We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avatar Angkor Hotel
Ranked #325 of 486 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and friendly staff.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is located handy to every main places such as shopping center, old market, night market and also to famous pub street.

The staff were very friendly. It seemed like they have trained very well to make sure that we enjoy our stay. If you needed any help just went down to the reception they will do what ever they can to find your things that you wanted.

DON'T MISS if you travel to Siem Reap!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sokry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
392 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived a few minutes before midnight at Avatar Angkor Hotel after the 8pm Cebu Pacific flight from Manila. The hotel is a few minutes drive from the airport, located in the city proper; few minutes walk from market and other convenience. On first impression, Avatar Angkor Hotel looks old and 'not nice' being dimly lighted with mosquitoes bothering my attention. The front desk officer though was so polite and accommodating. The confirmation of our booking was not yet reflected in their list (since we booked just few minutes before boarding the plane way back at NAIA) and we were not able to print it but he did consider the soft copy i retrieved from my laptop. Surprisingly the room was big, high ceiling with equally large bathroom. Bed was big as well with thick mattress. Floor tiles though looked very old and dirty and it took long for the air conditioner to cool the room. We had very good sleep anyway 'till the following morning.
Another surprise, we noticed that the floor tiles were actually made to look old but very clean, furniture and fixtures were those of old wood and designs. Behind the thick curtain is a sliding glass separating the balcony overlooking the main street. Going downstairs for breakfast in garden-like setting restaurant, we noticed that everything in this hotel was made to look old. The service though was impressive.They arranged our bus transfer to Phnom Penh including pick-up from the hotel. And the price ; it's good-value for money :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This may seem superficial of me but i booked this hotel bcos i love the way the bathroom looks! i am so into black&white tiles. haha! So anyway, i was on a last min trip with my sister and we didn't have much chance to look around so we just decided to take it.
Very, very impressed with their service. Forgot the name of the guy who received us when we arrived but he was so open and friendly! It was funny when he mistook me for his friend. Hahaha! He gave us a short intro to Siem Reap and the facilities of the hotel before showing us to our room. We were given a room on the first floor but initially,we asked him whether there were any room available with a balcony. Instead of just changing rooms for us, he gave us his recommendations and even brought us up to see the balcony room first so that we can decide for ourselves which room would suit us better. We ended up taking the 1st floor room as it was more convenient and felt more welcoming.(I think it's more likely that we dreaded the climb up and down the stairs everyday! ;p)
Although the hotel isn't huge, the room that we got is surprisingly roomy and the beds are super comfy! There's a rack for you to hang your clothes, shelves to put your stuffs and they even provide slippers. And the bathroom! I really think it's bigger than mine back home.. Everything was neatly arranged, hot shower available, and although there were no bathtubs, there's a substantial amount of space for you to take a shower!
We had a power outage on one morning and it was quite a shock to wake up in the dark, starting to perspire and the silence was deafening! A bit disoriented at first but since we already heard that this happens quite commonly in Siem Reap, we weren't too bothered about it as we will be out for the whole day and hoping that the electricity will be back by the time we returned. Hee.
Despite that incident,we had a great short stay in this hotel. the room that we booked came with breakfast. And oooohhh, they offer free airport transfers too! =)
We weren't looking for something classy so the hotel turned out to be a really good choice with good value!

Room Tip: Request for a room on the first floor if you don't like climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SitiRaihanah-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel's only shining light was its staff, they were very friendly and always willing to help where they can, they were faultless. I feel that for $50US per night, you could find somewhere better. The rooms were ok but felt dirty, the floor always felt as though it wasn't clean, the bathroom had a slight smell, I think it was the plumbing, was a bit off putting when you were using the bathroom. There must have been a problem with the power as we had multiple power outages during our stay, made it a little uncomfortable at night with no Air con, thankfully the outages where no longer than 15 mins max. The breakfast was good, no complaints there, the location is great and only a short tuk tuk ride from pub street, $2 or a 10 min walk. Really enjoyed our stay in Siem Reap but would probably stay elsewhere if we returned.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Avatar Ankor hotel the three stars hotel but you feel like you stay in the four or five stars hotel in town, with a friendly staff great service, Wonderful location close enough to walk everywhere. very good breakfast in the morning and more ......

Room Tip: Any room feel like you stay at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheiy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As this was our last couple of days in Cambodia after a 2 week trip, we decided to give this Cambodian owned & run hotel a try and I was very happy that we did.

This charming, inexpensive hotel was more than what I expected for the price.

What made this hotel so good was the helpfulness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. One of the staff even went to the shop for me to buy a recharge for my mobile phone.

The owners told me that the staff all came from larger 5 star properties in Siem Reap.

The room was clean and tidy, not that we spent much time in it and the breakfast was good and cooked fresh. The hotel supplies a free tuk tuk pick-up and drop-off service from the airport or bus station saving a few more dollars.

A tuk tuk will cost between 1 and 2 dollars to get to pub street and takes about 5 minutes. There are several smaller cheap restaurants around the hotel and if you are game, consider walking to the end of the street and try the local restaurant. The food was good and to say the least different.

This boutique hotel is a real gem for the price and I give it 4.5 stars as the service provided by the staff was the best I have seen.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones with a small balcony as you can sit out there with a cold beer and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoldCoastTezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We a mature couple found the Avatar Ankor hotel very friendly with great service. Wonderful location away from noise but close enough to walk everywhere. Breakfast really nice. Renovation still occurring and roadblocks out front, didn't bother us though.

Room Tip: If a smoker, ask for balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#8 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#89 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,499 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#43 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avatar Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avatar Angkor Hotel

Property: Avatar Angkor Hotel
Address: Tapoul village (5 min walk to old market & pub street) | #208, Group 11, Taphul Rd, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 486 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avatar Angkor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avatar Angkor Hotel is located in central Siem Reap, a short 5-minute walk to the popular Pub Street and Old market. With easy access to the Angkor Night Market, it also offers a daily breakfast, free 30 minutes traditional massage, free Wi-Fi and a free 2-way airport transfer service. The 17 air-conditioned rooms at Avatar Angkor Hotel feature private colonial style, polished colonial marble flooring and tasteful furnishings. Each comes with a flat-screen satellite TV and minibar. Private bathrooms are equipped with cold and hot shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Avatar Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing