We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm, very welcomming and professional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Butterfly Villa
Ranked #6 of 513 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

At first, I was surprised with a really charming welcoming. The staff is very friendly and tries to introduce you to the Cambodian culture and dayly life. The general manager and especially Takea do a very good job, thanks guys!
The rooms are wonderfully decorated and very clean. Having checked the other comments which mention disturbing noise from the construction site nearby - don't worry, it's no biggy at all!

Room Tip: No need to have a room with balcony. You will have acces to a bigger one anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

After setting foot at the entrance of the hotel, we were greeted by the receptionist and gave us cold towels to refresh (i forgot his name, sorry). Then as we took a seat, there came the roasted nuts, watermelon, sticky rice with jackfruit and iced tea, all for free (the iced tea was so good we asked for another serving)! The hotel staff is so friendly and warm. I can say that it is really a home away from home. We also availed their 30-min complimentary massage which is so good after the temple tour. The restaurant normally opens at 6:30 am but they can prepare your breakfast earlier if you requested. Highly recommended and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

From the moment you set foot in Golden Butterfly Villa, you really feel you are taken care of. A face towel, cold tea, and a slice of watermelon are offered... everytime you come through the door and have a seat in the first floor area. That was the best thing about the hotel, the staff. They are so hospitable and friendly and will bend over backward for you. A tuk tuk driver was arranged for me through the hotel for two days at Angkor Wat (ask for Saveon, he is an awesome driver!).
The hotel is tucked away down an alley about a 5-10 minute walk to Pub Street and the markets. The walk through the neighbourhood is great because there are lots of options for eating. Free bikes are available so there really is no excuse to not get out and explore. The rooms are clean and air conditioned. There are four computer terminals if one needs to connect. Breakfast was not included but they do have an extensive menu. I did try one of the Khmer breakfasts of beef noodle soup and it was quite good.
There were a couple of negatives. One was the wifi connection was weak in the room I was in, which was on the back side of the hotel. I found it was stronger as I moved the front side of the hotel. And the connection in the lobby was not a problem.
The other negative is out of the hotel's control and it was some noise at around 6 am from the neighbouring residence. Oddly, they would play their club music a bit loud and you'd think someone was working out at that hour of the morning.
Other than that, I would definitely stay here again because the good definitely outweighed the bad.

Room Tip: Grab a bike and go for a ride around. A lock is provided if you need to stop at the market or a rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I've been traveling around Asia for about a year now and have stayed in a lot of budget travel accommodation. This guesthouse is a huge step above everything I have stayed at and definitely is one of the best places I have stayed so far. First we were welcomed with a complimentary cold towels to wipe our brows (it was 40 degrees in May) then a complimentary ice cold fresh lemon juice, nuts, sticky rice and water melon! Juntu then checked us into our rooms, the sweet staff took our bags to our room. We were given a voucher for a free 30 minute Thai/Khmer massage which we extended to 1 hour and a half as one hour only cost $3. They were so good we had another hour massage the next day. We also got a free breakfast lunchbox containing two small bananas and four small pastries for our sunrise trip to Angkor Wat. When we came back from the searing heat in the afternoon reception welcomed us with an ice cold towel to wipe away the sweat. Our rooms were lovely, super clean, satellite TV, hot/cold shower, comfy bed and were cleaned everyday if you wanted. The staff bend over backwards to serve you, service was always with a smile. I can't recommend this place enough. It's only 5-10min walk to pub street and shops. The food in the restaurant is amazing and good value, they were good at making us take away sandwiches for our lunch for Angkor Wat. There's no food inside the giant complex only expensive food stalls around the car parks. They helped book for us the lovely Giant Ibis bus to take us to Phnom Penh at ticket price (€12 with no extra commission). I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripTommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a very nice hotel for the money. Centrally located, only a couple of minutes walk to the main part of town (markets, pub street etc).
On arrival, they sat us down and gave us amazing welcome drinks & nibblies. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, nicely decorated. The only downside we found was that it doesn't have a pool, which can be wanted when it is 30-35 degrees after a long day walking around Angkor Wat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkTBrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was our BEST stay in Cambodia and BEST value by far. The service was impeccable and the 'extras' they provided -- free thirty min massage per person, welcome drink, picnic basket -- were bonuses.

Service:
Service was amazing, which was exceptional considering how many visitors they must have stay.

Room:
The room itself was cute with a little balcony, AC, hot water, etc. A little small and the bathroom was okay (slippers provided but looked dirty!), but honestly given the price we paid this was beyond our expectations.

Location:
The hotel is situated off the main road and near to the famous pub street. We liked that it was a little further from the hustle and bustle but still a short walk. Note that the streets to the hotel can be a bit dark and secluded at night, we felt okay even though we were two females but it may be worth getting a tuk tuk if you're nervous.

Massage!
Get the $3/hour massage! You got 30mins free with your stay, but the price for any additional massages is unrivaled in Siem Reap. You also get a little cucumber mask in the beginning which was refreshing.

Tour:
The hotel helped us arrange trips to Angkor Wat and the prices seemed reasonable, if a little limited in options. You can modify the trip with your driver but also have negotiate the price if you do that.

Food:
We had a simple breakfast -- not included -- and some dinner food here, which was okay. There are other options around the hotel so you are not obligated to eat there.

Other:
There were quite a few mosquitoes -- perhaps due to the little pond right at the entrance of the hotel? so bring mosquito repellent when you sit in the restaurant

Overall, an amazing stay at this hotel and we strongly recommend it given the value.

Room Tip: Lower floors probably better as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Couldn't recommend this place enough. The staff bend over backwards to help you and the rooms are nicely decorated and clean. On arrival we were greated with free food and drinks and a token for a free 30 minute massage. The main town is about a 5 minute walk away with a good selection of restaurants and bars, although the food in the guest house is also great. The staff even made us sandwiches ready for 5am when we went to visit Angkor Wat at sunrise! Unbeatable value at $6 a night per person for 2 double rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dread839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#23 of 365 in Siem Reap
3,748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#45 of 365 in Siem Reap
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#12 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#73 of 365 in Siem Reap
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Khmer Mansion Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Butterfly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Butterfly Villa

Address: Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $29 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Butterfly Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two generations of experience in hospitality & hotel business brought to you in one of the finest hotels in Siem Reap . . A guarantee forExcellent Service and a Pleasant Stay . . .A dedicated team of English speaking Staff will be at your service to make your stay at our hotel as pleasant and comfortable as possible. -Tour arrangement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Butterfly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing