We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food at a great price”
Review of Dakshin's

Dakshin's
Ranked #60 of 946 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Definitely make time for Dakshi's during your trip to Siem Reap. Everything was so delicious and the service was great. The waiter was very helpful with suggestions. My husband had very spicy lamb curry, which he loved, while I had a terrific vegetarian combo. The veg combo that day came with a cabbage dish and a green banana curry, but the main dishes for the combo change daily. It also included naan, rice, raita, dessert, and two other small dishes, one was lentils. I believe the other was pickled veg. Everything tasted so good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlmightyQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pannirselvam B, Owner at Dakshin's, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Hi
That was just outstanding review especially sitting in Singapore on a vacation an reading it and able to response spontaneously to you.Glad both of you enjoyed the service and the food both the lamb and vegetarian thali.We look forward to serving many more guest and fulfilling their expectations.
Please note that the restaurant is closed from 10/4 till 16/4 for khmer new year and business as usual from 17/4.We apologies for inconvenience caused to our valued guest due to the temporary closure.Cheers!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 812 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

We ate at Dakshin's having read the good reviews on Trip Advisor, and weren't disappointed.
Luckily we went early as we would not have got a table otherwise as they had 2 large parties booked in, but the owner let us have a table that has been reserved for later in the evening.
The food was very good, and they even went to the trouble of making fresh samosas for us as neither of us like fresh coriander which had been made already.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SANDGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pannirselvam B, Owner at Dakshin's, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Hi
Thank you for dining with us and writing this lovely review.At Dakshin's we try our best not to turn our valued guest away and i believe i did that to you too.On that day we had an NGO booking for party so we were limited to ground floor which i have always made sure is for our walk in guest.I remember instructing my chef to make new samosas filling without coriander leaves.Usually reasonable amount of samosa feeling is done with coriander at 5pm daily.All i did was to be honest about it ask you for little more time to prepare fresh ones accordingly and i am glad you enjoyed and appreciated it.I would cater to all our guest with special request on their dietary and provide accordingly after all they are the ones responsible for our existence and success.As a passionate owner it's my duty to look into all aspect of my valuable guest whom i always treat as Dakshin's family.Thank you and have a great vacation.
Reminder To All Guest
Please note that we will be closed from 10-4-2014 till 16-4 -2014 for the coming Khmer New Year and we humbly apologies for any inconvenience and look forward to serving you from the 17-4-2014.Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hi on our last stay in Siem reap we visited Dakshins twice, The first time we sat out side and watched the world go by, the food was fantastic and we enjoyed the incredible service from our waiter Chantha Ly, Our second time was a goodbye dinner with local friends made up of adults and children, We ate upstairs and the service was exceptional again from Chanthy ly who explained the menu, suggested food for the children and looked after us like we were very important people, We never had to ask for anything as Chantha Ly anticipated our needs and was such a fantastic waiter extremely professional and warm. We chose to share different dishes and again the food was fantastic including the vegetarian dish the children loved their meal and trying the different dishes as did the adults. We left full of happiness and sated. Thank you Dakshins and Chantha Ly for a very memorable last meal in Siem Reap and when we go back we will return here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tricia6408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pannirselvam B, Owner at Dakshin's, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Hi
Thank you for the lovely review and also choosing to dine with us on 2 occasions.Chantha is an experienced and well trained waiter who is good with the guest and able to recommend dishes accordingly.I am glad that he excelled with his service to you and all your guest.As you mentioned you were treated like important people well all our valued guest warrants such treatment and will be given.To me the questions is besides food,service,ambiance etc who is ultimately all this for definitely "OUR VALUED GUEST OF DAKSHIN'S". We are always grateful to all our valued guest for dining with us and writing reviews good or bad and even to those whom did not contribute to review but would have contributed one way or other to the growth of the restaurant.As for you i will personally extend you remarkable commends on Chantha which will a motivation factor to him and the rest of the Dakshin's team. Wish you all the best and hope to see you sooner or later.
REMINDER NOTICE
DAKSHINS WILL BE CLOSED FROM 10/4/2014 TILL 16/4/2014 FOR KHMER NEW YEAR AS WELL AS MAINTENANCE.BUSINESS WILL RESUMES AS NORMAL ON 17/4/2014.MANAGEMENT WOULD LIKE TO APOLOGIES FOR INCONVENIENCE CAUSED

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Ate here last year and made a point to come back this year. I live in Manchester and have traveled Rajasthan and Goa and the food here is just superb. Outstanding again.

Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pannirselvam B, Owner at Dakshin's, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Hi
Thank for dining with us once again and putting up a wonderful review on TA.It was a pleasure Sir playing host to you after a year and i am glad we lifted up to the standards you got a year ago.I believe the utmost important factor to gauge a restaurant is consistency and i am glad we got it and will strive to maintain it.Wish you all the best.Cheers!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

What a pleasant surprise to find this place in Siem Reap - we ate here a few times, good food and great service with a smile :)

Thank Krupa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pannirselvam B, Owner at Dakshin's, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hi
Thank you the wonderful review and also choosing to dine with us several times which speaks about us and i am glad we lifted to your expectations.Have a great vacation and hope to see you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakshin's also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Dakshin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing