We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new property with some kinks”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Magnolia d'Angkor Boutique
Ranked #290 of 376 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Magnolia for six nights, which gave us plenty of time to explore Angkor Wat and catch up on email. For the most part, the hotel was quite nice, with well outfitted beds/linens, a decent bathroom, and the much needed swimming pool.

There were some kinks though:
- the breakfast quality and setup changed daily (sometimes menu, sometimes buffet) which was confusing
- the "free" bikes were locked up half the time and nobody on staff had the key
- the room could use a full length mirror
- the staff helpfulness varied quite a bit, as did their English speaking abilities

We paid $25 a night though, so for that money, the hotel was a real find. Here's our review of other properties in the area: http://erohisms.com/staying-and-eating-in-siem-reap/

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rob and Lina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 21 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights and it was nice. It's located on a very quiet street where not many other buildings were surround. I got a big comfortable room with nice bathroom. The pool is also nice. It's nice to swim there in the morning or sunbathing afterward.
The staff were nice and very handy, and I like the welcome drink, pineapple juice.. Slurppp..

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

the hotel is on a very dark quiet road so not suitable for single ladies in the night.
there is a laundry a few doors down.

we stayed there for 3nights and the first room we were given was 3 single bed which was big but the toilet was far from good. Tiny, and not well-designed. However, the aircon in our room was spewing hot air and the staff took a long time to sort out our room change only after much insistence. They kept saying the aircon needs to warm up but no.. it was spoilt.

Finally we were given a tiny room for the night; 1 double & 1 single bed. The room was very small but had better designed toilet.

Finally the next day, we got a room change to a slightly better room thanks to the pool view on the 1st floor. 1 double bed & 1 single bed, better toilet too.

Within walkig distance to Pub Street about 15min. Loads of food & things to do there.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tan_Koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at La Magnolia for just 1 night, but in that time interacted a lot with their staff and am sorry to say they weren't the nicest most hospitable lot. I would say the hospitality was at best the fake superficial kind where a plastic smile is slapped on their faces only to giggle behind your back, talk over you when you speak and the like. The room itself was quite nice and the breakfast average. The location was reasonably OK, not too far away from the main market.. As for the value, for 35 dollars a night, and given that I had the most amazing experience in Phnom Penh at 38 dollars a night (at Le Safran La Suite) I would not say is good value. When you travel abroad the warmth and helpfulness of the staff counts for a lot and based on that I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venetia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A new quiet hotel with very helpful staff but close enough to the action in town. Originally booked for two nights but stayed for a third as we enjoyed the whole Siem Reap/Ankor experience so much. Wifi performance a bit poor but maybe this is not the hotels fault but just a problem for the area!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights. Staff are friendly & helpful. Room is decent and average clean as you can't ask much with the room rates that you pay. Breakfast is OK.

Pool is relatively big if you want to have a chill-out afternoon as it's situated slightly far from pub street (10mins walking distance), so it's quite nice to chill.

But 1 thing i'm really disappointed is the water issue. You won't be able to shower in the middle of the afternoon as the water is too hot (due to the direct heat from the sun as I went during dry season) and the water in the bathroom is so small that you can't enjoy a cold shower in a super hot weather.

There is this shop opposite the university (which is few shops/houses next to the hotel) sells good snacks (bread with pork), worth trying.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the ground floor room, the rest are TOO HOT and water TOO small in the shower for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina_tsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. I booked 2 rooms for 4 of us. Rooms come with kettle, tv, mini fridge and aircon. Aircon not cold, wifi connection intermittent, not so good. Otherwise the rooms and bathrooms are big and clean, I got a poolview room.

Breakfast was fine and included eggs, toast, fruit and croissants, hashbrown, milk and juice, requested for the juice to be refilled, but they replied the juice was finished hence they could not refill for me. Returned after 1 hour with friends whom woke up later, and found the juice being replenished.

it is peaceful because it's a distance away from pub street and night market, best way to travel in the hot weather is by tuk tuk, USD$1-$2, walk if its in the evening or at night. We find it quite safe to walk at night unlike what we read online about the safety at night. My friend commented that he felt safer than in Bangkok. The hotel provides free bicycles for rental. Angkor Wat is only about 7km from this hotel.

The staffs were all extremely pleasant and helpful and spoke good English.

Nice tiny garden with lotsa fruit bearing trees, and a decent sized gorgeous pool which my friends use a lot.
Will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evepeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.3 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#35 of 376 in Siem Reap
2,578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#9 of 376 in Siem Reap
2,271 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#41 of 376 in Siem Reap
5,448 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#58 of 376 in Siem Reap
533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#153 of 376 in Siem Reap
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Magnolia d'Angkor Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Magnolia d'Angkor Boutique

Address: Street 27, Siem Reap 00855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 376 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $40 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 8 min walk to the famous tourist attraction places in Siem Reap such as Old Market and Pub Street, large swimming pool and lush tropical garden. Breakfast with fresh juices and free bicycles. WiFi for entire hotel area. Free pick up service from Siem Reap International Airport or Bus Station. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing