We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do!!”
Review of New Leaf Eatery

New Leaf Eatery
Ranked #10 of 43 Coffee & Tea in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: New Leaf is a social enterprise restaurant, donating 30% of its profits to good causes and sharing 20% of profit with our (all Khmer) staff. Since 2013 we have donated over US $40,000 to support education projects in Cambodia. We strive to provide "a taste of Cambodia," focusing on sourcing local ingredients, where possible. Our menu comprises Cambodian specialties (amok, lok lak), together with Western dishes served with a twist of local flavours.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We are a couple from Belgium on our honeymoon trip through Cambodia and we just had dinner in the New Leaf Book Cafe. I must say it was amazing! The food was superb (try Beef Lok Lak!)!

But most of all the atmosphere was fantastic and the best alternative for the pub street area, which for us is more like a 'costa' in spain loaded with tourists but has nothing to do with the real Cambodia. The service tonight was also splendid!

They are open since july 2013 and are worth every good review on tripadvisor.

On remark: the tripadvisor app isn't pointing out the exact location, took us sometime to find it. This is the direction: Cross old market bridge and go to the right and take second to the left (not first as indicatef by tripadvisor app). At the end of the street on the lefthand side you find this wonderfull place!

2  Thank FrancisDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

The New Leaf team is honoured to have been a special part of your honeymoon and sincerely thanks you for your kind words and taking time to share them. For anyone else having trouble finding our peaceful oasis just metres from Pub Street, a map is available on www.newleafbookcafe.org. We hope you enjoy the rest of your journey together and are able to visit us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 521 of 649 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a gem. Lovely decor, an abundance of books (awesome for a solo traveller!), really friendly staff a great menu and good coffee. Ticks all the boxes for me. On top of that the profits are going to a good cause - I've never felt less guilty about "guilty pleasures: :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheOriginalH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

The team here thanks you for your visit and glowing review. We are truly glad that we could provide so much of what you were looking for and that you enjoyed your time her so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just off the main street, opposite a pagoda, a stone's throw from the river and less than two minutes from Pub street, New Leaf Book Cafe is a million miles away from Siem Reap Tourist City Inc. The team is there to welcome you with a genuine Khymer smile, no one rushes you but the food is excellent and the service charming. With over 3000 books to browse, it's a must for foodies and readers alike. The aim of New Leaf is to create a not for profit sustainable business that will benefit the people of Cambodia, working with other NGOs and not for profit organisations based in the city for the good of the whole. A new venture, a lovely concept and, judging by its popularity during my time in the city, one which has been welcomed and embraced by travellers and locals alike. I may be a little bit biased but I know you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Boots180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

The New Leaf Book Café thanks you for your visit, and for taking the time to share your experiences here with the TripAdvisor community. Each member of the team has gone above and beyond to create the wonderful atmosphere and food you wrote about and are truly pleased that you enjoyed your time here so much and made the effort to help us let the world know about what we are trying to accomplish as part of a large network of organizations committed to Siem Reap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

A nice cafe which gives its profit to charity. This is one of 3 cafe's in Siem Reap who donate profits to charity (The others being Common Grounds and Sister Srey Cafe), all of them with their own atmosphere. All of them are definitely worth a visit.

For more info on their menu and other stuff newleafbookcafe.org/.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank T V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and for encouraging others to support the many cafés, guesthouses and other organizations that work together to help Cambodians make Siem Reap a better place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

On Sunday had a great day at New Leaf. Played percussion with an extremely talented jazz keyboardist and singer. Met some very friendly people. Even the kids found my local djembe and joined in however played some trickey scattered beats, hard to keep up with, ha ha. Had breakfast there, very delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank garry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thanks for sitting in, and the team is truly glad you enjoyed your brunch. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, as the Lazy Sunday Brunch is brand new for us and it is wonderful to know people enjoy the newest addition to our schedule.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Leaf Eatery also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to New Leaf Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing