We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food at budget prices.”

Ponleu Chan Restaurant
Ranked #568 of 858 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty food at budget prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had 4 or 5 meals at Ponleu Chan. The meals were prepared fresh and were good, tasty, and cheap. They also make very good fruit shakes. Chan and her husband, Ponleu, were very friendly and the service was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
156 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

You can't complain about the prices. It was $9 for three of us including bottled water and tip. Fried rice looked nice. Fish amok was okay . It was quite tasteless compared to other places we has eaten. Friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liemPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Amok we tried”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We walked by this restaurant 12 timesa J&D when we asked our tuk tuk driver where to go for lunch, he recommended Pnleu Chan. Without a doubt, the best Amok that we had. The green mango salad was great as well as the fried kale with chicken. A great meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chicagostewardess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly,hospitable english speaking owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had an extended stay of 9 days in siem reap and ate out every meal and every type of eatery in siem reap. Unfortunately we found this lovely little reastraunt on our last night. The owner is lovely and speaks great english, her curry was the best we have had the whole time we have been on the road in SE asia, malaysia, thialand and cambodia. And the young girl (Jet) that works out the front is a great laugh. A true welcoming and enjoyable meal at a great price, an added bonus i found out as we left, her husband is a toot toot driver with really good english, something that is not always easy to find at siem reap.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Don't bother with Pub Street prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Relatively new restaurant in Siem Reap. Owner used to have a small market selling phone cards, drinks, etc. She has done a GREAT job with the restaurant.

Service is great. Owner/cook speaks English, well. She is very warm and inviting. You will feel quite welcome.

The Khmer food is as good as I have had anywhere in Siem Reap, but the prices are low. On my last visit, I had a HUGE meal of grilled eggplant with pork and some steamed rice. VERY filling and only $2.50.

Location is good. If you are staying at Moon Villa (a great choice, by the way), it is just across the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponleu Chan Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Ponleu Chan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing