We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel like at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Butterfly Villa
Ranked #6 of 488 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“feel like at home”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

very very good place to stay, suprisingly cheap
friendy stuff, great rooms (clean and quiet)
very good service (free pick up at the airport, serve you free little snacks when returning from angkor, organize tuctucs and guides to angkor as well as bus tickets (you won't find a cheaper way to get bus tickets), free bikes, free internet...)
if we ever come back one time - we will stay there again - for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No_Name_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    184
    38
    7
    3
See reviews for
119
635
181
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We arrived late from the airport and were very curious about the highly recommended Butterfly Villa. It is in a quite area with red road but Siem Reap center (night market) is in about 5 minutes walking distance. Our welcome was very friendly with delicious fresh lime lemonade and Cambodian rice cake. The rooms were quite big, clean and furnished modern but with Khmer influence. We ordered typical Khmer food for reasonable prices which was excellent and can also be served to the room. In the morning staff helped us to make up a plan for our three days stay and booked a Tuk Tuk driver for us (also for reasonable price). Mr. T was a young English speaking, very friendly and save driver who took us to various Angkor temples, Tonle Sap lake as well as back to the airport. He offered us cold water and refreshment towels each time we came back to his Tuk Tuk after sightseeing. All in all Cambodia at its best!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuktuk-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We arrived a bit late for check-in, but the hotel had arranged for pick-up at the airport so from the time we landed to the time we were checked-in, everything was incredibly smooth. This was our first time to Cambodia so it gave us great peace of mind.

The staff are wonderful. So sweet and helpful. The room itself was sufficient in size and with great amenities for the price. Everything you'd want, minus perhaps an in-room safe and drinking glasses. Drinking glasses in the rooms are pretty standard and really I feel it was the only minor oversight of the hotel. When I asked however, glasses were provided by the restaurant downstairs.

The driver they provided was safe, honest, helpful and all around a nice guy. No hustling here. He picked us up at the airport and was available every day for anything we wanted to do, at a reasonable rate.

I would highly recommend the Golden Butterfly Villa as a fantastic hotel for the price. If I return to Siem Reap I would undoubtedly book here again.

Room Tip: We didn't miss not having a balcony at $5 extra... since the town is very dusty and full of mosq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed 3 nights at the Golden Butterfly Villa and I would recomend it to everyone! They picked us up for free with tuc tuc (which was great after a very tiring journey by bus from Bangkok). The hotel is very clean and its interior is beautiful. We booked a luxurious room with balcony and it was even better than the picture showed. The best part of the hotel is the staff. Very friendly and they go out of their way to help their guests. As mentioned in the other reviews, the hotel provides you with many extras included in the price. Massage, packed picknick etc. We used their free bicicles twice. Very nice way to see more of the countryside! Siem Reap itself is quite touristy, but just outside town you see the real Cambodia. I am really glad we booked this hotel, cannot imagine there is a better one for this price combined with such high level of service! The food served at restaurant is also great by the way and not more expensive than in restaurants in town...This hotel deserves its high rating for a 100 %!!!

Room Tip: Luxurious room with view and balcony; clean and spacious and the balcony is a real bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marieke01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place was something else--the service was fabulous, especially for the price. We got free pick up from the bus station, an ice lime tea welcome drink upon arrival, wet towels presented to us upon entering the hotel each evening to refresh with, free fruit randomly served to us when lounging in the lobby area, our breakfast cooked and packed for us at 5:30am free of charge so we could take it with us to view the sunrise at Angkor Wat... the list goes on and on. This hotel had a great ambiance, the staff was really friendly, the room was comfortable and had a balcony, and the hotel had everything we needed--we arranged all our transport to the Angkor temples here as well as our onward transport, and we ended up eating in the hotel restaurant half the time too because the selection and prices were hard to beat. Staying here made our whole Siem Reap experience all the more enjoyable. I can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: My brother stayed in a room at the end of the hall, where it seemed mosquitoes liked to linger... we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay at Golden Butterfly for 2 nights. The room was a corner room so lots of light, with a nice balcony to step out on. The reception and wait staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Every time you sit in the lobby, you're given some watermelon and cold tea, very refreshing. Food on restaurant is ver good also. Overall, a great value at $25.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

we were staying 3 days in this hotel. It's good located, the rooms are big, nice, clean and confortable. You can get free tea, coffee and some fruit all day. The best is the staff, so helpful and friendly. They also offered us a 30 minutes massage and a picnic for free. If we visit again Angkor wat we will stay in this hotel and I would recomend it to everyone

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 345 in Siem Reap
3,549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 345 in Siem Reap
1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#37 of 345 in Siem Reap
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#10 of 345 in Siem Reap
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Suites Hotel
Cheathata Suites Hotel
#54 of 345 in Siem Reap
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#98 of 345 in Siem Reap
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Butterfly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Butterfly Villa

Property: Golden Butterfly Villa
Address: Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 488 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Butterfly Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two generations of experience in hospitality & hotel business brought to you in one of the finest hotels in Siem Reap . . A guarantee forExcellent Service and a Pleasant Stay . . .A dedicated team of English speaking Staff will be at your service to make your stay at our hotel as pleasant and comfortable as possible. -Tour arrangement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Butterfly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing