We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel unfortunately let down by chaotic front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Ranked #55 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Saem swung between a high 4 and a disappointing 2

The good
As we walked out of Customs we were met by a polite (and very smiley) representative from the hotel. We were quickly ushered to a clean and comfortable minibus and offered ice cold bottles of water on our 20 minute transfer to the hotel (which included our first view of Angkor Wat). Check-in was quick and smooth, and despite arriving mid-morning we were quickly taken to a lovely room, with everything explained (including pointing out Angkor Wat in the distance from the balcony outside our room). The room was spacious and included a small balcony over looking the swimming pool. The room service was reasonably priced and tasty. So far, a definite high 4

The not so good
On the first evening we discussed our plans with the staff at the front desk and booked a tuk tuk for 7.15am the following morning. Although the 'booking' was sribbled down on what looked like a scrap bit of paper, we had no reason to doubt the hotel (everything had been brilliant so far). Unfortunately the following morning, there appeared to be no record of our booking .... so by the time we managed to explain that we had definitely made a booking and they then found a tuk tuk driver, we were much later than hoped at starting our sightseeing.
That evening, during our chat with the staff at the front desk, we explained that our tuk tuk driver would be collecting us at 5am for sunrise at Angkor Wat. They offered to have a breakfast box prepared ... excellent idea! Unfortunately it was again 'booked' on a scrap bit of paper. So no surprises that the following morning, the staff at front desk had no idea what we were talking about ..... but annoyingly tried to bluff by pretending the chef was just finishing the pancakes. After waiting 20 minutes ..... when we finally opened our breakfast boxes 2 hours later, they contained a slice of white bread, a pot of butter, a pot of jam (but nothing to spread these with), 2 tiny pastries and a tiny piece of fruit ..... definitely not impressive and most definitely not worth the 20 minute wait at 5am!

I really wanted to award Saem a solid 4 .... the staff were friendly (although many struggled with English) and always enthusiastic, the breakfast was tasty and varied (excluding the disastrous breakfast boxes of course)and overall the hotel really was as charming. However, the hotel is really let down by it's poor booking system - a definite need for improvement where tourists are only visiting for a short period of time trying to pack in as much sightseeing as possible.If this can be resolved, Saem is definitely a consistent very high 4!

A few other useful things to know:
The front desk staff during the day were efficient and spoke good English so i would suggest making any bookings during the day (dont leave it until late evening like us!)
The hotel is slightly out of town but only a $2 tuk tuk ride away
The hotel offers a fairly reasonably priced laundry service but if you have more than a few items, there is an excellent laundry service outside the hotel gates .... $1 for every kilo (our t-shirts are the softest they've ever been!)
When sightseeing, all the tour groups seem to start early morning ..... the temples are all quieter at lunchtime (if you can handle the heat) and quietest late afternoon (when all the tour groups seem to have finished).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Su_and_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I cannot say enough great things about the service at Saem Siemreap Hotel. We stayed here recently for three nights - Siem Reap was our final destination during our two-week honeymoon throughout SE Asia. When we first checked in, we were assigned a room that was not what I had originally booked, but after letting the front desk know, we were assigned a room that we were happy with. Sor Sopheap, who attended to us personally during our stay, was so attentive, personable and thoughtful. When he found out it was our honeymoon, he said that he would have a special surprise arranged, and we figured it would be rose petals on the bed (which all the other hotels did during our honeymoon). My husband and I were indeed surprised to come back after dinner one night and find not only the standard rose petals on the bed, but also swan towels and an entire honeymoon cake with the date on it! Additionally, the rest of the Saem Siemreap staff was amazing. The young gentleman (Bunhut I believe) was very pleasant, and everyone else was so willing to help call restaurants and make reservations and arrange tours for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iheartnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I spent 2 nights in Siem Reap and I enjoyed a lot Angkor Wat.
Hotel bonus: free airport transfer. Nice rooms and nice breakfast.
Minus: location a little bit outskirt: tuk tuk for the city center cost 2$.
What i probably didnt like was the check in: we were offered the classic excursion to Angkor, which is fine, on a private car (100$). Given the fact the tuk tuk ride is 80% cheaper we were happy to turn down their offer.
The guide is also priced 30 usd: if you look for one on your own for the sunrise tour the price is 15$.
Nothing really to complain about the hotel, though, except maybe the poor connection of the 2 internet stations in front of the reception.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Assenzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamsan L, General Manager at Saem Siemreap Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Assenzio

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to be able to serve you during your stay.
We are delighted that most of our services meet your satisfaction.

we take your comments seriously as we always have commitment to provide a services that meet all guest expectation and beyond.

With regarding to our transportation and tour arrangement we can provide variety range of fee from $100 to $2 (From luxury car to Tuk Tuk), for matching all needs, and the price tag-stand keeping on counter.

Our All In One PC standby at business center are provide full access of internet with complimentary. the connection of internet can be fluctuated by number of connections through Wi-Fi and our internet service provider serve us with optic line with accurate and fast speed.
we encourage all of our clients who encounter with internet connection please report us immediately, maybe we can fix problem in just a few minutes.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your valuable time to comment.

We look forward to serving you again.

With best regards
Kamsan LEK
gm@saemsiemreaphotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Well this hotel certainly deserves all its great reviews! We were not disappointed. We moved here from the five star Park Hyatt Hotel and initially I was worried it would be as shock to the system. To the contrary, this hotel is fabulous! It's located down an orange dusty road which makes for an interesting tuk tuk ride, but suddenly you turn a corner and it's like an oasis of colonial architecture, stunning grounds and smiling staff ready to take your luggage and bring you fruit punch. It's these little touches that make a hotel five star.

We had a garden room beside the pool. There are only six of these, the rest being on upper floors overlooking the pool with a view. The room itself was very comfortable, king bed, separate bath visible through a window, and separate shower and toilet. The only criticism of our room (101) was its proximity to the bar area, where smokers congregated - the smoke seemed to pool into our room in the afternoon. As non smokers this was a bit off putting.

We ate dinner at the restaurant our final night with a 15% discount for being a guest. They have a fine selection of well priced and delicious wines and the food is gorgeous. Highly recommended.

We will be returning here next weekend and they will be picking us up from the airport. We are currently on a bus to Battenbang and the hotel staff booked and collected our ticket for us, plus drove us to the bus pick up place. Highly recommended. Don't stay anywhere else!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SparkieSparkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were transferred for free from the airport. The check-in was smooth. The hotel is new, very comfortable. We had a ground floor room facing the pool. Room was big, clean and pleasantly furnished. Pool was big enough for relaxation after a day of sightseeing. Staff was helpful, organised few trips for us and Xmas eve event. Breakfast was very good too. Hotel is not in the centre but this is not a problem. Tuktuks are at the entry and this is just 2USD per ride. Be careful when coming back as not every driver knows this new hotel so show the map or the address. I recommend the laundry at the stand opposite the hotel entry. Overall a great base for exploration of Cambodia, we took Chantra tuk tuk that lives nearby we found on tripadvisor. Very safe place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank topolnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were working with Travel Cambodia on our family vacation and they booked us into this hotel for a "second choice" as their original pick was booked. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The neighborhood looks a little sketchy on first glance but the hotel is a gem. The rooms are lovely and comfortable especially the first floor units. The restaurant is fine with reasonable prices. One of our party commented that this hotel is an oasis in the midst of the crowds and noise of Siem Reap proper. I would agree.

Room Tip: First floor units seem a little larger with patio poolside outside the room. They need two chairs o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay - the hotel is new, rooms are comfortable, swimming pool is pretty. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. Had amazing massages at their Spa. All stuff was extremely friendly and helpful. It only takes 5 min by tuk-tuk to get to pub street and there are plenty of them just waiting outside the hotel. The ride is only $2. We did hear some religious singing 1 of the 3 morning we spent there but it did not really bother us. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#43 of 378 in Siem Reap
5,458 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#58 of 378 in Siem Reap
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#27 of 378 in Siem Reap
3,843 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#34 of 378 in Siem Reap
891 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#60 of 378 in Siem Reap
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saem Siemreap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saem Siemreap Hotel

Address: Krom 6, Phoum Sala Kanseng, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $54 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saem Siemreap Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saem Siemreap Hotel is equipped with premium room amenities and facilities and services, according to Hotel Five Star Standard. Its elegant and unique Khmer architecture is boosted with cool and fresh air, flower fragrance and a salt-water pool at the center. Every service point is just a few steps away to give its residents perfect convenience in a relaxed atmosphere.This hotel is a newly opened 78-room luxury property just 5 minutes from the national museum, night market and pub streets and about 7 km drive from the airport and the Angkor UNESCO Heritage Site. It is designed and professionally operated to provide its residents excellence in care and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Saem Siemreap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing