We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Guesthouse in Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shadow Angkor Residence
Ranked #124 of 529 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2012

(This is for Shadow I, not II) Our family of four had two rooms here for a long weekend, and it was a great experience. The staff, services and location were *excellent*. Central and walkable to everything in the city center. We hired their *terrific* dtuk-dtuk driver (cheap), who took us to see numerous excellent places we would not have chosen just by reading about them in some book.

The guesthouse occupies a charming old two-story French building on a busy intersection. The rooms are small but very clean and fresh feeling.The city does quiet down at night, but you can still hear through the somewhat thin walls/windows. The bathroom was probably the weak link at this place. It was way more functional than comfortable, and doubled as the shower space. The comfortable bed had a good firm mattress. The wi-fi and air-con worked consistently.

I would stay here again, no problem. Tip: Bring DEET spray (for *any* place in this city)

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are less noisy and have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSimonMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 164 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

This review is about "Shadow of Angkor 2". Two guesthouses are separated by around 100 meters. #1 has better location, i.e. closer to tourist center but #2 is better in every other way.

We arrived exhausted after overland trip from Bangkok and were welcomed in front of the hotel by Sopal, resident tuktuk driver who also doubles as host. We were immediately surprised that we had to take off our shoes and leave them on a rack in the lobbly. Given the amount of dust we picked up the following days, this was a good idea as hotel itself is immaculately clean. Room (we took balcony variant) is spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Balcony does not have a spectacular view but is nice to relax and just chill. Location is out of the strict center, but it takes less then 10 minutes through well lit streets to reach Bar Street. There was no breakfast included but we ate in hotel the first day and food was on par with Bar Street offerings, maybe a little bit more expensive.

It is a few dollars above budget offerings but we heartily recommend it as we were so happy to have a cozy place to return after exhausting Angkor excursions.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were booked here for 4 nights in May 2012 but only stayed for 1 - I think that says it all really.

The room was ok but I wouldn't go any better than that. There was a lot of noise from the roller skating rink as other reviewers have found. The bathroom was extremely basic.

Then there was a stupid misunderstanding with the tuktuk driver who came to get us from the airport, who expected us to use him on every day of our stay in Siem Reap. Apparently the hotel "should have told us" that this was the deal - well they didn't, nothing of the kind was said to us, and we didn't even want a tuk tuk every day of our stay. So that caused a stupid unnecessary argument.

$20 was a low price to pay for a room, but there was better to be had in Siem Reap for this price. Breakfast was also extra. (We moved to Motherhome Guesthouse instead for the rest of our stay, which was the same price, 5 times nicer and included breakfast).

The owner at Shadow of Angkor did genuinely seem very concerned when we checked out earlier than planned, and wanted to understand what had gone wrong. I think our complaints were taken on board. But the bottom line is there is better accommodation available in Siem Reap for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fierydormouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights after arriving via bus from Thailand.

The rooms were spacious and cleaned daily. We were travelling in a group of four, boys in one room, girls in the other. Unfortunately us girls got the room with the ancient air conditioning unit! It didn't really do the job and was very hot. I think we had room 14, so if you find yourself allocated with it, ask for a different room!

The location is great, just around the corner from the restaurants and bar street.

You can pay $1 to use the pool at the Shadow of Angkor II which is a short walk away.

Advice for anyone travelling from Thailand to Siem Reap via bus:
Don't give your passport or pay any money to the travel company driving you! We were dropped off at a restaurant and advised we had to wait, they then tried to tell us we must pay them for the Cambodian Visa and that it would cost 1200 Baht. There were four of us travelling together so we were not intimidated but we saw some people travelling alone who gave in to their demands. When we refused they were quite stand offish and said that because we wouldnt pay it would take a long time to get the Visa. We get back in the minivan, drive round the corner and appear at the Cambodian Consulate, 5 minutes and 1000 Baht later we have our Visa. Do not let these crooks fool you!

When you get in to Cambodia you get another travel guide. Ours told us that there were hardly any ATMs in Cambodia (only in the 5* hotels and they will change you 6%) and you must pay in the local currency Riel. We had tried to find this out before we went but were unable to as we had heard that it's best to pay in USD. So not wanting to be stranded with no money we changed our currency at the stop off point. BIG MISTAKE! Upon arrival at Siem Reap we discovered everything is in USD and we had been given a very poor exchange rate for our Riel! My advice - take plenty of USD with you before you travel! Everyone charges in USD!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blueeyes_85_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from March 16 - 19th, 2012. THis is a brilliant, clean hotel. The pool is one of the best in Cambodia as it is covered so offers an CoOL swim after a day out in the heat. The young man behind the desk 'Caea' was a lovely chap and generously purchased some chilli cockles from a street vendor to share with her after she expressed an interest in them.
We stayed on the third floor and had a balcony it was $25 a night - a great deal

Room Tip: Swimming pool is excellent and refreshing as it is covered from the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I go to the Shadow for dinner quite a lot as I find the quality of food, value and staff to be all very good. The location is nice, the menu hosts both Khmer and Western dishes (incl. a beef stroganoff!) My partner loves the Lok Lak there and I particularly like the Cashew Chicken, and for around $4 a plate, how can you say fairer then that? I never stayed in their guesthouse so I couldn't comment there. Recommended for food though!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nil_and_Even
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We recently stayed at Shadow of Angkor II with are three young children for 8 nights and loved it. This hotel is in a great location as close enough to everything but nice and quiet at night. The rooms are cleaned every day and the whole hotel is clean and well kept. We got a double and a triple next to each other with a balcony for $54 a night for both. The pool is clean and just brilliant for kids after a day at the temples. The hotel has good Tuk Tuk drivers who took us out to temples and the airport and charged normal prices, they even picked us up from out of the way restaurants for $2.

Get your rates upfront when you arrive and you shouldn't have any problems.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
#104 of 384 in Siem Reap
951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#33 of 384 in Siem Reap
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayon Riverside Boutique Hotel
Bayon Riverside Boutique Hotel
#113 of 384 in Siem Reap
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#59 of 384 in Siem Reap
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shadow Angkor Villa
Shadow Angkor Villa
#89 of 529 in Siem Reap
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shadow Angkor Hotel
Shadow Angkor Hotel
#172 of 529 in Siem Reap
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Angkor Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Angkor Residence

Address: 353 Por Kambau Street | River Side, Near Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Shadow of Angkor I)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 529 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $25 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Angkor Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Shadow Angkor Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Of Angkor Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing