We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borann, l'Auberge des Temples

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
Ranked #94 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice and neat rooms in bungalows under the shadow of the trees, lovely garden, nice pool, fine food and (last but not least) great staff, warm, efficient and helpfull. The owner is the founder of the first Cambodian Foundation for children, "Krousar Thmey" (88th best NGO in the world 2013, The Global Journal). He built this hotel several years ago in order for him to earn his living and be able to work for free for the Foundation. He still does. An impressive lifestory and a great place to stay...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks for your nice comment. Yes, indeed, i had created Borann in order to earn my own living and not to cost anything to the organization i created some 22 years ago as you mentioned. And i am happy to contribute also to give tourist a great image and memories of their stay with us.
Thanks a lot. You may find my story in the book "Healing Cambodia, One child at a time".
Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    63
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
120
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a lovely garden setting, pool, outdoor eating area and only 20 or so bungalows set amongst the palms and trees. Room was a terrific size and could have been even better if the bed was smaller. In many years of travel this was a genuinely ridiculous bed. Room also needed more lighting and the most serious omission was a small refrigerator. Siem Reap is hot and guests need to be able to organise their own drinks. Tea and coffee provision was also absent. We could not recommend this hotel for these reasons. Cleaning was fantastic. Breakfasts were very good, however the restaurant menu was quite limited.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoteWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks for your comment...even if i do not understand it. Beds are either one double of 200 x 160 cm or two twins of 200 x 120 cm...which are big beds. It is according to international standard...

Looking forward to welcoming you. Bénito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohasset, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Borann after spending almost a month in 5 star settings and were really tired of being so divorced from the real world. It seemed a shame to be in a place like Siem Reap and be so distant from the people and culture. The Borann was the answer. The staff were as welcoming as they could be, friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple but clean. The food was beyond expectations. Access to downtown was easy via always-available tuk-tuks and never cost more than $3., including a tip, and they were always happy to come back to get us at an appointed time. We were there during the hottest weather (April). The air conditioning in the room kept us comfortable. The pool was great after a long hot day at the temples. We enjoyed it and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: steep stairs to second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice comment.
Looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was an excellent base from which to explore the amazing remains at Angkor. Rooms are simple and clean and we particularly enjoyed cooling down the Cambodian way using the giant water containers in the bathroom. Pool is decent. Food was fine. Location good if you are happy being a ride away from the very busy downtown. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being upstairs - but all rooms looked good - and the steps are quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheltenham5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment. As you may understand, it is very important for us when our existing guest do write what they do think about us. Competition is hard and some other hotels do use special marketing companies to create great comments. They do produce a lot of comments and it is always difficult to compete with them.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Borann. Bénito and Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are a family of 4 and we stayed 5 nights at Borann Hotel end of Feb- beg of March.
The place in itself is very nice, nice garden, nice swimming pool, in a quiet environment. The rooms are well decorated and the breakfast is great.
However, out of the 5 nights we stayed there, all of them were totally or partially with a power cut. we had some difficult nights as the weather is really hot at that time of the year!
And the hotel has no generator!! Very disappointing for an hotel aiming to be at a certain standard.
The staff kept saying that it was very rare that there was power cut .... but then why do so many of the shops, restaurants and small hotels/GH in the area have a generator???
So yes I would recommend this hotel, but definitely not during the hot season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Albane,

Thanks for your comment. It is nice to hear you enjoyed our hotel and services despite the huge inconvenience you mentioned about electricity cut that unfortunately has affected very negatively your comment on us.

I am sorry about the electricity problem and would like you to know that we were not responsible. Unfortunately, noone could have anticipated that 70 km far from Siem reap, a drunken driver had lost control of his truck before hitting one pylon sustaining cables bringing electricity from Thailand. It had plunged the entire province in the dark from February 28th for 3 days. This accident had created the break of 8 pylons and it took 3 days for people from Thailand to come to repear it. The consequences were huge for all customers in Siem Reap, and for all of us (losing a lot of food and dairy products...).
Authorities managed to produce some electricity with old machines but not enough for the entire city at night. Hotel belonging to militaries high ranking managed to get priority access to it and many small hotel like us didn't receive any of that electricity at night despite reapeated requests. We had tried to find generators big enough to fit our needs but nothing was anymore available. As you'll discover in the press if you make some research, it was not our case alone.

All staff of Borann and myself would like to reiterate our deepest regrets and hope you'll come again to enjoy fully our hotel and its services as it should have been.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Benito and all Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Absolute nice quiet, calm & charming little Hotel in a beautiful garden with a nice pool & a restaurant to relax after a long temple day around Angkor ... the service is welcoming & the bungalows are really beautiful ... the very best one is on the First Floor & with view over Pool !!!
It's also a good place to stay with children. L' Auberge is within a walking distance along the River to the old city of Siem Reap where you have a lot oft nice restaurants & Bars ... or you take just your personal Tuk Tuk Driver !!!

Room Tip: The best one's were the rooms on the First Floor of the bungalows, the BEST ONE is that with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice comment. It is nice to get your feed back and we will be happy to welcome you again. Bénito. and Borann's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in this relaxing hotel. We'd come back from the temples and relax either by the pool or on our balcony overlooking the lush garden. The staff were wonderful, either in giving advice, sorting tuk tuks or helping with our luggage (including in our case a bicycle). It's peaceful ambience comes from it being a walk or short ride into the heart of the town. The bathrooms are particularly lovely, with an urn full of water to tip on yourself as well as a traditional shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoKT, Owner at Borann, l'Auberge des Temples, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice comments.
We hope to see you again soon. Bénito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
0.2 mi away
Heart of Angkor Guesthouse
Heart of Angkor Guesthouse
#270 of 339 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#33 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#120 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borann, l'Auberge des Temples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borann, l'Auberge des Temples

Property: Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
Address: Wat Bo Street | Just a 300 meters from the Royal Pavillon, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borann, l'Auberge des Temples 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Siem Reap, Borann l'Auberge des Temples, has 20 large rooms set up in a lush garden. The swimming pool will welcome you after your visits to the temples. The team of Cambodian Staff, would make their best for you to enjoy your stay with us and to love Cambodia as much as we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Borann, l'Auberge des Temples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borann Auberge Des Temples Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing