We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food friendly service”

Genevieve's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 865 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: International, Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Genevieve's is a Khmer/Western restaurant in Siem Reap, located close to Pub Street and the Old Market. At Genevieve's, we provide high quality food and service and have a commitment to contributing meaningfully to the community in Siem Reap.
herefordshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We enjoyed our meal here, it's not all linen tablecloths and attitude, just good food, friendly service and the prices are fair, for casual dining. Made to feel very welcome by the owner, who obviously takes great pride in the place and the staff, who are very friendly and attentive. Enjoyed the singing waiter, especially the Cambodian song , sung in Cambodian. (Ask to take a look at the huge crocs that live next door !)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandstone1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,868
    686
    121
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The food tasted great and was reasonably priced. The staff were attentive and one of them even performed two songs, a Khmer and western song, over dinner. The restaurant supports many good causes in cambodia, which really sets it apart from the rest. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oliver e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Tasty food but make over would be a must”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

For me, you do not go to Genevieve's for a gastronomic experience but for the charming family atmosphere. The staff is very friendly, smiling, helpful. Actually, like everywhere in Cambodia. The owner seems to be proud of them an of his little restaurant set in a courtyard at the end of a backstreet.
The food is fresh and tasty. The ingredients chosen with care. But nothing extraordinary. The all experience could be described as having dinner at a friends house. Or your oversea uncle.
But if they want to keep their reputation, a make over of the place would be a must. Siem Reap offers a lot of dining options and comparison is easy. Fresh flowers, table cloth, candles,... A few little touch would make the difference.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aralya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, Owner at Genevieve's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thans very much for your review. I love working with my staff and and hope they enjoy working with me! I want them to be happy and contribute to an enjoyable experience for our customers. I wish I knew which food you had as our aim is to provide high quality food and service. On the other hand, I know personal tastes differ and I assure you, at Genevieve's, we are always looking to improve in everything we do. As far as the other suggestions go, I will discuss with my staff what you have said. We have made some changes recently to the look of the place and, again, will always try to do things better. Genevieve's does not try to have the image or the decor of a 5 star restaurant. We simply aim to provide great quality food and service in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Most of our customers seem to have been more than happy with our efforts so far. We also have a waiter who sings beautifully and our neighbour has about 30 large crocodiles which you can view, day or night, from our mini-balcony. Thanks again for your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
“amazing Christmas meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Recently went here for our staff Christmas dinner. Not only were we served incredible turkey some nut roast was specially prepare for the vegetarians in our party. The whole place had a lovely atmosphere and is very reasonably priced. We were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff and loved the singing at the end of our meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap Province, Cambodia
1 review
“Amazing amazing amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Genevieve's is an amazing restaurant! Very good food for a very reasonable price. They cooked us a Christmas dinner for 19 of us (most being vegetarians), so Paul made a special effort to make a nut roast which he had never made before - it turned out so delicious! Will be returning there for Sunday Roasts now! Loved it. It's a must :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genevieve's Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Genevieve's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing