We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of New Leaf Eatery

New Leaf Eatery
Ranked #6 of 36 Coffee & Tea in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: New Leaf serves a taste of Cambodia, sourcing local ingredients and employing only Khmer staff. Our menu comprises Cambodian specialities, together with delightful Western dishes served with a twist of local flavours.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very expensive average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast here and were pretty disappointed with the food. We both ordered eggs with bacon and sweet potato fries. The fries tasted like they were cooked the day before, the strange little orange sausages tasted, well, strange! The bacon was one tiny little piece, we actually laughed it was the smallest piece of bacon we've ever seen. My friends scrambled eggs were actually ok but my poached eggs tasted like they had been cooked in a liter of vinegar. I had one mouthful and physically couldn't eat them. The staff were nice enough to remove it from the bill but it was still very expensive for Cambodia and I left still hungry.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabbymilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We thank you for your feedback, and have taken your comments quite seriously. In fact, we have already revamped our menu, with a particular focus on the breakfast portion and striving to maximize value and quality, while still sourcing locally as much as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    149
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful not-for-profit cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This place pretty-much got everything perfect. Friendly staff. Nice design. Large selection of used books. Great menu, for both food and drinks. They use local ingredients in their food as much as possible and even make their own gin. Great sombai flavors as well. Best of all, all their profit goes to local causes. Definitely stop in there if you visit Siem Reap.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hpmatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
The New Leaf Team wholeheartedly thanks you for your glowing review, but we haven't gotten around to making our own gin just yet. The fantastic staff does make tonic water from all-local ingredients, which goes well with the gin that we, unfortunately, currently have to import. Look forward to some gins infused with local ingredients soon though, even if the distillery is still a pipe dream at this point. As a Kentuckian i would love to make Bourbon here someday, and gin would certainly not be a far cry from that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varkala, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When you want to take a break from exploring temples, come here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

If you want to while away a few hours (or more), come here. The cafe has a wide collection of books, which you can even buy if you miss the feel of paper books.

The celery and lime cooler is refreshing and the desserts are sinful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Villa-Akasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We welcome our guests to spend as much time as they choose enjoying our wide selection of food and drinks and browsing (or buying some of...) our thousands of used books. We also have a selection of new books about Cambodia for sale if you would like to share your experiences in this magical place with your friends back home. And we hope to assuage your guilt about our admittedly delicious desserts by reminding you that since we are not-for-profit, your indulgence helped a great many good causes here in Siem Reap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very nice place to spend a morning or afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Friends recommended this place and after going there for coffee we ended up using it maybe 10 times during our 2 weeks in Siem Reap. Its a great place to chill out serving great food and drinks with friendly atmosphere. The management are 2 Brits who devote some of the profits to various charities and employ their staff from youngsters who have left the orphanage that they directly sponsor. We would rather spend our money and know that some of it goes to a good cause.
Also very centrally located in a quiet area close to the old market area, pub street, etc.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximus765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We thank you for your many visits, and hope to make them even more meaningful by pointing out that 100% of our profits go to charity. We work with and support a wide range of local NGOs, all of which are in some way involved in education and building new skills, in addition to all the other great work they do. On their behalf, we would like to thank you again for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Had our first meal in Siem Reap - and it won't be the last. Good menu choice to suit most tastes, service was attentive, well trained and super friendly. The food is tasty (I had soup followed by fried rice with a chicken broth, wife had ginger wild honey pork with brown rice main and a salad to start), the serving sizes just right. The decor is welcoming, airy and clean - what more can you ask for?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikel448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
The team at New Leaf is glad you had such a good experience here and decided to make a return visit. The only other thing I could think to ask for in a restaurant is that it give back to the local community, and we have that one covered, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Leaf Eatery also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to New Leaf Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing