We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$108
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lotus Blanc Resort(Siem Reap)
$77
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$281
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$83
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$105
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$36
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
257
74
13
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
74
13
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsauberge deselectric showertwo storeytraditional khmer stylepub streetsaltwater pooltuk tukdecorated roomsbaguettegreen oasiswater pressure isceiling fantropical gardenquiet hotelminute walkold marketnice pool
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 347 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice and neat rooms in bungalows under the shadow of the trees, lovely garden, nice pool, fine food and (last but not least) great staff, warm, efficient and helpfull. The owner is the founder of the first Cambodian Foundation for children, "Krousar Thmey" (88th best NGO in the world 2013, The Global Journal). He built this hotel several years ago in order for him to earn his living and be able to work for free for the Foundation. He still does. An impressive lifestory and a great place to stay...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneONeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thanks for your nice comment. Yes, indeed, i had created Borann in order to earn my own living and not to cost anything to the organization i created some 22 years ago as you mentioned. And i am happy to contribute also to give tourist a great image and memories of their stay with us.
Thanks a lot. You may find my story in the book "Healing Cambodia, One child at a time".
Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a lovely garden setting, pool, outdoor eating area and only 20 or so bungalows set amongst the palms and trees. Room was a terrific size and could have been even better if the bed was smaller. In many years of travel this was a genuinely ridiculous bed. Room also needed more lighting and the most serious omission was a small refrigerator. Siem Reap is hot and guests need to be able to organise their own drinks. Tea and coffee provision was also absent. We could not recommend this hotel for these reasons. Cleaning was fantastic. Breakfasts were very good, however the restaurant menu was quite limited.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoteWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thanks for your comment...even if i do not understand it. Beds are either one double of 200 x 160 cm or two twins of 200 x 120 cm...which are big beds. It is according to international standard...

Looking forward to welcoming you. Bénito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Borann after spending almost a month in 5 star settings and were really tired of being so divorced from the real world. It seemed a shame to be in a place like Siem Reap and be so distant from the people and culture. The Borann was the answer. The staff were as welcoming as they could be, friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple but clean. The food was beyond expectations. Access to downtown was easy via always-available tuk-tuks and never cost more than $3., including a tip, and they were always happy to come back to get us at an appointed time. We were there during the hottest weather (April). The air conditioning in the room kept us comfortable. The pool was great after a long hot day at the temples. We enjoyed it and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: steep stairs to second floor rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thanks a lot for your nice comment.
Looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was an excellent base from which to explore the amazing remains at Angkor. Rooms are simple and clean and we particularly enjoyed cooling down the Cambodian way using the giant water containers in the bathroom. Pool is decent. Food was fine. Location good if you are happy being a ride away from the very busy downtown. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being upstairs - but all rooms looked good - and the steps are quite steep.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheltenham5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comment. As you may understand, it is very important for us when our existing guest do write what they do think about us. Competition is hard and some other hotels do use special marketing companies to create great comments. They do produce a lot of comments and it is always difficult to compete with them.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Borann. Bénito and Borann's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are a family of 4 and we stayed 5 nights at Borann Hotel end of Feb- beg of March.
The place in itself is very nice, nice garden, nice swimming pool, in a quiet environment. The rooms are well decorated and the breakfast is great.
However, out of the 5 nights we stayed there, all of them were totally or partially with a power cut. we had some difficult nights as the weather is really hot at that time of the year!
And the hotel has no generator!! Very disappointing for an hotel aiming to be at a certain standard.
The staff kept saying that it was very rare that there was power cut .... but then why do so many of the shops, restaurants and small hotels/GH in the area have a generator???
So yes I would recommend this hotel, but definitely not during the hot season.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Albane,

Thanks for your comment. It is nice to hear you enjoyed our hotel and services despite the huge inconvenience you mentioned about electricity cut that unfortunately has affected very negatively your comment on us.

I am sorry about the electricity problem and would like you to know that we were not responsible. Unfortunately, noone could have anticipated that 70 km far from Siem reap, a drunken driver had lost control of his truck before hitting one pylon sustaining cables bringing electricity from Thailand. It had plunged the entire province in the dark from February 28th for 3 days. This accident had created the break of 8 pylons and it took 3 days for people from Thailand to come to repear it. The consequences were huge for all customers in Siem Reap, and for all of us (losing a lot of food and dairy products...).
Authorities managed to produce some electricity with old machines but not enough for the entire city at night. Hotel belonging to militaries high ranking managed to get priority access to it and many small hotel like us didn't receive any of that electricity at night despite reapeated requests. We had tried to find generators big enough to fit our needs but nothing was anymore available. As you'll discover in the press if you make some research, it was not our case alone.

All staff of Borann and myself would like to reiterate our deepest regrets and hope you'll come again to enjoy fully our hotel and its services as it should have been.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Benito and all Borann's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews