We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Butterfly Villa
Ranked #7 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location is outstanding. Very close to the old market, nightmarket and Pub Street, but not noisy at all. The service ist the best I ever had in asia. The reception can organize everything and ist cheaper as you can get. I paid for the hotel tuk tuk from the Hotel to the airport 3 US$. Everywhere else you have to pay 5 US $. The rooms are big, very cleam and absolutley new. Most of the room have a huge balcony, aircondition, fridge, cable tv with about 100 programms, But the best is the friendly stuff, When you return back to the hotel you get free cold ice Tea. Coffee and tea is always free of charge. 5 internet computers are evailable at the reception and the wifi is working in the rooms. A perfect stay.

Room Tip: From the 4th floor you have a perfect view, but there is now lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for three nights, very welcoming staff willtake care of you soon as you step in hotel. 5 star service, 4.5 star rooms , 2.5 stare pricing !!! We higly recomend to take tour of Angkor Wat with hotels rickshaw driver,very nice hard working ,pleasent and helpfull guy Mr.Theao (Tim ).

Room Tip: Ask for balcony , corner unit 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We are a couple from Germany (25-30 years old) and stayed for three days in this new hotel and loved this place. Even though it has been so cheap, it has the best service and the most friendly staff we ever had in a hotel, even much better and more individual than in a 5 star hotel.
Several wellcome drinks, cold tissues, Wifi for free, several breakfast choices (try the local Khmer breakfast, it is awesome!).
They organized our tour to Angkor Wat and we got a safe and great driver. They also booked our trip back to Bangkok!

Rooms: nice spacious rooms, we got flowers on the bed, flip flops to use in the room, nice bath room with warm water; we also had a balcony

Location: very close to restaurants, bars, shops

Thanks again, Golden Butterfly team, for this amazing time! We will never forget!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stay there for 3 nights and he had a very good time there.
Pick up service at bus station and further more 1/2h massage is incl. The stuff is very friendly and help to organize transportation.
Location is close to pub street and night market. So why not give them 5 star!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiWu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days.Always greeted by polite and friendly staff both at reception and restaurant.As the hotel is new they were eager to listen to our suggestions and improve.they arranged a free pick up from the airport and the same tuktuk driver took us all around and dropped us back to Mekong bus stand.we are very happy with the service we received.If we go back again we will stay in the same hotel.

Room Tip: High floors are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swaminathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We've been backpacking around Asia for three months and were looking forward to staying somewhere nice in Siem Reap. The Golden Butterfly surpassed all of our expectations. We were offered a welcome drink and sweet and talked through the facilities of the hotel by a very courteous member of staff. We were given a room on the first floor at the end of the corridor, which was very quiet. The rooms were beautifully decorated with traditional Cambodian fishing baskets on the wall and wonderfully clean. The wifi signal in the rooms were good and towels were changed everyday and bottled water given. The staff are all really friendly and cannot do enough to help you. They even gave us an extra key fob so we could keep the fridge running whilst we were out. What was also nice is that they weren't pushy or aggressive about selling you the temple tours which they offered which was nice. As the hotel has only been open for a few months, there are some areas of improvement which we shared with the hotel manager. For example, the hot water was not always available - from what I understand this is a common problem due to many people using the shower at the same time. The toilet also sometimes smelt of sewage but this went away after we let the room air a little. Also, at the end of the corridor there are doors leading to a stairwell with no barriers. The doors were sometimes left open so if you have young children this this could potentially be a safety hazard. We shared some of these concerns with the Manager when he asked us for some feedback. This was really impressive and demonstrated the high commitment to customer service at this hotel. He even offered us some complimentary snacks as compensation! However, the aforementioned are all small areas for improvement and to be honest for $20 you really can't go wrong. Overall, we were so impressed and happy with the service that we extended our stay. We have travelled rather extensively around the world and we think that this is one of the best value hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitekite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in the Golden Butterfy Villa for 3 nights having been recommended to do so when the sister guest house the Golden Temple Villa was full. We paid $25 per night for a superior double room and the value for money was incredible.

The hotel is brand new so everything is in excellent condition. The room included quiet efficient air conditioning, a balcony, free bottled water, flat screen cable tv and a really nice bathroom.There are a wide range of meals and drinks available in the restaurant and by room service, both Khmer and Western choices at low prices.

The customer service was excellent throughout. We received automatic cold drinks and face towels whenever we settled in the lounge area and none of the staff could do enough to ensure we were looked after. We received free collection and drop off for our buses in and out of town, they booked us an excellent driver and guide for Angkor Wat. The room fee even included a free massage and free bike hire to explore Siem Reap.

The Golden Butterfly Villa is exceptional. It is rare to find such good customer service and impossible at such a low price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#10 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#21 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#13 of 361 in Siem Reap
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#72 of 361 in Siem Reap
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#3 of 361 in Siem Reap
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Butterfly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Butterfly Villa

Address: Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $29 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Butterfly Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two generations of experience in hospitality & hotel business brought to you in one of the finest hotels in Siem Reap . . A guarantee forExcellent Service and a Pleasant Stay . . .A dedicated team of English speaking Staff will be at your service to make your stay at our hotel as pleasant and comfortable as possible. -Tour arrangement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Butterfly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing