staff. Everyone was friendly respectful, helpful, courteous and genuinely charming. We always felt welcomed, we always felt well-treated and we never had a need that went unmet.

Drive Staff - The hotel has a staff tuk tuk driver Mr. Smey who wears a Viper helmet and drives Tuk Tuk #5. He was great in every way. He took us to a very local place for $5 foot massages, for a leisurely drive in the country (we wanted a day without temples and tourist sites), and even joined us for a great lunch. We learned about his family and about Khmer culture.

Tour Staff - The tour staff was exceptional as well, especially Mr. Watoh (sp?) who took us for 2 days to the temples of Angkor Wat, the Tonle Sap, etc. He was personal and more than anything we learned about Khmer culture through his personal stories of his family and his village. Alex arranged everything and even helped us with some local shopping for medicine we needed.

Rooms - We stayed on the top floor which has a First Class lounge, its own floor butler and private tour-arranging desk. Every night we enjoyed a cocktail and some snacks up top and talked with the friendly wait staff that even helped me learn some Khmer words and presented me with a list of useful phrases they had written out by hand for me. The room we had (I suspect one of the best rooms) had strong A/C and worked except when Cambodia has its regular power outages. The internet was also more regular and strong than most places around Cambodia – thank you Borei – but for those not familiar with Cambodia it will drive you crazy. We even had a bathtub out on the balcony (filled with flower petals) overlooking the pool – how great is an outdoor early morning bath…

Pool - The pool was expansive, clean and fresh. Nice snacks and drinks at pool side and comfortable chairs and towels all around.

Spa – having lived in Asia for a number of years we are used to massages, but the feel of the spa at Borei was special and the women who provided our treatments were excellent, personable and courteous. Good value for the massages as well.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the Borei than you are not on a tight budget, so splurge and get something on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,465 - 3,471 of 5,401 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at Borei with my friend on an extended holiday. Was originally going to only stay for two nights, but liked it so much, we ended up staying for over a week!

The facilities here are absolutely superb. Pool, breakfast, spa, are all top notch.

However, what seperates the Borei from other palces I've stayed are the people. Most notably, receptionists Jasmine and Narin. They will go out of their way to ensure that all guests are treated fairly and have the best possible experience in Siem Reap.

I would very highly recommend this hotel to any person traveling.

-Mr. Daniel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fuermadw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had this gentleman named Dawind and he was amazing. Great pool. Great drinks. Breakfast is really good well. Overall recommended. only downside is the resort addons are priced like being at a resort. The tours etc could be found for cheaper in the town but the service we paid for was there.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GallavantingDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice, big hotel with super friendly staff. We were upgraded to the suite on the privilege floor when we checked in, which was very nice. The room is spacious, and it has a large balcony with a swing bed to enjoy the sunset (maybe?). However it was too hot outside we never really used the balcony.

During our stay we had a "personal assistant", Wattana. He was very nice and always made sure we were enjoying ourselves and had whatever we needed in our room whenever he saw us. Also on our first night, upon my request, he was able to make dinner reservations for us with only a couple of hours' notice.

The privilege floor was nicely decorated. They have their own lounge so the guests here can enjoy a more private atmosphere (rather than sharing the facility with the rest of hotel). However the breakfast buffet here was much more limited we ended up having breakfast at the main Cafe on the ground floor anyway.

Tropicana bar by the pool was nice. Drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel like this ($3-5/drink), especially with happy hour specials (50% wine, beers, juices, and CERTAIN cocktails). We notice they were often understaffed and were not so sure of what cocktails were included in the happy hour specials. They normally only had 1 bartender and 1 waiter when we were there. Our drinks took a while and so did other small stuff we asked for (menus, bills, ashtrays...). Oh and they do have a live band (2 people) there for entertainment.

We did not use the spa services so no comment there. However we did take a tour and it looked beautiful.

The construction did not make too much noise. It did very much disturb my afternoon nap on our last day.

Free wifi, but the signal was weak in our room on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uyenlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hang S, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Ms. Uyenlam,

A very warm greeting from Cambodia, from all of us at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa!

Thank you for choosing our beautiful resort to be your address while visiting Siem Reap, and exploring the Angkor complex. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed Ta Prom temple visit by yourself. You are absolutely right, the temple was featured in the "Tomb Raider".

March and April could be very hot, and it is supposed to be the hottest month of the year if I may point out. The best time of the year could be during the festive season till end February in which you may enjoy the seasonal breeze - to us, as the Cambodian, that may consider our winter; and it is generally about 24 C.
I am sorry to ready that you have not been able to enjoy the private balcony due to the sunny and hot weather. For your kind information, we do provide a standing fan upon request, should any residents think weather is hot.

Breakfast at Privilege Floor is not fully displayed due to the nature of our private service. A part from the displayed food items, juices, sparkling wine, pastries, fresh fruit cut, cold platters, and selective hot dishes, you may place your orders with our waiting staff. There are a lot more to explore from our kitchen. However, I am glad to read that you have enjoyed the good selection of buffet breakfast at Borei Cafe, our main restaurant.

Thank you for the constructive feedback regarding about the staffing at the pool bar which resulted in the delay of your drink service at times. We shall take good care of that.

The construction is almost over, and on behalf of the entire team, we are sorry that it did disturb your afternoon nape while you were here.

Once again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to be at your service when visiting the kingdom of wonder. We look for the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Very best,
Nara Thon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed @ this hotel the beginning of March 2013 and yes they are renovating but they have taken all measures to make sure there clients have very little inconvenience. The reception arrival is not as glamorous as one would like but the warmth of the helpful staff makes up for it. We had booked the Borei suite which will be stunning once the renovations are done...a large, beautiful room and a huge terrace but at the moment all you see is a mess. Jasmine from the front desk was amazing and moved us after one night to to the supreme Borei suite, just as beautiful but just a different style. Jasmine went out of her way to make sure we were happy the rest of our time with them, an amazing lady.The hotel is just out of town but transport is easy and very cheap. We ate breakfast in the hotel and one dinner, the food was stunning.I would most definitely stay her again, I loved it. Jasmine thanks once again for taking such good care of us, you are an amazing lady.

Room Tip: Please spend a little extra on one of the suites it is worth every penny and then make sure you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tess N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great service from the extensive team at the resort. Very comfortable rooms and facilities. The spa is definately worth a visit.....or 3!!! And the prices are resonable if you are lucky enough to score a special. The buffet was fabulous also. Would recommend to all looking for some style and class in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Undergoing renovations, but the staff were helpful in choosing a good room for us with no disturbanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kayis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very comfortable hôtel with very smiling and efficient staff.
breakfast buffet was excellent with lot of choice.
large swimming pool with good service from the staff.
people at the reception very helpfull.
nevertheless cleanliness of the room could be better.
good location .walking distance (15/20mn) from the city center.
i definitely recommand this hôtel.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Acevind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hang S, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Galain,

Thank you so very much for staying with us at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa.
We have had the great pleasure to be at your service.

We have been very delighted to read that you have enjoyed staying with us, and that you have enjoyed the pool, the friendly, helpful and attentive staff, and the good selections of our buffet breakfast.

Same time, we like to thank you for letting us know that our cleaning standards is not up to your expectation yet; and that is the golden opportunity for us to learn from and to improve that.
We will take good care of that to improve what is needed.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our resort in the very near future.

Very best,
Nara Thon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#23 of 374 in Siem Reap
3,787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
1.9 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#35 of 374 in Siem Reap
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borei Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: National Road 6 | Banteay Chas, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $60 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Borei Angkor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa is the one and only most reviewed hotel in Siem Reap Cambodia given by thousands of travelers' reviews on TripAdvisor making Borei Angkor the most popular and chosen hotel to stay in Siem Reap while visiting the UNESCO world heritage site of Angkor Wat. Aptly named after 'a territory of Angkor', Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, a truly Cambodia 5 star hotel in Siem Reap is set right in the center of Siem Reap, ideally situated within 15 minutes drive either from Siem Reap International Airport or to Angkor Wat, and only 5 minutes drive to Siem Reap downtown including Pub Street, shopping malls, Angkor Night Market, local restaurants and bars, and other nearby local attractions in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Borei Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borei Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Borei Angkor Resort And Spa
Borei Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing