We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Retrochic" Gem in Siem Reap”
Review of The Yellow-Sub

The Yellow-Sub
Ranked #179 of 898 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Beautiful four storey gastro-bar, that is strategically located amidst the main entertainment district of Siem Reap (just behind Pub Street. Paying tribute to the Beatles, expect a feast on the eyes for all fans. The place is filled with memorabilias painstakingly collected by the owners that will blow your mind away.The establishment offers a full bar and dinning at level one, followed by a pool room, a ping-pong room, a Whisky Bar and finishing with a roof top terrace.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Retrochic" Gem in Siem Reap”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Retro from the Beatles and Chic for the atmostphere...different levels of fun and excitement...Level 1-refreshing Ginger Mojito from the main bar to start the evening...Dining-simple Roast Chicken Ceasar Salad for appetizer...lipsmacking George Harrison Burger for mains...home made Blueberry Cheese cake for desserts...Level 3-Pool Room...Level 4-grab a glass of Nikka From The Barrel Whiskey and a stick of Partagas Sirie D No.4...Roof Top-counting stars with a glass of whiskey in one hand and a cigar on the other...total experience Priceless...definately a place to hangout if you in siem reap... :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alvinfeedmybelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYellowSub_SR, Owner at The Yellow-Sub, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting us, and leaving your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    52
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great even if you are not crazy about Beatles”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Tucked in the back behind the Pub street the whole joint is a great place, but especially the bottom and the top floors. Had cocktails with a large group of young people- good, strong stuff served by good strong staff. All the different drinks we had were wonderful, tasty, freshly made with new twists- no cheapo waterered down crap in sleezy environment. Great waiters and the owner is a gem. The taro chips they served with a great dipping sauce were crisp and fresh.

We then proceeded to the rooftop terrace where we continued to have great service in a great food. I am no big fan of burgers but after a bit too much Asian food a burger is a welcome change. Our burgers were a far cry from the American cheesburger but in a very, very good way. The patty was moist and seasoned, the buns were fresh and soft, the size enormous. No need to douse the meat in three types of condiments to make it palatable. The presentation on the square ceramic plate was very contemporary and brought a simple burger to a delicay level. Bravo! I just hope the peaceful location of the back ally does bot prove detrimental to a grt establishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KsenijaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYellowSub_SR, Owner at The Yellow-Sub, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are glad to know that we have change your view about burgers, please do pop back in for more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place in Siem Reap”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

What I like about Yellow Sub?
- First, the rooftop terrace. Great place to sit while enjoying a cocktail or a beer.
- Second, the atmosphere. I grew up with the music of The Beatles. Having all that original pieces of Beatles artwork around makes me feel comfortable.
- Third, the food. Great salads, great burgers. I can really recommend to try the burgers. You dont get a soft, rubber-type burger that drowns in ketchup. The burgers here are the real deal!
- Fourth, the versatility of the place. You have a great bar, a dining area, a room with a pool table and you have a rooftop terrace. All in one place and all right in the center of Siem Reap.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYellowSub_SR, Owner at The Yellow-Sub, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Takev, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, Great Burger, Great Drinks”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Living in Siem Reap for an extended period of time I have watched numerous new restaurants and bars open up. The opening of Yellow Submarine was a welcome addition to the Siem Reap as it provides an incredibly unique atmosphere (decorated perfectly with Beatles decor on of the floors) and delicious food. I have been there numerous times for the burgers and will continue to go once a week until I leave. The portion size is perfect and the presentation is professionally fantastic. The bar staff, waiters, and owner are all very welcoming as well. To top it all off, the drinks are made by experience bartenders who serve with a smile. There are few establishments in Siem Reap that can boast having all three of these important elements under one roof. I applaud the Yellow Submarine and encourage anyone, both travelers and expats, to stop in at the Yellow Sub for some food and drinks!

P.S. I must also mention that the uniforms worn by the staff are awesome. I wish they had them for sale!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYellowSub_SR, Owner at The Yellow-Sub, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Happy to know that you like the burgers, we hope to see you around soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cocktails with pappadum!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Passed by this place and was attracted by the Beatles memorabilia. Drinks were very nice and reasonably priced, not the cheapest but great value for money - too many cheap options along main pub st but tasted like water!

Make sure u check out upstairs and the roof top area, definitely worth the hike. Wanted to revisit a second time during my visit but unfortunately the town was hit by a major black out... Shame... But will go back again if I do revisit Angkor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYellowSub_SR, Owner at The Yellow-Sub, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are glad you have enjoyed our little treats, please do come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yellow-Sub also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Yellow-Sub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing