We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasnt blown Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #90 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wasnt blown Away”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This place is a 5 minute walk to Pub Street. Relative to the other places I stayed in Cambodia this place was a little expensive for what you got. The biggest redeeming factor is their amazing included breakfast buffet. Has everything you could possibly want there included an omelet station. As the rooms were $40 a night keep in mind this breakfast is worth about $6 a head.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohansays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    312
    89
    15
    8
See reviews for
126
318
86
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Positive Side:
First of all the location is great and everything is close by. The staffs are extremely polite and very helpful. Breakfast is okay. Pools are contested always.

Now let's talk about negative side:
Housekeeping sucks. Poor quality rooms, especially bathrooms are terrible. I cannot undeerstand this....what kind of dumb idea to keep the toilet doors semi open and it cannot be locked! Sorry to bring this up, is this a kind of European thing to have open toilet system? Even when couples involve romantically would never like to smell when the other spouse or partner crapping! Shower water runs out. Stingy on toilet papers...it goes on and on!

It is worth $50 bucks a night.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mahendran_sella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way to Battambang. There is a free airport shuttle but I forgot to say I wanted one so make sure you do that! Either way it's only $7 taxi from the airport. We walked to the market area in two minutes easy each day. Great pools with bar if you want to relax as we did one afternoon. The staff are super friendly and courteous. I thought I had booked a room with a queen bed, it ended up being two king singles but we didn't mind. Two showers in the bathroom, I used the free standing one with the huge shower head initially and the drain didn't work (flood) so used the one in the tub.
We payed 60% less than the normal price, I don't think I would pay full price for these rooms but you can generally get them on special somewhere on the net. All over very comfortable, clean, and most importantly fabulous staff. Im glad we were a little removed from the madness of the market area! We are staying here again in a couple of months.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliceontheroad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in the hotel whilst visiting the temples. As other reviewers mention the location is great as its a short and safe 10 minute walk to the restaurants and bars on Pub Street which I would not recommend unless you are 18 and looking for tasteless tourist trash. Siem Reap could be a beautiful town but the mass tourism has turned this formerly quiet little town into a neon lighted monster! Back to the hotel, given the low cost of the accommodation you are willing to downgrade your expectations somewhat however the only thing that disappointed us was the cleanliness. The bathroom in particular looked like it was need of a thorough clean. Other than that the rooms were adequate for a two night stay. The pools were great and the rooftop bar was excellent for an evening cocktail. Free airport pickup in a tuk tuk is also a great feature (never tried this before!).
One tip if you're staying here and want to visit the temples. From the second we landed in Siem Reap everyone wanted to take us to the temples and volunteered their services. Unless you know your Cambodian history and have read quite a bit about the temples you will need a proper profesional guide. We booked our temple visit with the in-hotel desk, probably cost 15 to 20 USD more than the cheapest offers we got on the street but it was well worth it. We only had one day for the temples and wanted to see as much as we could. There are two options available, the small tour and the grand tour, the small tour focuses on all the main temples and the grand tour only on two further away temples hence grand but entirely not the choice to make if you're only visiting for one day! I feel I need to clarify between the two options as we found language very much a barrier in service. We opted for the deceptively named "small tour" which was more than adequate. The guide himself was absolutely fantastic (wish I could remember his name) giving a great tour and providing a lot of information on the temples as we walked round them, Buddhism and Hinduism as well as contemporary Cambodian life. Highlight of our Indochina trip!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karagiozis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for three nights. Free pickup service from the airport.
Loved the location - short walking distance to old market and Pub Street. Don't feel like walking? Then it's just a $2 tuktuk ride away.
Spacious room. We had balcony overlooking the street but it wasn't noisy, as there was a glass door and another wooden door to block the noise.
Ample-sized toilet and bath. I just wish there was more space by the sink, I found it kinda cramped. Another minor annoyance was that there was no door to the toilet&bath. There was just a sliding glass door (open on top) which separated the sink and closet area with the toilet and bath/shower area. I preferred more privacy.
Tour desk was efficient, we arranged our tours with them, as well as the tuktuk ride to the airport. Good rates and friendly service.
Hotel staff (reception,concierge, restaurant) were all nice and courteous. They gladly helped us book for dinner at Haven Restaurant, as well as the dinner with Apsara dance show.
Breakfast spread was good, I especially loved the homemade yoghurt, the congee and the passion fruit juice.
Our flight out was late at night so we left our luggage for storage and used the swimming pools after we checked out. We preferred the smaller and quieter pool near the reception area. Towels and lounge beds were available.
Will definitely recommend this hotel to friends who're planning a trip to Siem Reap. And if we have a chance to go back, we'll most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RezC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

There were 9 of us.Checked in only around 7 in the evening. The only few disappointments i had was the door lock was pretty manual and the Bathtub wasn't capable of holding water. I was sooo dying of hot water bath as i had my backache after 7 hours bus ride from BKK. The rest, i dont have much to say as it's quite a simple place. BUt ofcourse with the language wise please try and speak slowly to the staff as they are willing to help and talk to you. That kind of feeling i dont usually get in Bangkok. We had 2-3 black out in the city jus the night before we leave. The restaurant food wasnt that tempting. If you're not looking at the 5 star facilities, this wont be the right one but.. if you're there simply with your value of money.. this is it. i wont have much complaint on the service or lack of facilities as this i found it value for money! Friendly staff,clean, good location.

Room Tip: We stayed at 301. good mattress( i like hard mattress) jus to check the door locks are functional, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location with just a short walk from the old Market, the night market and all the bars/restaurants you'll want to eat in. They have 2 moderate sized pools on either side of the reception entrance. We found that all the staff members were exceedingly friendly, polite and helpful and the rooms were very comfortable. Of the 2 days we spent there each morning they provided a different style of breakfast with a Western breakfast on the first morning and an Asian cuisine the next. They also provided us with free pick up/drop off transportation for the airport and also free wi-fi! I would definitely recommend the Royal Crown hotel to my friends and family and anyone interested in looking for a place to stay in Siem Reap!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangkwa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Crown Hotel
Royal Crown Hotel
#112 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#84 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#41 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
King Rock Boutique Hotel
King Rock Boutique Hotel
#88 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#110 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel & Spa

Property: Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Address: Wat Damnak, Old Market Area, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crown Hotel & Spa is conveniently situated 3 minutes walking just across the Siem Reap River from the bustling French quarter and Old Market and Pub Street. The building has retained the true colonial French characteristics. The hotel is just 10 minutes drive from Siem Reap International Airport and it only 10 minutes to reach the world heritage temple of Angkor. The Royal Crown Hotel & Spa there are two swimming pools, one saltwater, one freshwater, and full moon bar rooftop, restaurant available pizza order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing