We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service, Service, Service!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #39 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Service, Service, Service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I arrived in Siem Reap on December 11th to stay for two nights and didn't have a hotel booked. I had done some research earlier on the hotels I wanted to stay in, this hotel was not one of them.

Once I arrived (via train and then taxi) just outside main Siem Reap (ie Psar Char), I was passed off to a tuk tuk driver with a tout who spoke English to take me to Psar Char. I had a feeling something wasn't right when the tout joined me on the ride to Psar Char. He was asking where I was from etc etc. After about 10 minutes, he brought me to a hotel and told me that I should stay there. Knowing that I wanted to go to a restaurant on Pub St. To eat and use wifi to do some final research before booking, I sternly asked for him and the tuk tuk driver to take me to Pub St. After about a minute, he acknowledged and told the tuk tuk driver to drop me off on Pub St.

Once I got to Pub St. I went to a restaurant and ordered while researching some more. To my surprise this hotels name popped up. I read the reviews and decided to give it a shot. They had a deal online for $59 a night - yes that's a bit expensive for Siem Reap, but it came with the following complimentary items:
1. Complimentary Airport Drop off/pick up ($4 dollar tuk tuk value) - which I needed when leaving Siem Reap
2. Complimentary Laundry Service, which was badly needed since I was in Bangkok for 3 days before
3. Complimentary Mini Bar ( with Coke, Perrier, Bottled water and 3 different kinds of Beer) - re-stocked daily
4. Complimentary Buffet Breakfast - a good one at that
5. Complimentary wifi

I figure the laundry, breakfas, mini bar and Airport transfer reduced the cost of the hotel by $10 a night.

Okay - now to the review

The service was superb! I cannot explain how much of a great service I was getting. The staff cater to all your needs. Always service with a smile. I hope that the owners continue to ensure the service remains at this high level. One of th reasons I booked was because of the reviews regarding the service they provide and they weren't lying. It is truly exceptional.

The rooms are cleaned daily. The hotel has been upgraded from whatever it was previously. The main floor, the pool area and the main rooms. I think they are still upgrading some areas.

The only minor thing, which I think they will fix, is that the bathrooms are outdated compared to the room. The shower works properly, the water is hot on demand and the towels and bathroom are always clean. I think they will update the washrooms too. Once theydo this, this will soon become a 4 to 5 star hotel in Siem Reap.

The location is great! Right beside lucky mall if you need anything. Also, if your tuk tuk or taxi driver dont where to take you, just say lucky mall and they will know. Wal to Pub St. Is about 7-10 minutes and it's a good walk as you see the sights of Psar Char (ie Night Market etc.)

The service is excellent and they staff are so friendly. Do not hesitate to book this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muggzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,416
    501
    73
    20
    11
See reviews for
501
1,194
277
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leningradskaya, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Well situated for town and Angkor Watt. Brilliant staff who never ceased smiling and couldn't do enough for us.very nice pool with big hammocks to recover from temple bashing. The hotel arranged a charming tuk tuk driver who ferried us around for 4days and found good local food at very cheap prices and told us a lot of local history-Mr Chanrith tel. 011205366", breakfast was available whenever you needed it. The air conditioning was very efficient and the room very comfortable and well planned.
I would strongly recommend the Memoire d'Angkor to everyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was my third visit to Siem Reap and first stay at Memoire d'Angkor. I chose it because the price and location were excellent. I was very pleased with my stay, particularly the service. The staff greeted me by name throughout my stay and repeatedly went out of their way to make sure everything was to my satisfaction. As the property had recently re-opened there were still some work being done around the property, once it is finished I'm sure it will only enhance a terrific hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandmaster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I have just enjoyed a 5 night stay at this 60 bed boutique hotel; 4th December through to 9th December, room 203. We booked through a popular .com site paying SGD $335 (before booking fees). Breakfast included.
Following research on this Hotel, (along with several competitors, in Siem Reap) we chose Memoire d’Angkor because of
• very positive customer service reviews
• position; close to local markets and the Temples
• their overall pricing package.

We both knew very little of Cambodia other than the dreadful devastation associated with the Khmer Rouge period. The Cambodia that hosted us, especially the staff of Memoire d’Angkor Hotel, was a place full of smiles, full of hope and full of plans for the future yet with a firm focus on the present also.

This hotel, the new owner, new management (as of Jan 2012, I think) and all staff are working very hard to achieve positive experiences for their guests.

Our experiences –

All email communication with the hotel prior to arriving was responded to promptly and was concise and helpful.

We were collected from the airport (no charge) given a beautifully chilled drink in the car, plus a scenic route, with commentary, to the hotel, lovely! We were also returned to the airport (no charge) each trip pleasant and punctual.

On arrival, another complimentary chilled drink plus a free upgrade to one of their rooms with a ‘swing seat’, a room having plenty of floor space and a very comfortable mattress. There is a local cockerel you may hear in this room, maybe other rooms also? I liked it (being originally a country boy) my wife (originally a city girl) perhaps less so.

Now…..the hot water…this was slightly adventurous. BUT the general manager – a really delightful man, Mr Sokun Set - gave a very thorough explanation (new solar panels, short-term but on going technical adjustments of matching cold water pressure to solar hot water supply) we appreciated his explanation; this issue I am confident will be soon resolved. Importantly, it would not prevent my re booking. I include this detail to remain factual to our experience. We simply worked with the sun and the current plumbing pressures, having later showers – it was no big deal for us.

The hotel has a really lovely swimming pool and we used this every evening – fabulous. Breakfasts were good and the omelettes especially so; coffee very good.

All the staff are very keen to assist, special mention to (Mr) Kym who was so attentive throughout our stay. If he is available, ask at reception to book Mr Leang (a tuk tuk owner driver) to ferry you about. Mr Leang is exceptional! There is a wealth of kindness in the Cambodian people and this hotel in Siem Reap has abundance such people among their staff; they will all greatly value your patronage, we would be happy to return, we are happy to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank insightphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Set S, Operations Manager at Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2017
Dear insightphil,

On behalf of the entire team here at Memoire d’Angkor Boutique Hotel thank you for taking valued time to share a fruitful review of your recent experience staying at our boutique hotel here in Siem Reap.

We also think our property is a special place and a quite haven of clam in the heart of Siem Reap city. Your gracious remarks mentioning that you thought our property was enchanting, our food amazing and the service superb are most appreciated. I am so pleased that you had stay with us 5 nights here and got the pleasant stay at Memoire d'Angkor Boutique Hotel. However, some case was happen without during your stay and we had solved it immediately for you as well and it was done.

I do sincerely hope that you will be able to come back and visit with us again in the not too distant future.

With our love and care,

Thom San
Operations Manager
experience@memoiredangkor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a fabulous time here, staff are very helpful and we were made to feel very welcome. Room was huge (family suite) only downside was bed was a bit hard for me. Free transport to Pub Street and airport. WiFi a bit slow but ok

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roachefamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Set S, Operations Manager at Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2017
Dear Roachefamily4,

"BRILLIANT VALUE FOR MONEY" the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to our team, I have also passed on the comment you have made to our IT department and we had improved WIFI.

Thank you for believing in us, I am looking forward to welcoming you back home very soon

With our love and care,

Thom San
Operations Manager
experience@memoiredangkor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We had originally booked to stay at another hotel, but found it very overpriced. We booked Memoires through agoda, and the next morning we were picked up by the lovely manager and taken to this fantastic hotel. Lovely welcome drinks were waiting. Everything was taken care of for us. The manager knew we had a disappointing stay at our last hotel, and the staff went above and beyond to make this stay outstanding, including many freebies. We booked day tours through the hotel as well, which were a tad pricey, but very well run and professional- worth the money. The pool is great and there is a work out room! The only negative thing I have to say (and its very minor), is that the bathrooms were very outdated and poor toilets - where you can see the rest of the hotel had been redone. Overall superb stay at Memoires! Best service I have had in Cambodia.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdoctorCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Once we arrived we figured out the toilet was quite dirty, we asked at the reception for change and were immediatly relocated to the suite. The suite itself was very spacious and nice designed, some minor improvements are needed which I communicated with the actively for feedback asking General Manager. Overall room rating is 4.

The food is so so, breakfast buffet is quite simple, actually outside and therefore already hot and humid. Dinner in the new restaurant with Ipsara performance was also kind of a disappointment. I would challenge this concept. Food rating is 2.

The restaurant location is awesome and safe, near die the city and pub street, near to the temple area, the hotel has sub-contracted tuk tuk driver with same pricing as you can achieve on the street by your own. Location rating is 5.

Last but not least the service personell was doing agreat job, whatever help we needed they were immediately there to assist with a smile. The "guest relationship manager" seem to do everything, waiter, room keeping and airport pick up service, their english is well. Service rating is 5+.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casgrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokun S, General Manager at Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Casgrand

Greeting from Memoire d’ Angkor boutique hotel,


It was our great pleasures for the chance serving you in our art boutique hotel during your holiday in Siem reap, Angkor.

We thank you very much for your good comment about guest relation manager, Pick up service and good tuk tuk driver. And we do appreciate very much for the information about toilet quite dirty and food and apsara khmer performances is not met to your expectation. Our only objective for buffet breakfast is to be the top one in-town as we are serving freshly squeeze juices, very good coffee bean from the machine and varieties of bakeries and others full rank of internal buffet and local dishes which in the hope that the experience of stay is most enjoyable. And the rest your constructive comments are immediately rectified to improve it to the satisfactory level possible in order to live up our commitment and to be successful in what we are doing right now.

We regret and apologize to have caused you disappointed with the food product-Service during your stay with us, And we wish to have second chance to serving you if that possible which we will assure you that we will do whatever it takes to make the ultimate happiness experience stay

With ours love and care,

Set Sokun
General Manager
H/P:+855 69 516 777
E-mail:sokun.set@memoiredangkor.com
Skype:setsokun1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#11 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#35 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,629 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#37 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
#19 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#33 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#23 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel

Property: Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Address: City Center, #54 Sivutha Boulevard | In the heart of Siem Reap, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe in "Happy Living," so we promise to offer you "an everlasting memory through ultimate happy experiences." Memoire d’ Angkor Boutique Hotel is the city's leading exponent luxury hotel combining stunning minimalist designs with state-of the art- service and facilities and located in the one of the Siem Reap’s prime business and tourists’ area with ideal access to the commercial and entertainment hubs in the city center of Siem Reap town. With plenty of services and facilities international buffet breakfast, juice & coffee, complimentary shoe-shine service, welcome fruit basket upon arrival, complimentary wi-fi and all room are decorate with non-smoking room, air-condition, flat screen TV, bathrobe, slipper, well selected bathroom amenities, in room safety box, emergency and evacuation map, writing table, especially, 2 separate bathrooms with sofa bed in family suite room and hammock swing with dining table in Memoire Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing