We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
261
75
13
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
75
13
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsauberge deselectric showertwo storeytraditional khmer stylepub streettuk tuksaltwater poolan excellent basedecorated roomsquiet hotelbaguettegreen oasiswater pressure isceiling fantropical gardenminute walkold market
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 352 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is a gem in Siem Reap. The location is perfect and the setting is idilic. Like a jungle lodge with great rooms, restaurant area, and the pool is a delight. All VERY clean and great service from all staff as well.
The Cambodian shower option is fun (water from a huge pot) and the Western hot water shower is easy and faster than at home.
All in all a great experience and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Can:t speak to other areas but we were on the 2nd floor on the side. Not near the pool so no noise but a delightful outlook from the room's private deck with 2 chairs and a table.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPOrrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thanks a lot to have taken time for your nice comments about Borann.
Looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The 20-room contemporary hotel is a continuation of the owner's desire to create down-to-earth lodgings with an informal, free spirited approach. Designed as hubs with private terraces, they provide an open platform for visitors to gather and shape meaningful moments. The result is a hotel that feels like a friend's house, a comforting bohemian sanctuary, unaffected by the outside world.

The hotel exhibits minimalist, airy rooms scattered with local artifacts, in a natural colour palette and accents in red that complements the whitewashed exterior, itself synonymous with the Cambodian landscape.

The property also houses a cantina restaurant, an open-plan 30-seater that focuses on local, organic ingredients and dishes.

Borann offers a serene place to retreat after a day of temple hopping or the exertions of a night out at the Club - to which, naturally, each traveler is entitled to.

FT

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernandoTravieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Indeed, it is a quiet place where you can relax after the temples. Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not only the garden is magnificent decorated with a refreshing pool, and the rooms build in a traditional fashion are beautiful with extra details as the Khmer Showers (my favorite!), and the services is helpful and friendly beyond their duty, but you are helping a good cause. The extensive connection of the Hotel with different NGO´s is amazing, for example is you want to have a massage they will contact you with “Seeing Hands” and organization that gives the blind a profession that will allowed them to be self-sufficient. And what to say about “Krousar Thmey”!!! If you get a chance go to visit their exhibition on the Tonle Sap,do it!! is just fantastic!! Really simple but a great example of what can be achieved.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pochote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thanks for your nice comment. We really appreciate. Yes, we are connected! I built the hotel to get a living but most of my time is dedicaed free of charge for Krousar Thmey foundation that i created 21 years ago. If interested, you might have a look on the web as the one of the world of children award that i'll receive on October 25th. It will honor our work in Cambodia especailly regarding blind and deaf schools. you may look also into healing cambodia web site.

For your information, the blind masseurs are not coming from Seing hands, but from Krousar Thmey and all the money you have paid for the massage is for them entirely.
Originally, Seing hands did want to train them but they would have had to stay 10 years as employees there. That's why Krousar thmey has helped blind people to be trained for massage but to remain independant. The techniques are different too...as Krousar Thmey masseur do provide relaxing massage, not traditional khmer which may be hard sometimes.

Thank you again for your nice comments and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Benoît DUCHATEAU-ARMINJON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel Borann offers an intimate experience, nicely tucked away, yet close to the canal and city centre.
With an attentive staff who will ensure that your needs are met. The Hotel provides a serene sanctuary to rest and refresh between the visits to explore the magnificent Ankor Wat National Park which is located a 15 minute tuk tuk ride away. Siem Reap offers the charm of the traditional with a contemporary twist and is a much more personal experience than the capitol Phnom Penh.
Freshly made brioche, criossants, jams and juices greeted us each morning. and the pool provided respite from the heat.
Having stayed twice with Hotel Borann in the past two years, I found a destination that delivers an authentic and enjoyable experience and an opportunity to connect with the Khmer cullutre and people.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slipprysirkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thanks a lot for your review. It is always very pleasant for the team to make their best for the guest to enjoy their stay and to see it works.
We hope to see you again. Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We loved staying at the Borann and, as a family, voted it as our overall holiday favourite. The staff were warm and friendly and so helpful. (The receptionist Bunna even took all our postcards to the post office for us on the day we were leaving as we had run out of time to do this.) They offered great advice on how to spend our 3 days exploring the Angkor Wat area. Our tuk tuk driver Pad who was employed by the Borann was great, a gentle man who drove our noisy family around wherever we wanted to go with good humour and grace. Spending time in his tuk tuk, waving at the many families we passed, was one of our children's favourite activities.

The setting was beautiful, nestled in a lush and tropical garden on the outskirts of Siem Reap. The lovely saltwater pool was particularly welcome after a long hot day visiting the temples. We loved the fact it was chlorine free and we could swim with our eyes open under water without goggles. The children particularly enjoyed jumping in during a heavy monsoon rain shower!

The rooms were very clean and comfortable and we loved the simple, graceful design in fresh white and reds with traditional Khmer leather carvings on the wall. (You could buy these from Little Angels, a great initiative for disadvantaged children in Bakong District, NE of Preah Ko temple). Also, we quickly became converts to the Khmer showers, a big ceramic pot filled with cool water with a bowl to dip in to douse yourself (there was also an electric shower option if you preferred).

The Borann is linked to a humanitarian organisation called Khrousar Thmey. In Siem Reap they have a centre that provides a home for disadvantaged children. They also provide training, such as massage training for blind young people. You could book to have a massage from these blind massuers through the Borann and they came to your room. My husband and I both had a massage and they were fantastic. It was good to feel that in staying at the Borann and also supporting this massage initiative that at least some of our tourist dollars were going to worthwhile causes. We were so impressed by the friendliness and positivity of the Cambodian people that we met, and also by the range of initiatives around that aimed to help the countries most disadvantaged. The Khrousar Thmey centre in Siem Reap is open to visitors, and hosts a free exhibition on Khmer cultural heritage. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit, but would love to next time!

The food at the Borann was also top notch. Fabulous breakfasts (included in the price) of delicious fruits and croissants to rival the french, as well as eggs and bacon if you fancied the full monty. We had a delicious fish Amok (a traditional spiced fish dish cooked in coconut milk) in the evening too. Another treat was an early evening gin fizz sitting by the pool surrounded by the soft hum of the garden's resident crickets and gheckos, watching the children playing in the water.

And as for the temples... epic, awe inspiring and beautiful. Three days just wasn't enough and we would love to go back one day. And if we do we will definitely choose to stay in the Borann again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenitoBenoit, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thanks for you long comment which helps guest to make a difference and have some ideas about us and around us.
We do care about our guest, wishing them to return having a great image of Cambodia. For the past, Cambodia had such a bad image that it needs a lot of effort, including humanitarian and ethic businesses to help it.
I think you'll be glad to learn that my work within Krousar Thmey will be awarded in New York soon. You can check it on World of Children Award.

Thanks and see you again. Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews