We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Leaf Eatery

New Leaf Eatery
Ranked #6 of 35 Coffee & Tea in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: New Leaf serves a taste of Cambodia, sourcing local ingredients and employing only Khmer staff. Our menu comprises Cambodian specialities, together with delightful Western dishes served with a twist of local flavours.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic quaint little restaurant with fantastic food, perhaps the best lunch we had in town. The bookshelves filled with interesting reading were a special touch and the staff were happy to let us stay for as long as we wished.

Helpful?
Thank Siddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
New Leaf thanks you for your support and kind words. Our great team comprises local staff and foreign volunteers, who aim to please and do a fantastic job of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    147
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay as long as you like”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

This spot offers a great menu selection and delivers on fresh! The location is perfect for chilling, with the restaurant opening up to the street. The English book selection is good, and nice to find grouse or buy. There's also a nice small patio up on the second floor, where you'll find the art gallery, one of the many local programs this cafe supports.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
The team at the New Leaf thanks you for your visit, and for sharing the kind words about it with the TripAdvisor community. We hope you have a chance to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Silence cafe of Aussie ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

It is near to the old market and the pizza company. You are not easy to find this place. It is in the small road beside the pizza company. It is really hard to find. The whole shop is western people included the waitress, but I am a Asian people. You will like it.

Helpful?
Thank Weegian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your visit and for letting the TripAdvisor community know that it is worth the effort to find New Leaf. To clarify one point, every Westerner working here is either a volunteer donating their time or one of the founders who donated the money to get the business started. The entire staff are locals who do a wonderful job, from the cleaner to the finance department. We are very lucky to have such a dedicated, talented team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool concept! And excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We loved that this was just steps away from the busier spots - and it provided a nice alternative to the slightly hectic touristy areas. They support some great causes, which was a neat way to get to know more about where we were visiting.

The service was excellent, the food was - by local standards- just a tad more expensive, but in comparison it means so little to the "outside" world equation. But again, that you can support something bigger than you makes it worth it. We really enjoyed the coffees as well!

We came back for breakfast (oh please try grandma's sampler! It was awesome!) and also ended up taking a lunch to go for our templing day. The meals were creative and well thought out - making it a touch different from the "regular" fare that was available in tourist-land. And it was a such a good touch!

Book selection was neat as well. I ended up finding a book from an Armenian author that I tweeted about - and he responded! Globalisation at its best.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kouklata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Happy New Year and thank you so much for your support and kind words. You very eloquently expressed why it is worth a bit more to enjoy top-quality locally-sourced food, especially from an establishment that donates 100% of its profits to charity. The team here are honoured that you consider our enterprise to be a part of globalisation at its best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Leafin on a Prayer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

New Leaf Book Cafe is a great new cafe in Siem Reap that supports many local NGO's in Siem Reap. While the location isn't in the typical tourist area of Pub Street - it's just a short walk from Pub Street that is totally worth it! The food is good and there are lots of options - I got some kind of pumpkin soup and really enjoyed it. The atmosphere is wonderful. Make sure to buy a t-shirt - they are only $5 and are really cute! I actually volunteered at one of the NGOs that they help to support (Cambodian Children's House of Peace) and that's how I found out about New Leaf Cafe. It's a great place to stop and grab a snack/drink and just enjoy the atmosphere. Highly recommend it. The prices are a little higher than the traditional prices in Cambodia but it all goes to wonderful causes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank safarigahry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
The team here at New Leaf wholeheartedly thanks you for your visit, kind words on TripAdvisor and support of CCHP. Your review hits the nail on the head, and I could not have said it better myself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Leaf Eatery also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to New Leaf Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing