We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and friendly A+++++”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Ranked #85 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start, firstly an enormous apartment, black and white tiled floors, very palatial. Huge bed, maybe a bit sparsely furnished, but there is everything you want and more even a very new front loading washing machine. Fully equipped kitchen, which we only used for tea. The breakfast was gourmet, eggs florentine one day, French toast another. Yogurt and fresh fruit, salads, Cambodian breakfast or French style, best bakers and pastry cooks ever, my husband loved the bread pudding style squares, I could go on and on but if breakfast is your meal look no further, plus the staff are so attentive and friendly. We had room service for lunch one day and it was sensational and their Khmer duck curry was to die for. We had the best 5 days there. Also the pool is beautiful and the staff and management can't do enough for you. One big plus whilst talking to the operations Manager we learnt that the place is Cambodian owned and operated. We couldn't recommend this place highly enough. If you get one of the tuk tuks from out the front ask for Teddy, he was an excellent driver and speaks good English

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amango12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 560 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a suite. HUGE rooms, fully decked out kitchen, washing machine, lounge room. Complex has pool, bar, great location $2 tuk tuk ride to town or 15 min walk. All staff very friendly and helpful with any request. Hotel is about 4 stories and there is no lift but with strong wi fi and breakfast included at $60 a night whose complaining.

Room Tip: Suite and lower room because of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights..
we didn't spend much time in the hotel as our itinerary is tight ..
Overall very good stays ,
I recommend to try the in house SPA , we have gotten 30 min free during our stays and it was really rejuvenate.

Room Tip: we experienced flies problem during our stay at the lounge area, specially table arranged at the con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashokan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just spent 3 relaxing nights in Siem Reap and loved the great location and super friendly staff at this hotel. Even had a meal on the first night in the restaurant due to a late arrival that was very nice.

Room Tip: Go for the suite. Extra space was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wondalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

What a gem this place was; our room was palatial--with balcony overlooking the pool, bedroom, living room and kitchen. The staff was very accommodating and helpful making our stay in Siem Reap top notch.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked Chateau D'Angkor la Residence, because of other trip advisor reviewers, it was as previously notified, I found out the Cambodian who owns the resort originally wanted to build apartment's for rental, this is why when you book, your offered either a 1 bedroom apartment or 2, we chose to book a 2 bedroom suite, they are very large inside, the only problem is, ours was on the 3rd floor, thats 3 flights of steps, no lift, and when you get back of an evening your tired from all those temples you went to see, and its mega hot, and sticky, however, it was only for 2 nights so we were able to negotiate it as best we could.

The Apartment suites are fairly sparse in their furniture, however, you have a 3 seater local style furniture to sit on, with 2 chairs, a good t.v. service, a large shower and separate WC, and bath if you need it, a fully equipped kitchen including washing machine to wash your own clothes, iron and board, and coffee and tea, their is a meagrely stocked fridge with a couple of cokes, beers, sprites, etc, but the drinks are fairly cheap, 1 USD each, so not a big dent in your final hotel bill.

The bedrooms are comfortable, and the air conditioning systems are great, ours worked very well, and no issues there, also the hotel offers you tours if you need them in an air conditioned van, but watch out, the van is privately owned, the drivers are contractors, working for the hotel, and they as usual expect the usual tip and thats often variable, depending on what they can get out of you.

A trip in an air conditioned 10 seater van is about USD 55.00 for the day, around Angkor Wat and Banteay Srei, plus the driver will take you to a nice place for lunch, where of course he always gets free food, amazing, isn't it, no doubt thats his commission for taking you there, that is fairly common we found out.

Over all the staff at reception are friendly, and attentive, breakfast is ok, not mind blowing, but you can order eggs, omelette etc on demand, i would say its good, and amazingly, they have Heinz Beans if you want it.

Just a friendly tip for you if your travelling with a hotel guide, if he suggests going to the floating village on a Siem Reap tour, my advice is...avoid it like the plague its a tourist rip of scam, USD 25.00 per head to go up a filthy river in dangerous boats, to see some shoddy crocodiles, and homeless people, only to attempt to extort you for money for orphaned children in a school which you don't see, my advice is...say no thank you, we don't want it, they will express surprise, that you don't want to go, there is something of a scam there, most foreigners I spoke to at the welcome center wouldn't go on the boats, its only Korean and Chinese who seem to go.

Overall, I was pleased with the booking, I would stay there again, for a 2 bedroom suite it was USD 99.00 per night and there was 4 of us in the apartment, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb high stairs, make sure you ask for something on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ginapeterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel review
Stayed here for a week in April 2013 with my wife and our 21 month old daughter. It was a mostly good experience, with a few minor annoyances and one major fault.

The hotel consists of 2 parallel apartment blocks, with the pool behind the second building. It's very well located; the centre of town is 10-15 minutes walk to the south, and there's a good sized supermarket 2 minutes walk to the west.

The single apartment worked great for our purposes, as it meant we could sleep in a separate room to our daughter, which meant everyone slept better. The room in incredibly spacious and made it a real pleasure to stay in and relax during the heat of the day.

The kitchen was OK, although pans, crockery and cutlery were in very short supply. Initially we had no knives! There was some laundry detergent, but no washing up liquid. There was also no bin, which rapidly turned into a frequent annoyance as even on the first floor, the ants would quickly find any food remnants.

Talking of the first floor, there is no lift. The stairs weren't too annoying, but given the amount of baby stuff we had to carry each day, I'm glad we weren't any higher.

The pool is great. It's a decent size if you want to do lengths, there are plenty of loungers and after about 3pm it was completely in shade. There was a partially separate shallow area which my daughter thoroughly enjoyed. The only criticism is that the underwater tiles are incredibly slippery and there's no clock in the pool area.

The main complaint, and it is a pretty big one, is that the standard of the food was far below the rest of the hotel. The first day we had a buffet, which was OK. It could have done with a bigger fruit/cereal selection, but it was serviceable. The problem was that the hotel was very quiet. The remainder of our visit, they decided there weren't enough guests for a buffet to be worthwhile. So we were subjected to a la carte. Which wouldn't be a problem except that there was no advance notice the buffet was going to be cancelled, scrambled egg on toast took 30 minutes to turn up (making us late for the start of our tour), they got the order wrong (regularly, it happened almost every time, to the point we gave up trying to get the right order), and the food was really terrible (one day, even the toast was stale!). Had we been staying longer, we would have started buying our own food and making breakfast ourselves. It was a real disappointment. We didn't eat dinner there as there were far better places to go.

Room Tip: Not on the top floor. Also ideally not overlooking the street; but really it doesn't matter that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
0.2 mi away
FCC Angkor
FCC Angkor
#80 of 373 in Siem Reap
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
0.1 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#95 of 373 in Siem Reap
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Angkor La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Address: Oum Chhay Street | Mondul II Village, Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $63 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau d'Angkor La Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Siem Reap just behind the Royal Residence, Château d'Angkor La Résidence has been designed and decorated in a blend of Cambodian and French traditional style derived from the French colonial era. Our suites are perfectly designed for couples, groups of friends or family travelers seeking maximum privacy and comfort. With only 12 One-Bedroom Suites and 16 Two-Bedroom Suites, our focus is on providing a high standard of customer service to every guest. All suites are air-conditioned and come with private kitchen and dining facilities, spacious living area with flat-screen cable TV, balcony, fully-stocked mini bar, washing machine, ironing facilities, safety box and en-suite bathroom. Our property also features an outdoor salt-water swimming pool and an in-house restaurant. Located in the Old French Quarter of Siem Reap, Château d'Angkor La Résidence is just two minutes' walk to shopping and visitor attractions such as the lively Pub Street or Old Market and it's only 15 minutes' drive from the World Heritage Angkor Wat site and Siem Reap International Airport. The Kingdom of Cambodia is a place you should never forget. Stay at Château d'Angkor La Résidence for an experience that lasts a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau d'Angkor La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing