We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most friendly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Butterfly Villa
Ranked #7 of 495 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zanka, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“most friendly stay”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in Golden Butterfly Villa for 6 nights and wish it were more! From the first moment on as we arrived, we felt at home and were amazed how friendly and kind everybody from the whole staff was! We had many accomodations during our time in Asia, but we never had such a great time with the people at any stay, everyone was so nice and helpful. We loved the free massage they offered, the free bicyles and the pikcnick package, and the great breakfast every morning. They had many options for tours all around Angkor for a reasonable price with a very nice driver, Mr Sunny, who took us to all places that we asked for, even when not part of the official tour, like a real local market in the outskirts of Siem Reap. We had a room on the top floor, so had to take lots of steps, but it was no problem after a day of climbing the temples and the room was very nice and clean, with free water and good internet connection. Location is great, too, just a few minutes to the night markets and pub street and the river. As it was Xmas time, they also had a tree and decoration, that we missed sometimes at other places later. All in all, it was the most pleasent experience we had since a long time, and would definately come back and/or recommed this hotel for everyone visiting Siem Reap!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perlakiszab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    188
    38
    8
    3
See reviews for
122
650
187
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Recently, we had the pleasure of staying at the Golden Butterfly Villa. We had a great experience, but to keep things short, let me just list out the pros and cons of our stay.

Pros:
- Very cheap accommodation, at only 30 USD per night.
- Excellent service, towels are provided when you return to the hotel, coupled with free drinks.
- Staff take the effort to greet you and even remember which room you stay in
- Free box of 2 bread per person
- Free 45min massage at the hotel
- Free Wifi all around the hotel, with desktop computers at the lobby for use.
- Free coffee and tea for all meals
- You can purchase breakfast and other meals at the hotel, at a reasonable price with really good taste.

Cons:
- There are no lifts, which means you'll have to climb up the stairs all the time. If you're worried about the weight if your luggage, fret not, their staff will carry it for you.
- Wifi is with a login system, which means it will log you out really frequently so you'll have to key in the passcode repeatedly.

In conclusion, it's a fantastic place to live in, with excellent service. Never have I experienced such good service in other hotels I've been to. I really feel at home and highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank GenaTAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The staff go out of their way to be polite and helpful although English is quite limited. They give great extras like free bicycles, complimentary massage and 2 Cambodian videos to watch in the room. Rooms well equipped and everything super clean

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evieinindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were met at the airport on our very late night arrival by Meng and his tuktuk , a complimentary transfer arranged by Golden Butterfly through emails. The welcome on our arrival at almost midnight was very warm and a good start for the 6 nights we stayed here. For your information this hotel does not have elevators and the rooms go all the way up to the 4th floor. The staff very happily delivers suitcases up to your room so for us, a very mature couple, it was not a problem to be on the 3rd floor.The room was big enough, the bed comfortable, a refrigerator and kettle for boiling water was provided. The bathroom was clean and well supplied with toiletries.

The staff is very well trained to be friendly and yet professional. They were so anxious to help and to solve problems. We appreciated the leadership of their manager, Mr. Richard Phanith. an an articulate, amiable, and conscientious man.

Breakfast is not usually included in the room price but they are available in the restaurant, modestly priced and a good value. Lunch and dinners are equally food. Tea and coffee are always available in the lobby, along with bananas. On arrival from a tiring day of temple viewing you are met on return to the Golden Butterfly with cold towels, drinks and a snack. I have not even mentioned the take-out box of pastries for temple tours and the hour massage, all complimentary. I hope to have the chance to return to Siem Reap and its beautiful temples and to experience again the superb service that my husband and I were given by the staff of Golden Butterfly Villa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jauchzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Incredible service, that is what you can say about this place, extremely nice and kind people, I felt almost embarrassed. Very warm welcome, complimentary massage, free bike rental, the only thing one could miss is a swimming pool....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Apart from all that has been said, I would just like to add that they are extremely flexible, solving and problem and fulfilling any wish within seconds. In our case it happened to cancel one tour, change the hour twice for another one - no problem. Also, our returning flight was late in the evening. So we did the check-out in the morning, left for the temples for half a day, and when we came back, they gave us another room, for showers and a nap. The "crew" at Golden Banana are just like a bunch of friendly, cheerful, playful meerkats or kittens, and their mood is contagious.

Room Tip: I think rooms facing backwards are more quiet for the late sleepers; there's a school just in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igheorghita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We only stayed at the Golden Butterfly Villa for 1 night, but what a great hotel!

Upon arrival we were greeted with ice cold drinks and towels. Exactly what we needed after a 7 hour bus journey! They also provided a free transfer from the bus station, which was great!

The rooms were clean and spacious and even had a dvd player, which was an added bonus!

The staff were so friendly and helpful, gave us tips on where to eat and go out in Siem Reap.

The night market and restaurants are a 2 minute walk away so the location couldn't have been any better.

They also provided a free 1 hour massage for all 4 of us, which was EXACTLY what we needed after walking around Angkor Wat for 10 hours!

Don't hesistate to book this hotel, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 356 in Siem Reap
3,628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#41 of 356 in Siem Reap
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#13 of 356 in Siem Reap
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#70 of 356 in Siem Reap
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#119 of 356 in Siem Reap
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Butterfly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Butterfly Villa

Property: Golden Butterfly Villa
Address: Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 495 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Butterfly Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two generations of experience in hospitality & hotel business brought to you in one of the finest hotels in Siem Reap . . A guarantee forExcellent Service and a Pleasant Stay . . .A dedicated team of English speaking Staff will be at your service to make your stay at our hotel as pleasant and comfortable as possible. -Tour arrangement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Butterfly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing