We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to finish off my holiday”
Review of Sokkhak Spa

Sokkhak Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spa is a Cambodian owned and managed business with over 16 years experience in the spa hospitality throughout Cambodia, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia and South America. Come to Sokkhak Spa to experience a truly Khmer wellness.
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great way to finish off my holiday”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Last thing I usually do at the end of a trip is find somewhere to have a facial/massage before the long flight home. We found Sokkhak Spa next door to the Haven Restaurant and we were not disappointed. I had foot Reflexology and a Vitamin facial. The facial was excellent and whilst the reflexology was not as good as I have had it was certainly very good. I also had a manicure which was very good it was in a room upstairs - need to be careful of the stairs as they are a bit steep. This is not your on the street spa but it is still certainly far cheaper than having this at home. The staff do not speak a lot of English so you need to be quite clear once you are in your room so they understand how hard or soft you would like your treatment. Pity I left this until the last day as had I had time I would have a massage.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GayleS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, General Manager at Sokkhak Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to review Sokkhak Spa - Siem Reap in TripAdvisor!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for this great feedback and rest assure I will share them with my team and stay on be the best Spa in the Kingdom of Wonders.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay in this amazing historical city.

Sincerely,

Richard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    62
    19
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Good first impression but all in all average”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Wanted a massage and was just going to try using one of the many on the street. When I asked at our hotel the front desk suggested this place and made a booking. I went in and it was lovely. Foot bath was nice. Negotiating the stairs in the slippers provided was tricky. Therapist was ok, had trouble with English and pressure was inconsistent. I get massages frequently and she seemed a bit tentative and inexperienced.
No water at the end for my shower but it eventually came back. There was tea and mango along with a survey form to be filled out which was ok I guess. But I did not put down my email and was firmly asked to supply it. Why I gave them a valid one escapes me. I was also asked to post a review on TripAdvisor which bothered me (although this seems to be a trend I am noticing). In any event I decided not to and then got a follow up email asking for feedback so here it is.

Helpful?
2 Thank SNG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, General Manager at Sokkhak Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, i would like to thank you for taking your time to review our Spa in TripAdvisor.

As being one of the competitive spa in Cambodia, we take our constructive feedback seriously. I truly understand when being in developing country, English is a challenge in Cambodia but nonetheless steps has been taken in order more English training will be apply to our establishment as this country still in development.

As for the massage, we apologize and training will be conduct again to all the masseurs, and also the reason we have a comment form to be fill with email address is for all our guest to place an honest feedback so we can target where is the weakness and we will improve from there AND re-invite our guest again to our spa.

And lastly, we really apologize with the shower. Water disruption in Cambodia is very often, hence we have a back up tank to switch over incase of no water supply. That is inevitable
but we are doing our very best to make sure all our guest satisfied.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback. d

Warmest regards,
Richard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wow!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

In a city where an average massage cost 5 USD or so, paying 10 times more for a massage wakes up high expectations. I dare to say the expectations were even surpassed and we went back 3 times....

Massage is often regarded as 'a little bit of rubbing back & forth' and it's rare to come in a place where it's seen as a profession:

- gorgeous elegant decor in both reception, massageroom, interior garden
- friendly helpfull staff
- very professionnal masseurs who are trained with sense for detail

I was very impressed & left very happy

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank johan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, General Manager at Sokkhak Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for your positive review! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your spa experience with Sokkhak Spa - Siem Reap. Please be assured that your compliments will be shared with my team.

With best regards
Richard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good massage for a fair price”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband got a aromatherapy massage done and because I was pregnant I decided on a Mango facial. We were both satisfied with our treatments. The rooms are comfortable with a shower. Unfortunately our room was on the 3rd/4th floor so we walked up the stairs only to find that there the toilet is on the ground floor so we had to walk all the way down again to use it. The receptionist speaks great english and was able to help us efficiently over the phone when we made the booking as well as to advice on the different facials they offered. there are many places in SR offering really inexpensive treatments however this place is clean and quiet and feels like a spa.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sofiah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, General Manager at Sokkhak Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for your positive review! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your spa experience with Sokkhak Spa - Siem Reap.

As normally we inform our guest to use the toilet before proceeding to our treatment room 3rd/4th floor but I guess it must have slip out from their mind. We will ensure this will not be a problem again. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Please be assured that your feedbacks & compliments will be shared with my team.

With best regards
Richard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We just had a body scrub st the spa. Nothing special for the extra $ paid to be in a more luxurious spa. The therapists seemed young and inexperienced. I would say go to the cheaper ones, there are loads of them on every street, we have had better scrubs at them for a quarter of what we just paid.

Helpful?
Thank angelluckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, General Manager at Sokkhak Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

In Khmer, Sokkhak means ‘tranquility’. We are using the combination of nature inspired décor with a soft, warm and tranquil atmosphere to relax, refresh and indulge our guest. we have carefully chosen products containing botanical and marine home-made ingredients with nature’s very own powerful herbs, to give the skin a vibrant and healthy glow and total body wellness.

Our local female and male therapists, the majority of who have been selected from a village in the ‘Pourk District’, perform the treatments. They have been trained and educated by our in-house professional teacher, who has given them the knowledge to allow them to provide our clients full satisfaction with our services.

We apologize if you feel our therapist inexperience, and training has been on the way to make sure our service is consistent.

We thank you for your honest feedback for us to improve better.

Warmest regards,

Richard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sokkhak Spa also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Sokkhak Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing