We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cause, lovely staff”
Review of New Leaf Eatery

New Leaf Eatery
Ranked #7 of 37 Coffee & Tea in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: New Leaf serves a taste of Cambodia, sourcing local ingredients and employing only Khmer staff. Our menu comprises Cambodian specialities, together with delightful Western dishes served with a twist of local flavours.
2 reviews
“Great cause, lovely staff”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stopped by for lunch after reviewing places in Siem Reap on TripAdvisor and was pleasantly surprised by the good food, great prices and most of all- great people. Joe the manager helped me find the local post office, and set me up with a local guide to show me the temples, and other not so well known sites like the fisherman's village and countryside- an experience I will never forget. Joe and the owner, Georgina treated me like family- a great experience after traveling on my own for quite some time. I recommend this place for anyone looking to enjoy a quiet lunch, dinner, coffee or drink- but especially to support great people doing good for Cambodia. Wonderful place and cause- hats off to Georgina and Joe!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoad1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed the Cafe, as well as your visit to the temples and surrounding areas with Pheakday, the best tuk-tuk driver in SIem Reap (and not to be confused with our Bar Manager of the same name, who makes some of the best cocktails in town). Thank you for your visit, and your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    152
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to meet”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a great little bookshop/cafe. It's a very worthwhile cause also! The place itself is very nice with inexpensive food and drink, but the great thing is that it's a 'not-for-profit' business that puts everything back into the community... You really need to take a look at this place... You'll be happy you did!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesD1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. And, it's true, every dollar we make will be donated to local charities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Set-Up, Food, Service”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stopped in the other day for a late breakfast. They have a huge menu and decided t order the Eggs with Bacon, Sausage, and Potatoes. Food was great and the presentation on the food was amazing. The entire restaurant set-up was very visually beautiful. Staff was great - spoke excellent English and were always checking in on us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ed123456SiemReap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope you get a chance to return. Our team really is wonderful and truly cares about each guest. I am also happy that you noticed their English proficiency. We are proud to offer them free English lessons at work, which are on hiatus now while they decide exactly what kind of training they would like to receive and our volunteer teacher designs a curriculum around that.



Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Treated like one of the family.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This cafe/restaurant has some of the most welcoming staff in Cambodia. All profits go to several charities in the area and you can visit those if you want. i went to the children's school to see a traditional dance - highly recommended. Locally sourced food and drinks. Great tea, "Rose Tea", real local soda water, not that Schweppes stuff. The most hidden pleasure is the food. Banana Leaf salad, Mince Pork salad, Fish Amok, Chicken Curry are all Grand mother's recipes. They are now starting cooking schools and as this chef is great, thats a real recommendation.

Very relaxing a little difficult to find, it has been going just three weeks and needs support. One bad review from a local competitor doe not help. Books can be donated or purchased. The current selection beats anything else available in town. Also a great source of information.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rupertcdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, General Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your visits and kind words! Our wonderful staff have grown close through the process of getting the New Leaf open over the past few months, and is great to know that the sense of togetherness they developed shows through in their treating our guests as if they were guests in their own homes. And having Grandma's recipes on the menu certainly cannot help but foster that family feeling...


Yours,
Josh
Volunteer GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Food and Coffee Gem found!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 5 nights in Siem Reap and on day two, we were lucky to stumble across the New Leaf Book Cafe! Being from Australia, we are very particular about coffee quality and New Leaf by far offers the best espresso in town! When we found out the coffee beans were locally sourced and roasted, even better. On the second visit we returned to New Leaf for lunch, we had the chance to chat with Josh the general manager who wonderfully explained the good cause that New Leaf is helping the local community. Don't visit without trying the Beef Lok Lak but to be honest, we had a great spread of dishes and they were all brilliant. This is my first post on trip advisor because I was so blown away by this gem in Siem Reap!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, General Manager at New Leaf Eatery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
The great local coffee and wonderful machine are important, but the real secret lies in our fabulous team of baristi. They have years of experience between them, and have been more than happy to share it with the members of the team who have less coffee knowledge (including yours truly!). I must also thank Three Corners Coffee, which is based in Phnom Penh and provides the Cambodian-grown and -roasted beans both for our hot and iced coffees. The local team at Kofi, who supplied, service and trained the staff on our espresso deserve thanks as well. I am so glad you enjoyed everything, and that i could be of assistance.


Yours,
Josh
Josh
Volunteer GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Leaf Eatery also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to New Leaf Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing