We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for $$”
Review of Hotel 20th Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 20th Street
Ranked #122 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Golden Dynasty was a great find. The staff were accommodating and friendly while the rooms were spacious and clean. Having a super comfy duvet instead of just a thin sheet was a definite plus as well. Our room was on the first floor next to reception and you could always hear loud guests passing through but most of the time it stayed quiet. My only real issue was with the shower. Although a great shower with a tub as well, there is no shower curtain. This might not matter to most but each shower created a mini flood on the surrounding floor which would never drain until after housekeeping came by. If the water drained better it would not have been a big deal but a shower curtain or even a squeegee to push the water to the drain would have made a big difference. Also, wi-fi was the slowest we experienced at any hotel thus far in SE Asia. It was so bad that we had to find other places with wi-fi to plan our upcoming trips. Overall, a simple and nice hotel that gets the job done.

Room Tip: Rooms close to reception have big windows but receive very little light. Virtually no wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is very new (6months) and built very well. Appealing color and solid furniture. Very comfortable bed. Saltwater pool is great.
The owner, David, really gives his best to make your stay worth it. And he's always there when you need him. The computers provided, work very well, the Wi-Fi was a bit slow, but hey, everything's a little slower in Cambodia.
The Hotel is quite big (25 rooms and 7 different rates) and was full when we visited, but felt quite empty. The entrance area is big, but not very inviting to hang around, a little lounge would do the trick. There are tables all around the entrance, inviting you to sit down and eat something, but they're not too comfortable. The food is also from a little restaurant across the street, so you eat the same food there for less money. The staff seemed underemployed many times (because everything just works), but they are very heartily and are always up for a little talk.

Also it felt a bit expensive, we had the lowest price (30$ for Peking Superior, no breakfast). By guess I would pay 25 for it. In the high-season, price of this room goes up to 70$, what we think is just too much.

But in the end, this hotel is very solid and you can not really go wrong with it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for a month and it was a great experience. David was very accommodating, and the staff was simply excellent. They are very kind and helpful. The pool was wonderful, especially after a long day at work, and the location is ideal; it's not too far from the town centre, but it's close to a bunch of nice restaurants, a convenience store, a travel agency, and a cheap laundry place.

Room Tip: First floor left side (when facing hotel) is closest to a loud rooster awake early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is one of those times I wish I had an extra star. Mr. David spent many years managing a 5 star hotel in Siem Reap before he and his wife opened the Golden Dynasty 6 months ago. He uses all that experience and training to give you a 5 star experience from the moment you set foot in the lobby. The staff are lovely and gracious. Mr David can't do enough to make your stay pleasant. He even went to the drug store and picked up a medicine he had recommended when my husband mentioned I was feeling poorly on our last night. The rooms are just as pictured with large comfortable beds. The pool is a great way to cool off in the afternoon, and the pool toys are a bonus if you are traveling with kids. This is definitely the place to stay in Siem Reap. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingonward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I just spent 2 weeks in Siem Reap and loved it. However, what helped to make our visit to this amazing city was having our sanctuary at the end of the day at the Golden Dynasty Hotel. Visiting temples all day is hard work, especially when you have lots of hawkers wanting to sell to you, dealing with the weather and just taking in all of the beauty around you.

It was absolutely wonderful to come back to our suite at the Golden Dynasty and just be able to chill in peace, quiet, beauty and feel completely spoiled.

This was our third hotel in Siem Reap and even though it was a hassle moving three times, we are so glad that we found this gem of a hotel. I'm fussy - especially as we were staying for a couple of weeks. I wanted the best for our money and we found it - third time was a charm!

We loved the location. Close enough to be able to walk into the center in about 15 minutes along the river, yet far enough away from the frenetic atmosphere of Pub Street that you could fully relax. The hotel is fairly new, modern, and clean. It is a small boutique hotel where we felt like the staff was more like family. We actually felt sad to leave.

Our suite was huge! After traveling in Asia for 3 months and staying in some places that were the size of a postage stamp, it was wonderful to be able to spread out and enjoy a separate bedroom, living room and a fabulous bathroom complete with a bathtub! I loved the bathtub because it was the style where you could really lay back and relax fully. At the end of a hard day of temple hopping, it was a perfect ending to the day.

We also loved the beds. After experiencing so many "hard as rock" beds in Asia, the beds at the Golden Dynasty were comfortable and soft enough that we slept well. The duvets were perfect and there were ample fans in the suite along with a/c in the bedroom that the temperature could be maintained perfectly.

The salt water pool was another nice treat and we loved being able to relax on comfortable chaise lounges with adequate umbrellas.

The staff were fabulous. Our room was impeccably cleaned each day - fresh towels, sheets changed regularly. They really did an exceptional job and I felt like our room had really been "cleaned" - not just touched up. They were so kind and nothing was too much trouble.

David, the owner is from the UK but has a good understanding of life in Cambodia. He was fabulous to deal with. We felt like he cared about our stay and he was there when we needed him. If there was any problem - such as the internet acting up or tickets that needed to be printed - he was on it immediately and got it taken care of. We were actually super impressed with the internet in Siem Reap - it was better than internet we have had in many parts of the world.

The hotel is amazing value for the money. We have paid a lot more for a lot less in other parts of Asia and even compared with the first two hotels we stayed at in Siem Reap, it was a bargain for what we got. If you want more for less, this is exactly what you get at this hotel.

I've been traveling for six years now and have stayed in everything from budget to high end luxury. Nobody is perfect - not even the 4 Seasons hotels - but the Golden Dynasty was pretty darn close to perfect and for the price, absolutely worth the money and more.

Room Tip: We had room 41 which was a suite and overlooked the pool. However, there is a wide range of rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A real find in Siem Reap ! A British run and managed hotel with exceptionaly high standards of cleanliness and hygiene - the bathroms are spotless ! A real treat in Cambodia ! The rooms are spacious , well furnished, with very comfortable mattresses guaranteeing a great night's sleep ! The hotel is very central - a stroll to the river easy walking distance to most places but is on a quiet street . Lovely pool and very helpful staff. Excellent value for money.Suites with kitchen fridge and lounge area are v reasonably priced ! A good deal in Siem Reap with attentive and helpful staff.

Room Tip: There are nice rooms overlooking the pool but all the rooms are excllent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abfabpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Great central hotel in Siem Reap - but also very quiet - no problems sleeping! Very comfortable rooms, clean and well appointed. Staff are friendly and helpful, would highly recommend a stay at Golden Dynasty!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonja b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#90 of 365 in Siem Reap
875 reviews
0.9 mi away
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#174 of 365 in Siem Reap
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#150 of 365 in Siem Reap
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#138 of 365 in Siem Reap
595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#135 of 365 in Siem Reap
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Panoramic Boutique Hotel
Angkor Panoramic Boutique Hotel
#155 of 365 in Siem Reap
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 20th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 20th Street

Address: Street 20 | Junction Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Dynasty Boutique Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $24 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 20th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel 20th Street. A place where the most important thing is you. Hotel 20TH Street offers modern accommodation in Siem Reap. All the rooms (en-suite bathrooms) are equipped for 4 guests and include amenities such as coffee and tea making facilities, 2 bottles of water, mini bar, wardrobe, a flat-screen cable TV, room service telephone and AC. Selected apartment suites feature a kitchenette and balcony. Safety boxes are available at reception. Conveniently located minutes away from Old Market and Pub Street, Hotel 20th Street offers superb service - pick up from the airport or bus stop to the hotel, an outdoor swimming pool, a beautiful garden, and a bar area. Fast and free Wi-Fi is available throughout the premises. Siem Reap is Cambodia's hot spot, the place to be, to have fun and enjoy life! While the truly stunning temples of Angkor are undoubtedly the star attraction of the area, few are aware of the fact that Siem Reap is a vibrant and colorful city offering wonderful sightseeing, entertainment, gastronomy, health and well being opportunities. We offer personalized service - a friendly and knowledgeable member of our staff will accompany you throughout your stay with us. All activities and tours can be tailor made and privately organized with your mother tongue speaking guide. From day and sightseeing itinerary planning to restaurant, spa, shopping tips and reservations, we will take care of everything for you. And it goes without saying that you will be driven around in a traditional tuk-tuk by a professional, trustworthy and reliable driver accredited with our property, who will be at your disposal at all times. Hotel 20th Street is located in the center of Siem Reap for people who enjoy active lifestyle, exploration and discovery, yet wish serenity, calm and utmost care envelop them once they are done touring for the day. - 7km from Siem Reap International Airport - The UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat Temple is a 15-minute drive away. Hotel 20TH Street: get the best taste of Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 20th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing