We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
Ranked #105 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is an peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Pub Street and the crowds of Angkor Wat. Run by French ex-pats, attention to detail is key - the rooms are more like individual bungalows and are very clean and comfortable with dark wood detail. The food is excellent and very affordable. Breakfast, which is included, includes a fresh fruit smoothie. The Cambodian dishes here are among the best we had - we had a 3 course mean with wine for $16.
Tuk tuk drivers hang out at the inn so it is easy to catch a ride, and the friendly staff will arrange for all of your travel needs. There is also reliable, free internet access. You definitely feel relaxed and attended to at this out-of-the way retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice comment towards us. We do enjoy when our customers do take some time to write about us, especially as it is hard to compete with many hotels using the services of companies producing a large numbers of "virtual customer's comments".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    63
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
122
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Peaceful & beautiful place without televisions to make your honeymoon trip what it is supposed to be about: the couple. Clean, green & good landscape. Nice rooms & a big bathroom. Clean and small swimming pool. The food with mostly french. american & khmer dishes - nothing extensive but decent. Vegetarian food will be very limited in most places in cambodia and Borann is no exception. The staff is good & helpful.
Location is also very good - walk able distance from the local markets (Both tourist market & cambodian local mkt.). The AC in the room we occupied was not really good. It didn't matter much to us but those wanting cool rooms may have a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indraneel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice comments. It is always nice to welcome "honeymooners" and to know we have contributed to make their stay full of nice memories.
Bénito and Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

In Siem Reap for working purposes, I have decided to stay at Borann. And I really enjoyed it. After a busy day of work and meetings, I always appreciate to be in a relaxing and quiet atmosphere, an undeniable asset of this hotel. In fact, everything is done to make you feel comfortable. Staff is very nice and always helpful. The room is simple but very nice, the area is quiet, a guarantee for a good rest during the night, and the breakfast gives you a good start for the day. I will definitely go back to that hotel next time I am in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RV-Cambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your nice comments. It is always nice to see that people enjoy the effort we do for them to stay comfortably with us. As you wish to come back, you'll discover some new little things to make your stay even nicer : shower gel and shampoo from Bodia Nature and Spa, made in Cambodia from natural products ( Ylang Ylang or Rice § Lemongrass gels and Kaffir lime and spirulina for the shampoo). In addition, coffee and tea are now available free of charge in the rooms with the nice pottery from Roluos.
So, looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito and Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I came here on a business trip. The place is really quite, calm and beautiful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly.
I really recommend this place if you want to relax after hours of visit.
I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie_G_PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks so much for your nice comment. It is always nice to see that people enjoy staying with us. Looking forward to see you again. Bénito and all Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked for three nights but stayed fro an extra 3 nights as pool and gardens were such a refreshing reward at the end of the day. Staff extremely professional and friendly. Breakfast was fresh fruit (mango, banana, water melon, Dragon fruit), croissant, French bread, coffee, fruit shake and eggs of your choice - very nice. Walking distance of centre of town but cheap tuk-tuks available at door. Rooms comfortable with good air-con, including fan on balcony. Free WIFI also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCCCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice comment. Yes, indeed, all the team of Borann is working hard for you to enjoy your stay with us and it is a pleasure to read it worth it...
Looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito and Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay for 4 days at Borann. The staff were very helpful and arranged on short notice an excellent guide and driver for our group of 5. They cheerfully made reservations at the excellent cooking school at Le Tigre du Papier and also other restaurants. The rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast fresh and tasty (but limited.) The two story bungalows with 4 rooms each situated in an attractive garden with pool was perfect for our family. Don't expect luxury amenities (no TV, spa, etc...) but wifi worked at the breakfast table. The Borann is not downtown, but some good restaurants are walking distance and the tuktuks seemed always available and reasonably priced for trips to Siam Reap center. Excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PikaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks for your nice comment. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. For the location of Borann, yes, it is downtown...when looking a map, but fortunately far enough from what some consider now to be downtown, the busy and noisy "Pub street" which is located in the south of the city. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice and neat rooms in bungalows under the shadow of the trees, lovely garden, nice pool, fine food and (last but not least) great staff, warm, efficient and helpfull. The owner is the founder of the first Cambodian Foundation for children, "Krousar Thmey" (88th best NGO in the world 2013, The Global Journal). He built this hotel several years ago in order for him to earn his living and be able to work for free for the Foundation. He still does. An impressive lifestory and a great place to stay...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks for your nice comment. Yes, indeed, i had created Borann in order to earn my own living and not to cost anything to the organization i created some 22 years ago as you mentioned. And i am happy to contribute also to give tourist a great image and memories of their stay with us.
Thanks a lot. You may find my story in the book "Healing Cambodia, One child at a time".
Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.5 mi away
Sekla Villa Angkor
Sekla Villa Angkor
#69 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#78 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#33 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
Auberge Mont-Royal d'Angkor
#134 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Indochine D'angkor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borann, l'Auberge des Temples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borann, l'Auberge des Temples

Property: Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
Address: Wat Bo Street | Just a 300 meters from the Royal Pavillon, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borann, l'Auberge des Temples 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Siem Reap, Borann l'Auberge des Temples, has 20 large rooms set up in a lush garden. The swimming pool will welcome you after your visits to the temples. The team of Cambodian Staff, would make their best for you to enjoy your stay with us and to love Cambodia as much as we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borann, l'Auberge des Temples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borann Auberge Des Temples Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing