We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mulberry Boutique Hotel
Ranked #94 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I booked this hotel 5 days before arrival and had the reservation confirmed through Agoda. They had a driver pick us up at the airport, which was great, and brought to the hotel. At reception, a worker greeted us, then told us that unfortunately, due to a computer glitch, we could stay at their hotel for only one night. They offered us the room free and to find us another the next day. Because we had only a few days in Siem Reap, we could not afford to lose one to re-packing, moving, etc. The explanation was that another couple had reservations much earlier than ours, which didn't make a lot of sense to us--why wasn't it in the computer? To be fair, they found us another hotel for that night when we asked and told the new place to buy us a dinner or massage at their expense.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 480 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

For some time now, there has been a trend to let some interior decorator run riot in a big villa and put it on the market as a "boutique" hotel, outside any rating system, but at top-end prices. Beware!
In fairness, the Mulberry has some very positive traits: a good location, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, a nice little pool and a decent, reasonably priced restaurant.
Our room, grandly called 'deluxe', is where it went sadly wrong. The interior decorator was clearly more familiar with fashionable colour palettes than the practicalities of hotel accommodation. A two-seater bench staring at a blank wall was squeezed into a small alcove, whilst a large flat-screen TV faced the door, without any possibility to sit down to watch it. Nor was there a place to set down a suitcase, short of the floor or said bench, which then left the bed as the only seating, facing the open bathroom. But the colour scheme was quite something, as was the dog barking all night long in the neighbours' yard, across the wall just outside the window.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulberry H, Manager at Mulberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear reader,

we would like to clarify that our deluxe room in our hotel is the lowest room category and what this client said that this room put up at at top-end prices is not true ! we don't know which hotel they are comparing with.
they only seen one room of the hotel so they are totally wrong to judge our hotel by saying this.
The price rang for this room is between 60$ - $84 for Cambodia boutique hotel standard where have a really good location in the center close to everything by walking distance, very good breakfast, quiet atmosphere, wonderful staff, lovely swimming pool ect ... compared to some other boutique hotel where 3km-5km away from the city, we are way still cheaper.

This client actually have booked their package through travel agent who managed their trip included with temple tour, transportation, tour guide, meal etc...that's probably the cause make the price is higher but it is t not hotel real price, guess they need to contact their travel agent to claim this issue if they feel that the room is expensive for their standard !

About the interior and color of the room, this is what we have designed our room for and its our standard we can't reach everyone favorite and in all of our website we have present enough of this room through the photo from every shape to avoid the disappointed and the full detail we are so sure that they have seen those photo before they decide to booked their room so why the complain later about the looks of the room ? it's pretty much no sense !

For more information.

1- Our first room category is " family suite " 6 family rooms are facing the pool
2- Our second room category is " Superior suite " 3 of them are facing the pool
3- Our third room category is "deluxe room " the lowest standard and lowest rate, no pool view.

Anyway we have improved the missed point and have added a sofa in front TV so all the client can sit down and watch TV from now on.

For the dog barking in the neighbors' yard, across the wall just outside the window of this room, it is out of our control and we have no authorize to stop our neighbor, every house here in this count have dog to protect their house at night but anyway the dog doesn't bark every night if any client who have this problem during your stay please inform to our front office staff to claim for discount or ask to move your room..we are very much happy to give a free upgrade to avoid the noise.

Best Regards,
Whole mulberry Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our group of 4 stayed here for 4 nights while touring the temples of cambodia. We have never been to siem reap before and chose this hotel based off of other reviewers. We were so happy to have trusted the reviews,as it turned out to be a great little boutique hotel in the middle of such a noisy city. You would never expect to find this place at the end of a small alley road. It was far enough away from all the hostels and shops, but close enough to walk or take a tuk tuk for about $2. Lush surroundings, professional and friendly staff, and clean rooms. They also picked us up from the airport promptly when our flight arrived. The restaurant has reasonable prices and the food is great, not one of us got sick! I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and i stayed 4 nights here at the beginning of January. i can honestly say we enjoyed it very much. The hotel was everything it said it was, it is a small boutique hotel, a peaceful haven, with friendly and very helpful staff.
We stayed in the Wooden House which was great, it was spacious and private and had all the necessary comforts with some added special little touches.
There is a lovely swimming pool set in very attractive gardens and a lovely outdoor restaurant where delicious breakfast was served.
The hotel is also very conveniently based near all the action without being on top of it.
We highly recommend this friend, luxury little haven.

Room Tip: Wooden house was spacious and set away from the other rooms. A great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very nice hotel with a reasonable restaurant and good and clean rooms. The large and very proper swimming pool is situated in the middle of the site, so you can reach it easily from all rooms. Being tired from visiting Angkor Wat, this is the right place to relax!

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Mulberry Boutique Hotel was perfect for our stay in Siem Reap. My husband and I got an upstairs suite with a balcony overlooking the pool and my brother in law and his family booked a two story family suite which worked perfectly for them. The setting was a secluded oasis in town, the pool divine and nice to take a dip in after a day at the temples, the rooms clean and well appointed and the kitchen served excellent and beautifully prepared food. We ate dinner there one night and a nice breakfast came with our rooms. The staff was well trained, helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. With our rooms also came the use of a tuk tuk and driver for a day and the guys were great taking us out to see the silk factory and War Museum (very humbling) and some other sites. We felt the price and value was excellent and would definately recommend this lovely boutique hotel and stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: As a couple we chose an upper floor suite with a balcony over the pool. The two story family rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great- the location is superb as fully noted in many other reviews, and our multi level room was fantastic. In addition, the tranquil sounds of the jungle at night were quite lovely and memorable. The only negative, and it is very minor indeed, was that we had to wait for a rather lengthy period of time before being escorted to our room upon check in, languishing for about 45 minutes in the sweltering heat of the outdoor "lobby" area, without any explanation why. Despite this, I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank jetsetter5195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
#83 of 373 in Siem Reap
876 reviews
1.5 mi away
The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort
The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort
#184 of 373 in Siem Reap
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#53 of 373 in Siem Reap
1,637 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#97 of 373 in Siem Reap
582 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#55 of 373 in Siem Reap
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulberry Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry Boutique Hotel

Address: City Center Area, Phum Steng Tmey, Song Kat Svay Dong Kum | Near Central Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $56 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mulberry Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the very heart of Siem Reap yet perfectly placed, The Mulberry Boutique Hotel is a quiet oasis. We aim to make you feel as relaxed and at home as possible in our spacious and modern hotel that stays true to it’s Cambodian setting. The Mulberry is situated about 7 km from Siem Reap International Airport and a 15-minute drive from Angkor Wat Temple. It’s also located 3 minutes away from the Pub Street. Hotel Mulberry Boutique offers various accommodation types. They are fully air conditioned and fitted with fine beddings and furnishings. They have flat-screen cable TVs, laptop safes and comfortable seating areas. Some rooms have private balconies, spa baths and private gardens. All the suites are personalized in order to satisfy what you are in need for ; big spqce family suites, romantic couple suites, specific khmer charms, …. All of them uniquely designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mulberry Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing