We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked this one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #91 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really liked this one”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Really loved this hotel. Room are huge, wood floor and furniture is gorgeus, window looking to the pool, great service, they treat us like Cambodian kings :)
They arrange everything for us, airport pickup, tours, guides, dinners, upsaras, etc.
Spanish speakers must hire Ky Rathana, best spanish speaking Angkor guide ever!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mugriento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHAN Phoeum H, Assistant General Manager at Royal Crown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Mugriento,

Greeting from Royal Crown Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for taking time to write a great review on TripAdvisor.

We are really delighted to read all your positive words. We will share this with our teams.

We do hope that we will have a pleasure time to welcome you back again in the short future!!!

Kind regards,

PHAN Phoeum (Mr.)
Assistant General Manager
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    319
    91
    15
    8
See reviews for
129
325
90
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

or better yet read the reviews on tripadvisor first before you book... we booked this hotel because it was recommended by a friend who described it as awesome. Reception was ok but when we got to our room we had to check and recheck the name of the hotel if indeed this was the same hotel our friend described. Although said to be new it doesn't seem so. Toilet and bath needs improvement. Buffet breakfast was so-so. There is a Roofdeck resto had a nice view but food gets to you cold already. However, on the plus side it's very near the old market, pub street and night market area that's just one of its redeeming quality. And oh if you're after a massage or spa service just get one from the numerous ones outside better and cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc_doe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHAN Phoeum H, Assistant General Manager at Royal Crown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greeting from Royal Crown Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We apologize for cold food, we will recheck wit our F & B manager. Thank you for you feedback on our toilet and bath. All your feedback will be a great point for our improvement . We will share this with our team.

We do hope we will have great time to welcome you back some day!!!!

Best regards,
PHAN Phoeum
Assistant General Manager
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

shower floods all over the floor, big room but very basic for the price, toilet has a glass door
breakfast was terrible for me, but i guess i come from the wrong country
great location, good pool but still generally disappointed, had a 4 night stay in Siem Reap with 2 nights booked here through Agoda but decided not to stay on for a further 2

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dion h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHAN Phoeum H, Assistant General Manager at Royal Crown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a view on TripAdvisor. We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy you stay at our hotel. On behalf of out team management, we would like to apologize for inconvenient cause during your stay.

There are various foods for breakfast such as Asian, western, vegetarian, cold, hot soup and eggs station that you can enjoy with our friendly cook.

We hope that we will have a great time to welcome you back someday and we will assist you directly with your accommodation and your requirements.

Best regards,
PHAN Phoeum
Assistant General Manager
Old Market Area, Siem Reap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a quality, old style hotel and spa at a very reasonable price.

Conveniently located to the Night Market and Old Town, this property provides a feeling of French SE Asia of old, yet with all the modern conveniences. This is especially important when you consider the impoverished condition of the local area. Tourism is really just beginning to take hold for the Angkor Wat area and the economy is taking an aggressive stance to welcome people from all around the globe.

The breakfast was nothing short of wonderful. Western and Asian mix well at the buffet table and the service, even at peak season, was grand. Strong coffee, mild congee and pastries make for a good start to the touring day.

The spa is excellent.

Enjoy the facility. It is not a Four Seasons, but a quality property at a reasonable expense.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave Tibbals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHAN Phoeum H, Assistant General Manager at Royal Crown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Dave Tibbals,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We are really delighted to read all your positive words and your highlighted on our location, property's features and breakfast. We will share this with our team.

We do hope that we will have a pleasure time to welcome you back again in the short future!!!

Best regards,

PHAN Phoeum (Mr.)
Assistant General Manager
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Old Market Area, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

If it wasn't for the first night where there were bed bugs in our room, it would have been a better experience. I understand that hotels of all different qualities may have the misfortune of having bed bugs. However, HOW a hotel deals with it is what ultimately matters. I was not happy at all about how the Royal Crown dealt with it when, on our first night's stay, there were bed bugs in the room.

We returned to our room after having dinner at the hotel. My partner noticed something move across the pillow. If he hadn't, we would have went to bed none the wiser. We pulled back the bed covers and discovered two adult bed bugs running around looking for their next meal. Initially I thought they were cockroaches or something (having never experienced bed bugs before), but a quick look on the internet confirmed our suspicions as they looked exactly the same (and we took photos to prove it).

We reported it to reception, who had NO idea what we were talking about. Eventually they sent someone to the room who we had trouble communicating with, but again, I don't think he understood what they were. He picked them up, we all went down to reception, and one of reception then said bed bugs - but the way they responded still didn't give me confidence that they realised it was a serious issue.

We were switched rooms for that night (to a twin room, which we were unhappy about, but the hotel was apparently full so what can you do?) and after much confusion, they said they would switch our room again the next day. All that was offered was a room change. I was not happy with this, so raised it with the manager the next day.

The manager, in effect, didn't understand what more we wanted from the hotel. He thought the room change was enough, and had the audacity to say that if we didn't find the room change satisfactory, we had the option to leave the hotel. I told him that the hotel was OBLIGED, at the least, to offer the room change - that it was not a favour. I was completely appalled at their response to the situation. Eventually, he reluctantly agreed to refund our dinner the night before (value USD$30) at my suggestion. I shouldn't have to suggest anything in the circumstances! It should really be up to the hotel to do something about a horrible first night staying at their hotel.

Then I later learn (via Agoda) that the hotel reported the issue to Agoda as cockroaches in the room.

The rest of our stay was uneventful (thank God!). Despite this, the hotel still fell slightly short of my initial expectations, although only in some areas (leaving out the bed bug mishap). This is because the bathrooms for the rooms are very strangely arranged, and (my mistake) I thought the grounds to the hotel would be a bit more bigger. However, excluding the bed bug incident, the stay was ok. The rooftop bar is really nice. The areas surrounding the pools are quite small, so expect to rub shoulders with other guests when they're busy. The buffet was great.

The customer service experience overall was appalling. While the housekeeping staff seemed lovely, some of the staff at reception and the bars are not particularly friendly. It really does come down to a few particular individuals giving service you would expect, compared to the rest.

The first day had a real effect on our overall stay, which we consider pretty disappointing.

Room Tip: The bathrooms are oddly designed and don't offer much privacy. Ok for couples/family (depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHAN Phoeum H, Assistant General Manager at Royal Crown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Kat C,

Greeting from Royal Crown Hotel & Spa, Siem Reap, Cambodia!

Thank you very much for taking time to write review on TripAdvisor.

We do apologize for inconvenient cause during your stay.
Cambodia is Tropical Country which we cannot avoid prevent 100% from insects, especially during night time when the door or window is opened. However, we solved the problem immediately by changing to the new room which has no insect, but the problem was raised again, asked for change the room. We changed and then asked for compensate. Finally we offered 30$ which was equal a half of room rate per night. We all understood the problems clearly.

We do hope you understand that we tried our best to satisfy your needs, but it is not compensation for the whole stay.

Once again thank you very much for choosing Royal Crown Hotel & Spa for your recently stayed. Hope we will have a precious time to welcome to back again someday!!!

Best regards,

PHAN Phoeum (Mr.)
Assistant General Manager
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Old Market Area, Siem Reap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Hotel has an absolutely superb location just minutes from the centre of the city, which was certainly larger than I expected. Everything was suitably clean and tidy, and the room was a good size. Rooftop bar was a real plus - minor downside was that the pool area is quite small, so you need to be quick with your towel. Transfer from the airport was efficient, as was the sorting of a tuktuk to tour Angkor Wat. Overall, for the price paid and the location, a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iain c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHAN Phoeum H, Assistant General Manager at Royal Crown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Iain,

Greeting from Royal Crown Hotel & Spa!

Thank very much for taking time to write candid review on TripAdvisor. We are really excited about your summation especially location. It seems that you tried all our facilities. We are glade that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel as your whole trip in Siem Reap.

We do hope that we will have a great time to welcome you back in the short future!!

Best regards,
PHAN Phoeum
Assistant General Manager
Roya Crown Hotel & Spa
Old Market Area, Siem Reap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Got a decent price for the hotel although coordinating via email was a bit of a pain (I would email a list of questions and get replies one at a time after asking again). We got a room in the old wing of the hotel and while it could have used a bit of sprucing up, it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is pretty good, bread is baked on-site. Would have loved to try out one of their two pools but it was too cold when we get back in the evening. Was a bit icked out to learn that the rubber slippers provided are washed and re-used for each guest.

The main thing this hotel has got going for it is location. The street is close enough to the main road and river to make the old market, pub street, the night market, and restaurants easily walkable but not too near that you have to deal with a noisy street. Quick 20min drive to the Angkor Wat area if you want to run back to the hotel in the event of a shoe emergency :-) Basically, its walking distance to the places you'll go to when not on a tour, and if you're on a tour the guide will fetch you so no need to be super near the temples since that area is more expensive anyway.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the rooms in the newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymiedivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHAN Phoeum H, Assistant General Manager at Royal Crown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Jaymie Divine,

Greeting from Royal Crown Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for your highlighting our location which set us a part from others. We do apologize for late and ineffective in email response. In this case, we did not get your first email, however, we will check our mail system so that we could reply you back effectively.

Thank you again for choosing Royal Crown Hotel & Spa for your recently stay! If your plan to stay in our hotel please let us know so that we can assist you with our best.

Best regards,

PHAN Phoeum (Mr.)
Assistant General Manager
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Old Market Area, Siem Reap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Crown Hotel
Royal Crown Hotel
#121 of 356 in Siem Reap
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#78 of 356 in Siem Reap
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
#99 of 356 in Siem Reap
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#119 of 356 in Siem Reap
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Rock Boutique Hotel
King Rock Boutique Hotel
#88 of 356 in Siem Reap
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel & Spa

Property: Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Address: Wat Damnak, Old Market Area, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crown Hotel & Spa is conveniently situated 3 minutes walking just across the Siem Reap River from the bustling French quarter and Old Market and Pub Street. The building has retained the true colonial French characteristics. The hotel is just 10 minutes drive from Siem Reap International Airport and it only 10 minutes to reach the world heritage temple of Angkor. The Royal Crown Hotel & Spa there are two swimming pools, one saltwater, one freshwater, and full moon bar rooftop, restaurant available pizza order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing