We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and slow”
Review of New Leaf Eatery

New Leaf Eatery
Ranked #64 of 1,014 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: New Leaf is a social enterprise restaurant, donating 30% of its profits to good causes and sharing 20% of profit with our (all Khmer) staff. Since 2013 we have donated over US $40,000 to support education projects in Cambodia. We strive to provide "a taste of Cambodia," focusing on sourcing local ingredients, where possible. Our menu comprises Cambodian specialties (amok, lok lak), together with Western dishes served with a twist of local flavours.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

After reading so many great reviews of this cafe, I must say I am quite disappointed with my experience. The staff were friendly and quite attentive but the service was slow. The latte I ordered tasted burnt and just didn't have the strong rich coffee flavour I expected. The menu is very expensive compared to other cafés in town. I probably will not re-visit this cafe as there are a lot better.

3  Thank RTMD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 551 of 673 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Glad we found this place just a few hundred metres away from the chaos of pub street. Newly opened, very clean and friendly. They do meat dishes too, but the veggie currie was absolutely amazing. Good coffee too.

2  Thank MartinandRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

The team at the New Leaf is glad you found us, too, and that you enjoyed the curry and Three Corners coffee prepared by our crack staff of baristas. We thank you for your kind words and hope you have a chance to return for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I called in for a cup of tea and stayed for a delicious mushroom crepe. The people were very friendly, the service very good and the venue very pleasing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BarrySLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thanks for dropping by for a cup of tea and staying for a crepe. The New Leaf team is sincerely glad you enjoyed your visit and thankful you took the time to share your good experience with the TripAdvisor community. We hope you have a chance to make a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Go here while you are in Siem Reap . Its a training restaurant for Cambodian people with wonderful food , drinks and relaxing atmosphere . Great spot to chill out during the day and retreat. Cool fans, good books. Profits from this cafe go to supporting schools, buildings and infrastructures in the villages. I met the people who established this cafe and they are young and inspirational, working with local people to build capacity and raise funds for villages in need.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jacjosef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

The New Leaf team thanks you for your kind words, and for your appreciation for all the good work they do, not just in the Café, but in our community as well. We hope you have the chance to make a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Food was very tasty, but menu is a bit confusing. The service was very attentive, but needs a bit more knowledge in explanation of the menu. Honey ribs with local honey, are cut into small pieces, which was quite delicious but surprising presentation. Served with very dry rice,(although it was brown rice) that tasted fantastic with a vegetable curry addition. Nice selection of beer for Siem Reap. Black Panther stout was surprisingly strong and flavorful for a Cambodian beer. Very pleasant atmosphere. Will return.

1  Thank a1chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your visit and taking the time to write about it on TripAdvisor! We are especially glad that you enjoyed the beer selection, as promoting Cambodian products is one of our passions, and every single brew on the list is made right here in the Kingdom. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Leaf Eatery also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to New Leaf Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing