We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charming place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serenite Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 514 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I spent two weeks there, of course I spent my time in and around the Angkor site, but I was delighted to back at the house everyday. It really felt more at home at a friend's house than anything else.
I loved the decoration, I was in the red room (not sure they call it like that) and I liked everything from the big poster bed to the elephant statues and the pictures on the wall, I was at peace in this room, all relaxed. The big ceiling fan and the A/C worked miracle for the heat and humidity of cambodia. Else, the bathroom was nice well decorated too (I love turquoise) and the shower worked well even with the water shortage.
What I liked most beside the decoration and the helpfulness of the owners was that it really felt like I was in Cambodia, close to the people, I went almost everyday to the market in front of the house, such an experience and the people are so friendly.
I liked walking through the temples just near the house to get to downtown Siem reap.
I loved this place a lot it made my stay in Siem reap a moment to remember outside of the visits I made.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sereniteguesthouse, Owner at Serenite Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you very much on our behalf for your review and words.
It was a pleasure to have you here and a pleasure to know that we could be of help and assistance in your journey in Cambodia.

Thank you so much, we wish you all the best and hope to see you again one day.

Pat@serenite owner/manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 188 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

I say surprised because we had booked a room in another guesthouse, mix up and everything...
Well, we were left stranded. So we started looking for another one, we asked a tuk tuk driver for one and of course he knew one (they always do), so we ended up,in front of an unmarked house not far from where we started.
Short version we end up at serenite and we get a room, far nicer than we would have expected and more, they made us pay the same price we would have paid at the other guesthouse ( we were tight on budget).
Stroke of luck for us as we spent a great week in siem reap thanks to pat and iza.
Their house is gorgeous and their photos sublime, we bought quite a few as they are selling prints.
I learned a great deal in photo with them and now I can make decent shots instead of the crappy ones I always did.
Anyway we stumbled on this place by accident and it was a happy one, pat and iza will make sure you have a great stay and if you wish you can have more than what you came for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ethan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sereniteguesthouse, Owner at Serenite Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

It is great to hear from you and we thank you for your kind words.
We were glad to have you and that we could help you.
I would also like to thank you for your praises about our photos, it was a pleasure to have passionate photographers such as yourselves.

We wish you the very best and we hope to see you again one day.

Pat@serenite, owner/manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our second stop on our trip around south east asia. We came here on recommendation from Mr. Seng who is the owner of europe guesthouse in phnom penh.
Once more we were not disapointed.
First of all the room we had was magnificent, there is a charm and atmosphere in this place we felt more like guest visiting relatives than simple customers.
Of course we primarily came to visit the site of Angkor. We spent three days touring the temples, everything was great thanks to our tuktuk driver and guide and thanks to the managers arranging things for us and giving great advice about what to do.
We wished we had spent more time in Siem reap, we were really welcome and the town is charming.
All in all this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: They both are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Turner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sereniteguesthouse, Owner at Serenite Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

We would like to thank you for your very positive review.
We are very pleased to hear that all went to your satisfaction and that you appreciated the decoration and how we handle things.

Once again thank you very much and we hope to see you again if you come back in Siem reap.

Pat@serenite owner/manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really this is what I call my kind of place, it is a real guesthouse and not a pseudo hotel in disguise.
I have been quite a few times to Cambodia and Siem Reap in particular and I must say this place is special to me.

First, it has been recommended to me by Mr. Seng, the well known owner of Europe guesthouse in Phnom Penh, so I knew it must be a good place and until recently it was kind of confidential.
By that I mean they had no internet presence, no website or anything so either you went there by chance or on someone's advice.

A few days ago I have received an e-mail by Iza and Pat, the owners/managers, asking me to share thoughts and experience about their Guesthouse.
Honestly I am happy to do it because the second and most important reason why this a great place is them.
When I asked why they change their policy about internet presence they told me they have a "project" which can mean anything....

Anyway I will start with the rooms, they are beautiful, really they are and this is because they both are artists, photographer and designer mainly, and it shows. Of course they put some of their photo on the walls, what else ? They are gorgeous and it sets a mood to have huge black and white pictures hanging in your room. The furniture are exquisite, locally handmade. The bathroom is spacious with a bathtub.
The rest of the house is mainly a big living-room where we spent time eating and chatting and listening to music, a kitchen, and a garden which is a nice place to sit and do nothing having a drink when there aren't too much mosquitos.
What else, the house is great and they provide a good service almost anything you need, be it for the visits, the town, transportation, informations.
Another thing is the location, you are 5/10 minutes walking to the main tourist hub of Siem Reap, you have a nice Khmer market just in front of the house and a Buddhist temple nearby.
This feels more like being in Cambodia than say more touristic venues.

Now I must speak of them : Iza and Pat. I know they love Cambodia, that's why they came here.
I don't know how to put it but they are kind of peculiar, I mean they have done so many things in their lives, they know so much and they want to share with people.
I must sound a bit confused but what I mean is they are Great people. That's why if you stay there you won't regret it or you may bash heads with each others.
Because remember it's a guesthouse, it's their house and they live in it and they were kind of choosy about the people coming into their home.

This may not be my best review, but I speak from the heart. This place has a soul, the people running it are great.
If you are the kind of traveller who wants to discover and share, if you want something different, something personal and unique, if you want to be a Guest, a friend and not just a client or customer then this place is for you, as it has been for me.

Room Tip: There two rooms both are beautiful so take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank shinyakaisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sereniteguesthouse, Owner at Serenite Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for your very kind review.
We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Our goal is to make your stay at Serenite the best possible and we are proud when we succeed.
You are very accurate in your description of us, our personalities and our guesthouse, thank you.
We wish you a lot of new trips and discoveries and we hope to see you again in Cambodia.

Pat@serenitegueshouse, owner/manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank 01joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Albertthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ulrike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#36 of 373 in Siem Reap
2,529 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#41 of 373 in Siem Reap
5,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#23 of 373 in Siem Reap
3,785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jasmine Family Hostel
Jasmine Family Hostel
#175 of 311 in Siem Reap
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenite Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenite Guesthouse

Address: Wat Damnak Village Sangkat Salakomreouk | House N°107, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 514 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $25 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenite Guesthouse has two beautifully decorated rooms and a garden to welcome you in the center of Siem Reap. We are well located, in front of a Khmer market and near the Wat Damnak temple. We are 5-10 minutes away by foot from the touristic center of Siem Reap. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing